We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a very convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Berna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 433 hotels in Milan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a very convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel very close to the Stazione Centrale station (4 stops to the Duomo), and within walking distance of the shops at Corso Buenos Aires. This was my 2nd visit, and it was just as good as the first! Staff are very friendly, service is top notch (you can even choose what they put in your free mini-bar and customise the settings for your room on-line before you arrive), and the breakfast selections are great.
I'm definitely coming back here the next time I'm in Milan!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,326
    1,152
    191
    57
    24
See reviews for
601
1614
427
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for three nights. Rooms are a very comfortable size for Europe and immaculately clean. The free non-alcoholic drinks in your room is a nice touch, as are the little snacks they have in your room on arrival. Probably the best part was being able to personalise your stay online before you arrive. My husband and I had been craving some firmer/contoured pillows after several weeks of travel in Europe. You can pick your pillow type, bedding type, room temperature etc. as part of your stay which makes for a great nights sleep. As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is great with a much bigger selection than most hotels. A lot of it is sweets which are not my favourite early in the morning but there are plenty of other choices such as eggs, toast, fresh fruit as well as the usual cold meats, cheeses, cereals etc. The staff are so friendly and constantly asking if there is anything you would like assistance with (advice on local attractions, restaurants etc). The hotel arranged our bookings at local restaurants that they recommended which were fantastic. The happy hour each evening at the bar was a nice touch with free nibbles to enjoy before the restaurants around the place open for dinner (which in Italy is late if you are not used to it!!!). Location is very central, close to the main train station and also the Hop-on Hop-off bus stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A central location, close to the railway station and public transport, within walking distance from the duomo area. Efficient staff and excellent breakfast made my stay effective. If you are looking for value for money - this is it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Hotel Berna and as on previous occasions we were made to feel so welcome!
The staff are so friendly, bedrooms very comfortable,excellent breakfast and the complimentary teas and coffees in the lounge area a super touch on chilly days on December.
We would not hesitate to return on future visits to Milan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Choose this hotel because of it location as we were arriving by train. Its just a walking distance.
free wifi and complementary mini bar which reload everyday. Good room size. But my room have a problem with the air-conditioning, although I had left a note for them to fix it but nothing had been done. disappointed. the rest are ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

First time in Milan and my gorgeous wife couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Staff are excellent from the friendly and helpful welcome at reception to the bar staff (Max was brilliant) who go out of their way to provide suggestions on what to do, how to get there and the best places to eat. The rooms are clean warm and with a bright modern feel. I did see an earlier review that didnt think much to breakfast. I,m not sure what they meant as I have never seen such a wide range of food for breakfast - fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, cakes, scrambled eggs, bacon (pancetta), cheese, cold ham, salami, boiled eggs and potato salad. You can't get a full English breakfast but you are in Italy after all. I highly recommend the hotel and will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was fortunate to book the Hotel Berna. It is very nice, cozzy, friendly, well located and extremely clean. But although the rooms are very nice, clean, comfortable and in addition you may customize your room temperature, pillows, duvet, minibar and others for free is something that is the best: The staff that I met in this hotel is the most kind, friendly, helpful and always attentive to what you want for proper make your stay more pleasant. You can ask everything is always someone willing to help or guide you. I do not remember that in another hotel all employees to be courteous, smiling and extremely relaxed as here.
Also breakfast was delicious and the guys that have served us coffee are super cute and witty. Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 122 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.