We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Berna to your Saves list
Hotel Berna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy (Stazione Centrale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It was everything one could ask for as far as a hotel is concerned-especially if you're not accustomed to a Four Seasons-type location. As far as I we were concerned, the Berna set the bar in terms of what a hotel should be. The breakfast offerings were plentiful and quite satisfying to say the least! The staff was quite courteous and accommodating! We were able to leave our large bags during a side trip to Riomaggiore which was quite a relief.
The location is within walking distance to the train station which is nice should one wish to take a daytrip and visit some of the marvelous towns surrounding Milan.
If at all possible, splurge for the junior suite which was sizeable especially in comparison to your typical European.

Room Tip: Splurge for a junior suite. Well worth the extra cost especially considering the size of a typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonester2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I loved everything about this place. Ultra friendly staff, very clean room, and the breakfast buffet was definitely the best ive had so far. The hotel is within walking distance from Centrale. Also a very short walk to the metro, we were at Duomo in less than 10 minutes. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tattooed_beast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2013 having looked a variety of options. Hotel Berna has a great location - 2mins walk from central train station (where the airport bus arrives/departs), a metro station at the end of the road with 2 lines that take you to all parts of the city - Duomo and main square are 5/10mins away by metro and only took 25mins to walk down a safe street route! Hotel was clean, breakfast variety was huge and available until 11am -and all of the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Room we were in was nice - for us it was just a place to sleep and shower so the fact it wasn't huge didn't make a difference - but there was a desk and free wifi in room and there is a PC/printer available for free in reception. Decor is a little dated and not "boutique" or "contemporary" but our room was very clean and added bonus of free soft drink minibar - which was very handy! Also cakes/snacks available on bar all day. Not the quietest of rooms as we were near the lift/stair well so heard people coming and going early morning - but we were getting up to go and enjoy the city anyway so no big deal! Very accommodating when we checked out and kept our luggage safely locked away while we went out to enjoy the city. Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend the Hotel Berna.

Room Tip: higher floors would have less street noise and ask to be away from stairs if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lux
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

All the staff is extremely friendly, nice and helpful. Anytime I travel to Milano for business or pleasure I "live" there with them.....now it is my home when in Milano. One can choose different room categories but the breakfast is simply great for everyone with even large choice of gluten free pastry. Do not forget to have the carrott fresh juice, lovely for starting a day...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diverLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband, infant son, and I needed a place to stay for one night that was close to the central train station. Hotel Berna fit the bill perfectly. It was moderately priced, a few minute walk from the station, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms clean. We enjoyed the special touches of free (non alcoholic beverages) from the mini bar, free wi-fi, and the adorable rubber duckie we found in our bathroom- perfect for our son. I would recommend Hotel Berna to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bzm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice hotel, conveniently located. Good breakfast, great choice. Incredibly nice service - everyone is more than incredibly nice... incredibly nice really is an understatement. We checked in at 12 instead of 3 p.m., got an upgrade because they misspelled Mr. instead of Ms. The room was reasonable, bathroom was very big. We asked for a quiet room and we got one with a view to the interior garden, all good in here. The minibar is for free! Only non-alcoholic beverages, but still incredibly nice touch! Rubber duck for free! Love it! The downside: it really is a 3 star. The room was quite old, at least judging it by the bathroom (the even had a very "optimistic" scale in the bathroom - it showed that I weigh 5 kg less! Loved it!). Shampoo and shower gel yes, no hand soap... The upholstery and carpet smelled like old and somewhat mouldy... The location and the price was unbeatable. However, remember, do not expect a 5 star room, you are in a 3 star hotel. It is amazing for a 3 star, but it is not a 5 star!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmaolol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here in December last year, and waited until now to review, as I wanted to be balanced about it. My impression was that it was a little like the 'Curate's egg'..parts of it were quite excellent. For example, the location, very close to the Central Station and easy to find. Lots of good cheap resturants very close by. The breakfast was fantastic, with a very large array of quality food. It's almost worth staying at the Hotel Berna for the breakfast alone. The bar was comfortable and welcoming, the drinks reasonably priced and generous, with nuts and crisps on the table, and some very delectable food on the bar, free and gratis. The staff, for the most part, were friendly and helpful. There were, however, a few things that spoiled it for me. The first was my arrival. The receptionist was dealing with a customer, which was fair enough, but I would have expected a smile and nod from him to acknowledge my existence. His attitude when he did get around to serving me was coolly polite, but certainly not welcoming. I was not shown to my room as I had been in other hotels of the same class in Europe, and the room was very hard to find, with the numbering confusing. The room itself was adequete, although the bathroom was truly minute, even for Europe. The worst part was the noise. I was closeted hard by two elevators, which clanked all night, and my room seemed to be the central juction for all the plumbing in the place. So my night was clank-clank, gurgle-gurgle, and i got hardly any sleep. I was advised by the desk that the hotel was fully booked. That may be so, but with a very long plane trip ahead of me next day, I could have done with some rest. They were apologetic, and looked after my bags next day until my afternoon departure, but wouldn't give me a late check-out so that I might have caught up on my sleep. They were too busy they said. All in all, my experience was mostly positive, and I would stay there again. However, next time I would be sure to request a QUIET room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoul656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Residence Aramis Milan Downtown
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Enterprise Hotel
#36 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Palazzo Moscova
Grand Visconti Palace
#32 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
Bicocca
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#20 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#9 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing