We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Berna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 433 hotels in Milan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just arrived home from a weekend break in Milan and I cannot rate Hotel Berna highly enough. Before you even check-in, the service is second to none. You are able to choose the type of pillows/bed covering you prefer and even the temperature of your room for your arrival. The hotel is ideally located for Central Station (and easy to find) and the links for buses and trains on their website are superb. It was my birthday on the day we checked out and I was presented with a cake at breakfast time and the staff all sang 'Happy Birthday' to me - without prompting from my mum! The breakfast really is wonderful and the free buffet (if you are having a drink in the bar) is lovely. The free mini bar is re-stocked daily and the staff could not have been nicer. All-in-all I will definitely return and will recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Milan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,327
    1,152
    191
    57
    24
See reviews for
601
1615
427
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, Vermont
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Hotel Berna in Milan at the end of our 6 week trip to Italy. We were able to do all of our booking on-line before we left the USA. We received a small discount (about 7 Euros) for reserving our room on-line. We got regular emails from the Hotel prior to departure including signing up for various amenities that would be waiting for us in our room. Very convenient. We arrived in Milan by train at Milano Centrale. We picked up information about the city, including a map, from the Tourist Information office and walked to the Hotel. It was about a five minute walk out the front doors of the train station. We turned down Via Napo Torriani and the bustling noise of the city immediately quieted. The hotel is well-marked and easy to find. We were able to get into our room by 2:30 p.m. It was a typically-sized room for Italian hotels. Comfortable king-size bed and comfy pillows. Clean. Neat. Bright. Wi-fi in room that was easy to access. Good water pressure in sink and shower. Our room faced the street, and even with our window open at night, we were not bothered by the street noise below - though the garbage and delivery trucks do arrive fairly early (around 5 a.m. or 5:30 a.m.). Because we were there at the beginning of May, the air conditioning was not yet operable (and it happened to be an unusually hot May 1 and 2 in Milan). The front desk staff was incredibly helpful. They remembered our names from our first stop at the desk. We bought our 24 hour Metro tickets at the front desk and the price was added to our room costs. The breakfast at the Hotel is exceptionally extensive, delicious, and included in the room price. There is a room off of the front desk where wine (and other drinks) and a variety of snacks are available in the late afternoon/early evening. While the wine has a cost (about 5 Euro per glass added to room cost), the snacks were free. The snacks were ample and varied. We had to leave very early on our last morning in Italy to catch the express bus to the airport for an early morning flight. We asked the front desk staff if it were possible to have a light snack for breakfast. The answer was "of course." When we checked out early on our last morning, there were two goodie bags at the front desk ready for us with fruit, beverage, cheese and crackers, other snacks. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Berna. It is convenient to the Metro and train station. We will stay here again on our next trip to Italy and Milan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Situated minutes from central station the hotel is ideally placed for exploring Milan and the surrounding areas. Public transport links around the city are excellent and with a day ticket one ticket fits all -metro, buses and trams.
Hospitality at the Berna is second to none, with some memorable touches. The soft drinks in the room fridge are indeed free, as are the 'bar snacks' in the bar when you enjoy a drink. To call them bar snacks is a little misleading as I have been to weddings with less choice in their buffets. Having arrived late the first evening we were looking for a light bite before bed and the selection of pizza bites, sandwiches, tortilla and more proved more than ample.
There are four pcs in the lobby where guests can access free Internet, wifi is also available in the rooms however I couldn't get it to work on my phone.
All in all the Berna is great choice if you are looking for a well located, reasonably priced, hospitable hotel in Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were 2 couples booking 2 rooms. Make sure you ask for a newly renovated room as the old ones are very dated. The newly renovated rooms are very nice!
Hotel is service quality is very good and breakfast is nice with wide selection.
We are Chinese and need our own cuisine from time to time. If have time, must try Su Garden restaurant which is nearby the hotel. Ask reception and they will give you directions. It is a very good restaurant although not 100% authentic and serve some Thai/Chinese/Japanese fusion. The steamed sea bass we order was very fresh!

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Our first hotel in Italy was Hotel Berna. It was clean, spacious with comfortable beds. What else can a person ask for?
The breakfast they serve every morning is to die for. Staff is very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We came into Milan Central Station on the train from Venice. Ask for directions before you leave the train station. If you are pointed to the right exit, you are only a block or so from the Hotel Berna. The hotel is very close to the subway, so it is very easy to get to the Duomo, The Last Supper, and other attractions. The front desk is very helpful. They will help you find anyplace you want. There is bottled water and pop included in the minifridge, and it is replenished daily. Check out the bar. There is a small buffet at no charge during certain hours. It was not crowded and a nice touch. The hotel will hold your bags if you have a late train or flight. You can catch an inexpensive shuttle to the Malpensa airport outside the train station. Very helpful staff. Clean hotel. We were able to print boarding passes at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've now stayed at Hotel Berna a couple of times and both times have been an excellent experience. The location is very central, only 10min from Milano Centrale train station, and easy access to I'll Duomo, Castello and Milan's other attraction's. The staff as superb, friendly and always happy to help. And finally they serve a breakfast, included in price, that is the best in any hotel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: First time room faced court yard and seemed a little bigger than the last room I was given, but am n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#5 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 122 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.