We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice central hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Ritz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels Ritz to your Saves list
Starhotels Ritz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Spallanzani 40, 20129 Milan, Italy (Porta Venezia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Athens
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice central hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

It s a little hard to find but it is very central and 10 mins walking from Centrale. The staff is very effective and helpful. The rooms are nice and very clean. Bathroom as well. A bit of humidity smell in the room that comes from the bathroom. Breakfast really good!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Starhotels Ritz for your stay in Milan and for writing your review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel and especially the staff. Attention to all needs of the guest is our strong point. We are deeply sorry to hear that bathroom in your room smelled. Next time don’t hesitate to contact reception and we will resolve this problem or change your room.
We hope you will recommend our hotel and we will be happy to welcome you at our hotel during your next trip to Milan.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    266
    100
    41
    23
See reviews for
49
209
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I arrived to this hotel witch is near to the train station at 10 am .And the receptionists welcomed me in a very polite way.
They did an early chick in for me, 10 am instead of 2 pm!
I found this hotel very convenient in terms of welcoming , speed of service at the reception , the rooms are comfortable and worth what you paid for so far.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor. We are very glad to read that everything was acceptable.
We hope you will recommend our hotel and we will be happy to welcome you at our hotel as soon you can.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My boss and I stayed here for a night while on a work trip, and we are so thankful that we didn't have to stay a minute longer! After an overnight flight from the States, we attempted to check in and were rudely told that there was nothing that could be done to get a room early. Okay, fine, understandable, but we were extremely disappointed with the rude behavior from the front desk staff. This was also after we set up and used the car service through the concierge & after the drop off, the driver followed us in and the woman at the front desk came after us and rudely said "aren't you going to pay him?!". It had been set up through the concierge that payment would be added to the room charges-this should have been noted somewhere, but clearly was not. The decor in the lobby is terribly dated and the rooms were just okay. Shower is extremely small-you can barely turn around in it. The room seemed clean enough.......that is, until I woke up the next morning to discover small bites all over my hands, arms and face. After doing research, the only explanation was bedbugs and all of the symptoms & bites were conducive to bedbugs. The only good things about this hotel is the location and the lovely older gentleman who is the one of the bell hops. I wish I remembered his name because he was so nice and helpful. I will never recommend this hotel and hope that they take all precautions to control this issue. I don't want anyone to have to deal with what I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for giving your impression about your stay on Tripadvisor.
We are deeply sorry to hear that you stay was completely dreadful and we want to apologize for the bugs in your room. We are sure that if you asked for changing room, one of our receptionist were able to give you a better and cleaner room.
We are surprised to hear that you didn’t know about the garage price because you find some signs in the parking place which inform you about the extra amount.
We would like to welcome you at the Starhotels Ritz in order to give you a better and pleasant service.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Modern Decor, far from attractions and the action. Small rooms and even smaller bathrooms.
Service was okay, breakfast good, but not much fresh fruit. A lot of tour groups. i would find a different hotel for the next visit. internet worked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing with us your review about your stay at the Starhotels Ritz.
We are sorry for reading that your stay was unpleasant and uncomfortable. Actually, our hotel is really close to the most important Milan attractions and it is not hard to reach the best clubs or discos in the city.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Starhotels Ritz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Not the greatest hotel I've ever stayed in

Staff were excellent

Decor somewhat dated

Good bar and restaurant

Great location although taxi to the airport probably cost more than my room

I wouldn't choose to come back here but not a bad stay overall

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to say a few words about your recent stay at Starhotels Ritz on Tripadvisor.
Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Starhotels Ritz in the next future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is well located - it was the main reason to choose it. Big room was clean enough, but seems previous guests were smokers. It was an unpleasant moment. Very good breakfast. We have paid in cash, but the money for reservation (100%) were blocked for a long time after the check out.

Room Tip: Ask a room for non smokers in the moment of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing with us your review about your stay at the Starhotels Ritz; we are happy to know that your stay was good.
The preauthorizations are generally blocked for one week/ten days; it could depend on the bank dispositions, but normally it doesn’t take more than two weeks.
We hope to welcome you again at the Starhotels Ritz in the next future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked a single night here to end a short tour. The reception was inviting and friendly. Checking in was simple and we were shown to our room which was of a good size, clean and comfortable.

We ventured out in the evening and plenty of action just around the corner. Lots of bars and restaurants.

Breakfast was terrific - catering for every taste.

The city tax of 5 euro per person per night was more expensive than elsewhere in Italy we stayed which could make a difference in budget for a family group. They also SAID THE WIFI was free but charged a reasonable 6 euro for 24 hours.

If IO visited Milan again I'd have no hesitation staying at the Ritz.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna A, Direttore at Starhotels Ritz, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and nice. Milan, like many other cities in Italy and throughout the world, has established a Tourist Tax for tourists and visitors. The amount is fixed per night, according to the local law.
Moreover, wifi is unlimited free of charge in some rooms. Otherwise, there are some rooms where you have to buy it and the price could be 6 euro or 8 euro if you use a mobile phone or a laptop.
We will be happy to welcome you at the Starhotels Ritz in the next future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Ritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Ritz

Address: Via Spallanzani 40, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Ritz 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the beautiful Starhotels Ritz in Milan. Our recently refurbished 4 star hotel is in central Milan, just behind Corso Buenos Aires - famous for shopping. We're on a quiet street in a lively area full of restaurants, theatres and bars - the perfect balance for your trip to the city, whether you're here for business or pleasure.Our smart hotel in Milan offers 197 rooms and suites and 7 flexible conference rooms seating from 40 to 170 guests. La Lambruscheria restaurant and bar serves local and international dishes, prepared with consummate skill. The superb Wellness area features a fitness room, sauna, Finnish shower and Turkish bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Starhotels Ritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Ritz Milan
Starhotels Ritz Hotel Milan
Ritz Milan
Ritz-Carlton Milan
Milan Ritz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Ritz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.