We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast buffet in Italy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Berna to your Saves list
Hotel Berna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Middlesex, New Jersey
1 review
“Best breakfast buffet in Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Only stayed 1 night. Walking distance to train. It perfectly fit our needs. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,556
    1,235
    208
    59
    28
See reviews for
659
1,774
454
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Great location, great service, great breakfast. Rooms a little cozy but compensates with all the above

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We just spent 2 nights at the Berna Hotel, and were very impressed. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. We would like to give a special shout out to the bartender, Max, who provided great appetizers along with our drinks, and helped us by recommending restaurants, showing us how to get around Milan, etc. Also, thanks to Paolo on the front desk, and Alberto and Agazio in the breakfast room. Our room was comfortable and clean with nice touches, although the lighting could be improved. The breakfast was one of the largest selections we've had. Since we were leaving early in the AM, the staff made up large box breakfasts for us to take along. We highly recommend this hotel and will stay there next time we're in Milan.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

The experience at the hotel Berna is professional and personalized. The staff takes care of you from before you arrive (sending you a personalized email with all the information you need and personalization options) from when you leave. The rooms are perfect. I was in a single which had all I needed without being wastefully large (as in many modern hotels).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I will try and not repeat what the others have said - the staff, breakfast and location (near train station) are awesome!

For me, this hotel was a Godsend! I had a rough flight and this was a slice of heaven! The hotel was SO quiet! I mean really, REALLY quiet. I heard almost no street noise at night. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and clean, soft sheets and duvet. And, I asked about a massage and the staff directed my to an excellent place next door. I think I am in love with this hotel!

My only criticism is beyond their control. Yes it is 100% smoke free (signs EVERYWHERE!). But, some hotel patrons step right outside the sliding glass doors to smoke and the lobby acts like funnel. We could smell the smoke in the hallway one floor up at our room! Sadly, this is a problem in so many places and I have no idea how they could stop patrons from smoking on the public sidewalk.

That aside, Hotel Berna is a perfect four star. From the beautiful linens and abundant soaps/shampoo in the big bathroom, to the exceptional staff, to the fact that other hotel patrons where mature and not screaming party kids - this is a great hotel! I would stay at Hotel Berna again in a minute and certainly hope to do so again soon.

Room Tip: If it matters, ask for a room with a big bathroom.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Nice welcome, comfortly room and a central position. Everything was great.
The breakfast was excellent and we have a very comfort stay in the hotel.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Lucia, Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Hotel Berna is very clean and the staff are very warm and helpful. Buffet breakfast is excellent. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Stazione Centrale so one can easily go for day trips to Torino, Venice, Verona, Bergamo and Lake Garda by train. Malpensa and Linate shuttle coach buses connect to Stazione centrale every 20 minutes. The metro is just around the corner and in a few minutes you can go to the Duomo and city centre.

Stayed May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani, 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Milan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#8 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 122 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.