We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service - 3 Star Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Berna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 431 hotels in Milan
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“5 Star Service - 3 Star Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I can't say enough about the service and staff at the hotel. We were there for a 1 night stay and found the service to be fantastic. The quality of the room was sub, sub par. I stay at hotels all over Europe so this isn't the standard American ranting about why isn't my room like a big chain hotel in the states. Our room was tiny (see the photo's) and the bathroom was so poorly designed it was nearly impossible to squeeze into the shower. Pillows, sheets, blankets, towels were all top notch as well as the furniture but the room was so silly tiny you had to take turns moving around. The location near Milan Central is also a plus for the Hotel Berna along with the breakfast and nice bar. For what I paid to stay here it wasn't a good value and I won't be back but as mentioned Berna has many positive points aside from the tiny tiny expensive rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,928 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,417
    1,229
    195
    60
    27
See reviews for
591
1589
421
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were meeting a friend between Venice and Paris, so booked a night in Milan. Thanks to Tripadvisor, we stayed here. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very convenient to the trains, it has a very good staff, the breakfast is wonderful and the shower was the best in Italy! I know, that may sound strange, but after traveling for a few days there is nothing like a great shower, a comfortable room and a perfect breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel was easy to find, very close to the beautiful Milan train station. There wasn't a great deal to see in the immediate area, but having said that we did feel safe. The room itself was clean but somewhat dated. The shower was extremely small. The highlight of our entire European trip was by far the breakfast served @ the Hotel Berna! The other nice touch was the free minibar and the service! Would recommend!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is located a short walking distance from the main train station in Milan. From the moment you walk through the door, you are treated royally. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms were not large which is fairly standard in Europe, but there was enough room for the wife and two large suitcases. We stayed here at the end of a three week trip through Italy and this hotel offered one of the two best breakfasts we experienced during our trip. It was really outstanding. The hotel offered free non-alcoholic drinks in the room bar fridge. The only difficulty was there was a problem with hot water in the morning. The problem was rectified within an hour and the front desk offered to extend our checkout time without being asked. This is really a first rate operation and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking to spend some time in Milan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Should have done this review last year, however was overwhelm with a lot of works... Still felt I should penned my liking for this place.

Milan was our first stop in Italy. We were searching for a hotel near the train station for a night and after that we will be travelling off to Florence-Rome-Venice then back to Milan to see it before flying back home. And admittedly this was the best hotels we have chosen by far.

The hotel has main and the opposite block wing. Our traveling buddies got the main and we got the opposite block.
- Front Desk is friendly. We reached hotel early in the morning at about 10am and they managed to clean up a room for us at least to put our stuff so that we can go for brunch. This was really good as we were dead tired after 12hrs of flight from Singapore.
- Cleanliness is good.
- Breakfast that comes with the room price is fantastic. They have comprehensive hot and cold spread (which we realised that we should not have taken for granted). And best of all fresh brewed coffee and fresh juice in according to your requirement.
- I preferred the decor of my friends twin-beds room. Whereas ours which is a Double is slightly smaller in size.
- Nearby has a few restuarants and a grocery store just beside our wing.
- The train station is really within walking distance. With our big luggage we dragged and made our way to it without breaking into sweat.. hahaha

It is really convenience to go anywhere in Milan from here. Should have come back to this place rather than the other one in Milan before we made our way home. But. ...

And we really missed their breakfast spread as the rest of the hotels did not have as fantastic spread as this one !!!

Travelled in June 2011

Room Tip: Do not know how much the breakfast cost but it is good to book your room with breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A nice large hotel with the feel of a small hotel due to the great staff. We were upgraded to a superior room, which was great. Hotel was very convenient to the train station. The restaurant was great, the breakfast was outstanding and the happy hour was happy! Free mini bar in the room. Only problem with Milan was the mosquitos. Don't go without a spray, we were eaten alive. The staff was great, they gave us a cream to put on the bites and put a sapper in the room. Would recommend to friends and would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked a hotel close to the central station for convenience only . Hotel Berna turned out to be one of those wonderful travel surprises. The room was clean and well organized The breakfast was a feast of choices, well prepared and attractive. Happy hour was another treasure . And the staff went out of their way in their treatment of us as their guests. In many ways, this hotel felt like a home. We would recommend and stay again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 122 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.