We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Milan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Berna to your Saves list
Hotel Berna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 for 2 nights. This hotel is really close to milano centrale. We stayed at the family room and it was huge and very clean. The room was quiet and they have the most comfortable bed you can every imagine. You can customize your stay before you arrive: choose the type of pillow, the temperature of the room or the beverages you prefer to have in your minibar. The minibar is free and replenished daily.
After we checked in to the hotel, we decided to go to duomo using the metro. When we were outside the hotel, one of the hotel staff who had just finished his shift (a Filipino guy - Earlie?? sorry about the spelling) asked us where we were going. He was going to duomo area too and offered to accompany us until we reached duomo. Wow!! With 11 people in our group and mainly children, this offer was a big plus!! He showed us where to buy the tickets and dropped us safely at duomo. Thank you again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,410
    1,185
    197
    57
    25
See reviews for
623
1,675
437
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is a great hotel in a good location close to the metro. The staff were very friendly and helpful and this made our stay more enjoyable. The breakfast was great and had a lot of choice. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I really enjoyed getting the emails from Hotel Berna in the lead up to our stay.

Stefan checked us in and I found his service to be impeccable. Give this guy a raise! I was so happy to have the valet take care of our vehicle as well.

Our room on the 5th floor was great. Upgraded bathrooms. Nice lighting (groovy blue option in the bathroom).

We had a quiet room overlooking a side street. Noise was not an issue.

And as the others have mentioned, the breakfast is almost worth the price of the stay. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We chose Hotel Berna due to its excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. As other guests have pointed out, the location is good near Milano Centrale. You can reach the city centre easily by underground. We also liked the good breakfast, which offers something to everyone, and the free minibar in the room was a nice bonus.

All in all, however, the hotel was a disappointment for us. The biggest problem in our case was the noise. We had a quality room on the third floor. We could not hear anything from other rooms, but the street noise was horrible - I had to sleep with earplugs on to get at least some sleep. You could hear everything from the street: people talking loudly, ambulances, delivery trucks - just like it was happening right next to you.

I don't know about the other rooms, but our quality room definitely needed an update: the carpet and the armchairs were stained, and the bathroom was probably the ugliest I've ever seen in my life (and we have travelled a lot). The towels looked like they had been used too many times and the hairdryer seemed like one from the seventies. The bed, though, was quite comfortable, and there was a lot of storage place for your clothes.

The service via e-mail was good - you get mails before and after your holiday. However, I think it would be more important to have good service at the hotel. There was nothing wrong with the service in the breakfast room - the staff was always friendly there - but I can't say the same about the reception. The man who worked at the reception when we checked out didn't even bother to ask whether we had enjoyed our stay or not, or whether we needed help with our luggage. So unfortunately I have to conclude that on our next visit to Milan, Hotel Berna will not be our choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Anna,

thank you for reviewing the Hotel Berna. We are saddened to read that you were not totally satisfied with the quality of your stay.

We are a small family owned hotel, the rooms are all different and not standard like generally found in chain hotels. Even the decor and the interiors defer. This means that you have different room types to choose from – from Comfort to Superior – and for a small supplement you can book the room, which better meets your needs and willingness to pay.

Common to all room types are our complimentary extras such as the buffet breakfast (except the "room only" product), in room nonalcoholic minbars (8 soft drinks), free Wifi, 24 hour tea and coffee corner in the main lobby, "Good Morning News" sheets in 8 different languages, room customization and a nice antipasto happy hour buffet free with purchase of a drink.

We wished you only had infomed the Staff and we would have certainly offered you another solution. With regard to the street noise, we are not located in a busy area or with a lot of traffic and I’m wondering if you have kept the windows open, knowing that the garbage collection in the central area of Milan generally takes place between 6 and 7 a.m.

We thank you for informing us about the check-out procedure, as asking our guests if they need help for the luggage and their opinion about the stay is part of our standards. For this behavior I truly apologise. Your feedback will be talked about in our next general meeting, in order to further improve the quality of our services.

We are indeed very glad you appreciated our location, which makes us a perfect base for visiting Milan, as well as the great variety of our buffet breakfast and the friendliness of the Staff.

We would appreciate the possibility to have a second choice to welcome you back and show how important you are to us.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is an excellent hotel, with a charming personal touch. The room came with a rubber ducky and some heart-shaped chocolates (perfect for me on my own :P) to keep. There's no decent restaurants or amenities nearby, although there is a small supermarket to get essentials or cheap food. It's ideal if travelling to Milano Centrale by train, as it is very close. It's also close to a metro stop which will get you to the centre of Milan in a few minutes. Highly recommended.

My room did have the hotel's brightly-lit sign right outside which buzzed annoyingly, but I didn't notice with the window closed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I travel through Milan every year on my way to Perugia to visit my daughter and her family. I always stay at Hotel Berna:
- walking distance even with luggage to Milano Centrale train station
- in a good walking neighborhood
- killer buffet breakfast
- comfortable room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not only is the hotel within walking distance of the Milan Centrale, the staff was professional, welcoming and helpful. Nice little amenities like free soft drinks and water in the mini-bar. The lobby did not reflect our room. By that I mean, the lobby was more traditional. Our room was more trendy in design both the sleeping area and the bathrooom. It is a 2 mile walk (if you are of that ilk-which we are) to the Duomo. Our one night day/night there was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Milan
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 122 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.