We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Property in Milan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Berna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 433 hotels in Milan
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class Property in Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is located a short walking distance from the main train station in Milan. From the moment you walk through the door, you are treated royally. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms were not large which is fairly standard in Europe, but there was enough room for the wife and two large suitcases. We stayed here at the end of a three week trip through Italy and this hotel offered one of the two best breakfasts we experienced during our trip. It was really outstanding. The hotel offered free non-alcoholic drinks in the room bar fridge. The only difficulty was there was a problem with hot water in the morning. The problem was rectified within an hour and the front desk offered to extend our checkout time without being asked. This is really a first rate operation and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking to spend some time in Milan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,327
    1,152
    191
    57
    24
See reviews for
601
1615
427
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Should have done this review last year, however was overwhelm with a lot of works... Still felt I should penned my liking for this place.

Milan was our first stop in Italy. We were searching for a hotel near the train station for a night and after that we will be travelling off to Florence-Rome-Venice then back to Milan to see it before flying back home. And admittedly this was the best hotels we have chosen by far.

The hotel has main and the opposite block wing. Our traveling buddies got the main and we got the opposite block.
- Front Desk is friendly. We reached hotel early in the morning at about 10am and they managed to clean up a room for us at least to put our stuff so that we can go for brunch. This was really good as we were dead tired after 12hrs of flight from Singapore.
- Cleanliness is good.
- Breakfast that comes with the room price is fantastic. They have comprehensive hot and cold spread (which we realised that we should not have taken for granted). And best of all fresh brewed coffee and fresh juice in according to your requirement.
- I preferred the decor of my friends twin-beds room. Whereas ours which is a Double is slightly smaller in size.
- Nearby has a few restuarants and a grocery store just beside our wing.
- The train station is really within walking distance. With our big luggage we dragged and made our way to it without breaking into sweat.. hahaha

It is really convenience to go anywhere in Milan from here. Should have come back to this place rather than the other one in Milan before we made our way home. But. ...

And we really missed their breakfast spread as the rest of the hotels did not have as fantastic spread as this one !!!

Travelled in June 2011

Room Tip: Do not know how much the breakfast cost but it is good to book your room with breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A nice large hotel with the feel of a small hotel due to the great staff. We were upgraded to a superior room, which was great. Hotel was very convenient to the train station. The restaurant was great, the breakfast was outstanding and the happy hour was happy! Free mini bar in the room. Only problem with Milan was the mosquitos. Don't go without a spray, we were eaten alive. The staff was great, they gave us a cream to put on the bites and put a sapper in the room. Would recommend to friends and would stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked a hotel close to the central station for convenience only . Hotel Berna turned out to be one of those wonderful travel surprises. The room was clean and well organized The breakfast was a feast of choices, well prepared and attractive. Happy hour was another treasure . And the staff went out of their way in their treatment of us as their guests. In many ways, this hotel felt like a home. We would recommend and stay again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

All the staff at Hotel Berna are very attentive. I was well looked after at check in and check out, and at breakfast and by other staff with the questions I had during my stay. Guest service is obviously a high priority.

I stayed here because the hotel is very close to the central railway station - a few minutes walk only. It is close to public transport to get to the Duomo etc, although I walked one way. It was a fair way (35 minutes at a leisurely pace) but an interesting walk down one of the main thoroughfares.

My room was a comfort single and was clean and had everything I needed. The bathroom was modern. The bed was comfortable. The room I was in was very quiet given the hotel is on a main road, because the room itself was quite a way back from the entrance.

The breakfast served here is great. A wide selection of fresh food and again the staff are helpful and friendly. I think I chose a time when everyone else was breakfasting because tables were in short supply even though there were many of them.

I enjoyed my stay - brief as it was - and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We wanted to stay at a hotel near the central station in Milan as we were arriving late in the day on the train from Rapallo and were planning day trips to Lake Como etc.
The hotel staff were polite, welcoming and knew their city well when we had a few enquiries. The check in was quick and efficient and the bell boy service was optional. Our room was ready and we walked in to a newly renovated room with all that we needed to make our stay comfortable. The room itself was not big however it was satisfactory.
The housekeeping staff, breakfast and dining staff were also polite, friendly and performed their duties well. Happy hour was a great start to the evening with a selection of complimentary appetizers to have with your drink.
The only criticism was that although the beds and pillows were very comfortable, we found the room too hot to sleep. There is. No air conditioning in winter and even with the heating turned off, the room was too hot for us. It is possible to open the window if you don't mind the street noise.
Generally though a comfortable and pleasant stay!

Room Tip: If there are renovated rooms at the back of the hotel and you want fresh air, these rooms will proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

There are always hotels that you are comfortable in but Hotel Berna is one of the rare ones that you want to come back too. The room was clean well laid out and the robes and slippers were great. The breakfast was dangerous for those of us who like to eat. The selections were numerous and the service gracious and friendly. The front desk and bell staff where also very helpful. The bar was welcoming and very comfortable with a very attentive bar tender.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#5 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 122 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.