We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hermitage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Messina 10, 20154 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 433 hotels in Milan
Ljubljana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“expensive but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've stayed there for about 10 days.
Fortunately my company paid the bill because you know, it's a business hotel
The building is elegant and impressive, the place is refined.
The zone is quite central zone, near Corso sempione and the Milan little Chinatown (Via Paolo Sarpi)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    108
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
83
15
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

stayed for 3 nights. great location and easy access to tram. Staff were great and helpful. The junior suite was big and cozy! Food around the area and a supermarket nearby. Location is at heart of Chinatown but not bad.

Room Tip: room 338 was at top and far end, bit of distance from the lift but very quite and comfy end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed there for 4 nights. The room is the biggest in all hotels I stayed in Italy. The location is good and you just need 20 minutes to walk to the castle and then to the Duomo. The region is China town, but there're still many Italian people living there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights - is not as expensive as options tight downtown but is 10 minutes by taxi. Is in the heart of Chinatown so don't be surprised ! Several nice cages and restaurants around and the staff were all very helpful

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very nice hotel. I loved it. The room was perfect, the staff was helpful and kind, the breakfast amazing with tasty freshly squeezed orange juice, good cakes, and pleny of everything a I like.
Use a number 2 tram from end of road to Doumo, Castle or to Navigli area for E1.5.

Room Tip: Book on lastminute.com I got a wonderful suite at a price that would be discounted even for a standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel is fairly easy to find from the centrale station. Take the No 1 tram to republlica and then jump on the No 37 bus to stop - procaccino messina. We opted for the 48hr travel card that you could buy on the plane and this was well worth it as you can use all types of public transport.
The first time you use it you have to validate the card in one on the machines on the bus/tram/train but then you dont have to have it out again unless you use the underground. As long as you have it with you in case you get stopped. We didnt see anyone checking tickets however if you get caught without one it is 100Euro fine.

The area as we found with most of Milan actually is quite degraded but I did not feel unsafe. The hotel staff said that it is unlikely to get trouble as a lot of people are in Italy without papers so they cant afford to get into problems.

The hotel itself was like a pure oasis, staff were extremely helpful and spoke english if you wanted to. Our room was lovely, clean and the biggest bed I have ever seen in my life.
The weather while we were here was cold and wet but the rooms were boiling even with the window open. I wouldnt recommend the hotel in summer unless you get a room with working aircon. We didnt eat here but heard the food was ok. There are plenty of lovely cafes and resturants nearby and the best and biggest pizza I have ever had. If I was ever going to return to Milan it would be for one day for that pizza. Ask Andrei the barman for directions.
Andrei was extremely helpful and fun person to speak with.
We did not rate Milan and wont return but if you end up here and you stay at this hotel heres a couple of recommendations for you.

1st - Use public transport dont get ripped of by taxis. Its easy, clean and cheap. It also allows you to see the real side of a place.
2nd - try to order in italian or if you get a non english menu dont panic just pick something all the food is lovely.
3rd - stand up in a cafe and drink your drink like the locals do (it will save you paying double).
4th - Talk to Andrei about where to go and have a drink in the hotel bar. Try one of his made up cocktails - you will have a great night but might struggle to get up for breakfast :)
5th - Read the reviews on the city as most if it is a building site and you dont want to waste your time visiting something thats surrounded by hoarding.
6th - take a long time with your meals, order wine and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbroath
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have recently spent a three day break in Milan. On arrival at the Hermitage Hotel we were greeted by very helpful staff who had excellent English. They were extremely helpful and assisted us with our very dodgy map reading every day and evening!
Our room was big enough and hosted three immaculate single beds which were changed, not just made, on a daily basis. Our towels were also changed daily even though we had hung them up to use again. Breakfast was very substantial with the offer of bacon, eggs, toast, jam, ham, cheese, fresh fruit etc. And copious amounts of coffee for our hangovers!
The service from all staff was excellent. We had an iron and ironing board delivered to our room, which we kept for the whole stay, within five minutes of our request.
The bar staff were exceptional. Andrei was like our tour guide from a distance! We asked for a recommendation for a nice restaurant for a special birthday and we were very pleasantly surprised. Andrei recommended the Brellin restaurant which is situated on the canal. It was a stunning building inside and out with beautifully served food and wine (approx 25 euros per main meal and 30 euros for a bottle of Pinot Grigio).
We fancied a chinese on our last night as the Hermitage is situated in China town. Andrei pointed us towards 999 Chinese Restaurant where we spent a very pleasant evening eating good food and drinking with the very friendly owner. This is only two streets away from the Hermitage and well worth a visit.
On our first night we were extremely pleased to learn that the Hermitage were hosting a jiving session where we were invited to buy a drink and help ourselves to the beautiful spread of food. This evening was a blast watching some very experienced jivers and enjoying the large buffet made up of some stunning dishes. We left the hotel to go out and explore but ended up back within half an hour due to the fact that the staff and jiving session were well worth staying in for even though this was our first night!
The trams were very regular and with the purchase of a 48 hour ticket, they are all the transport that is needed.
This holiday was amazing from start to finish. The hotel was immaculate and well worth recommending to others. Andrei was the icing on the cake!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: Via Messina 10, 20154 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Milan
#50 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#59 Business Hotel in Milan
#85 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermitage Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.