We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and adequate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Michelangelo Hotel to your Saves list
Michelangelo Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Luigi di Savoia, 6, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Clean and adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Michelangelo hotel has two major advantages for the traveller in Milan: its location, and its clean and tidy rooms.
Being opposite Central Station is a major advantage - especially if you are arriving at Malpensa Airport: you can simply take an express train right to the station - a few hundred metres from the front door of the hotel.
The hotel itself is nothing breathtaking - but it is clean and tidy, with friendly and helpful staff.
One other tip: if you want to experience a little bit of the "real" Milan, there are a couple of excellent little cafes just a short distance from the front door. A pastry and coffee in the sun, looking over the magnificent Station and plaza, is an excellent way to start the day. As one of the lobby staff to point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloHtlMi, Direttore generale at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Ashtalks,
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read you had a pleasant stay with us and really proud to know you appreciated the location, the efficiency of our staff and, above all, the breakfast.

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to offer you a culinary experience at Il David Bar and Restaurant.

Kind regards
The Management and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    429
    101
    22
    21
See reviews for
163
275
72
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Michelangelo Hotel in Milan because our tour started from there the next day. It turned out to be a gem. Not only is it close to the Central Station, it is an extremely comfortable hotel, with friendly staff, a wonderful breakfast and a free mini-bar stocked with water and softdrinks. It is also spotlessly clean. We had just enough time to catch the hop-on, hop-off bus for a one loop tour and got to see the Cathedral and Opera House. We regret that we didn't stay another night so that we could unwind after a long flight .We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloHtlMi, Direttore generale at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Bridget 380,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.
We are so pleased to note that the quality of service you experienced met with your expectations as it is our aim to ensure each guest has an enjoyable stay at our Hotel.

I really hope to welcome you again in our property soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Excellent location next to Milan Central station/metro. Generally the hotel was spotless & well cared for. Staff were very friendly & helpful. We stayed on 9th floor, room & bathroom was also spotlessly clean. Crisp, white bed linen changed each day, (non-alcoholic)minibar free-of- charge, excellent wi-fi, good size flat screen TV with many,many channels. Big selection of hot & cld items for breakfast & good prompt service.The only thing the room lacked was tea/coffee making facilities but perhaps they don't do that in Italy. Hotel restaurant was excellent.
Outside red-clad appearance of the hotel belies the quality of the standard of accomodation on offer. Heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloHtlMi, Direttore generale at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Howardlines,
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read you had a pleasant stay with us and really proud to know you appreciated the location, your room and, above all, the breakfast.
I really hope to welcome you again in our property soon.

Kind regards
The Management and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

we came only for one day to Milano and the hotel's location makeour day the best it could be.
Its location near all the trasportation. The station of the city tour located just behind the hotel.
Many shops nearby. The minibar was free and enough. wifi was good. Breakfast was rich.the staff was efficiant and helpful in every aspect.
It was more beyond our expectation!

Room Tip: since i was only for one day it dosn't matter to me. My room had no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloHtlMi, Direttore generale at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Hana G,
Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at Michelangelo Hotel Milan.

I really hope to welcome you again in our property soon.

Best Regards
The Management and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel because of its location in Milan. We arrived by train from Venice at night and the proximity to the station was a great!
The room was spacious enough for a couple with 2 pieces of luggage. The room decor was a bit dated (90's) but it was well maintained and functional. WIFI worked great. The mini fridge had a few bottles or water and sodas and they were free and it was refilled every day. There were a few good restaurants and cafes nearby.
The front desk was helpful setting up a city tour and also allowing us to store our luggage after we checked out. We had a late evening train ride.
If you want to be near transportation/trains etc., this will be a good option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloHtlMi, Direttore generale at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Cavv123,
We are delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general. Your valuable and competent comments have been well appreciated.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back again to offer you a culinary experience at Il David Bar and Restaurant and to watch the city's skyline from your pics.
Best regards
The Management and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hondacrvguy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A lot of investment needs to be done in this hotel. Lobby, Guest Rooms, Furniture is stuck in the 80's

We arrived and had a room on the 11th floor we a nice city view. They advertised their spa bathrooms - our bathroom was small, cramped, and lacked any "spa" amenity. It was a standard shower/tub combination.

Guest room was again, stuck in the 80's. We reserved and was guaranteed a Double room, and given a twin - Front Desk was no help and told us there was no other rooms. To give credit, we appreciated the "complementary mini-bar" of 1 pepsi, 1 still water, and 1 sparkling water and packaged cookies. I wouldn't advertise it as a mini-bar through.

To connect to WiFi, you had to have the TV on...it's 2013 - come on now and invest in proper wifi connections. Not everyone wants to watch TV when they need to do work on the web.

The only real positive with the hotel is the morning breakfast. The buffet was huge and had everything from continental far, full western-style hot items, and even eastern style. Loved the fresh orange juice...only savior for this hotel.

This hotel has a ton of potential to be the best of the best in Milan - just need to invest come capital in the product...especially in such a fashion-trendy city. Get with the times!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloHtlMi, Direttore generale at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Hondacrvguy,
Thank you for posting your review about your stay at Hotel Michelangelo.
We take your comment very seriously and highly appreciate the feedback you have provided. Our house has in effect a "classic style" (not a modern or a design one), with lots of fitted carpets and upholstery. Meantime, we offer different huge room categories. All of them are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, TV with satellite channels and domitic system.
Regarding WiFi connection, the network only works when the Tv in on because our smart TVs have integrate WiFi antenna so we offer 4 high-speed connections per room in the same time.
We are glad to read you had a pleasant stay and really proud to know you appreciated our delicious breakfast.
Hoping you will be back soon to visit us,
Best Regards,
The Management and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Travelling in winter in northern Italy means that it will probably be cool and wet weather - the Michelangelo Hotel provided a very comfortable base to explore Milan before heading to Venice. Easy access to Milano Centrale - one of the two major railway stations meant that the hotel was busy without being overly crowded.
The room was clean and spacious, warm against the pouring rain, and comfortable - I slept so well. Dining at "Il David" provided a good choice of food and wine in a comfortable atmosphere.
From the first 'buongiorno' on arrival to the final 'arrivederci', the staff were friendly, understood English and provided great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelangeloHtlMi, Direttore generale at Michelangelo Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sandy S,
Thank you for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Michelangelo Hotel.
We are so glad to hear you had a great stay and you find our location so convenience and Il David bar and restaurant so delicious.
Regards,
The Management and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Address: Piazza Luigi di Savoia, 6, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Milan
#34 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#38 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.