We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning First Impression of the Lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Milano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Milano to your Saves list
Melia Milano
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Masaccio 19, 20149 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #91 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stunning First Impression of the Lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Business stay for two nights. The hotel was convenient for my purpose. The outside is nothing to note, but the Lobby is stunning and open ups to a grand stair case leading up to the meeting rooms. The check in desk personnel were welcoming and efficient. My King bed room was specious had a desk, sitting chair, TV, minibar, plenty of closet space and a very nice marble bath. Some of the wall paper was peeling off and the carpet was well worn, hence the loss of a star. The bar is off of the lobby and the pre fix lunch special for 15 Euro was delicious; inclusive of beverage, salad bar, handmade noodle with plenty choices of sauces and fruit for dessert. On closer inspection the couches in the lobby were very tired and well over due to be replaced. Breakfast service and selection was absolutely terrific. I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Penta-Seattle

Thank your for your warm review of our property. We are happy to hear that your experience at the Meliá Milano was so much enjoyable and memorable! We are so pleased to know that you found our lobby stunning, our rooms large and comfortable, team members welcoming and efficient, QBreak lunch delicious and morning breakfast absolutely terrific. We highly appreciate your comments and will be glad to welcome you back. Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano for our latest news and promotions.

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    308
    127
    52
    31
See reviews for
79
200
37
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Great impact on arrival as it is beautiful in the public areas however I booked a double room and only got a single bed despite there being a double headboard, I had a wardrobe that was too short to hang a dress. The receptionist at check in struggled to motivate himself to tell me the basics (like where to find breakfast).

I arrived late and was working with an early start the next day so I couldn't be bothered to complain about the room and the bed but I would have if it had been a longer stay.

I did go down to the bar for some food which was very nice and the staff were charming. It was very slow service but they were very apologetic for that.

It is a very traditional hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear DinkyN

Thank you for spending several minutes to share your feeback with us on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that the room was not as per your expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience. We appreciate your comment about our service and food at the QLounge bar, so thank you for this! We very much hope to see you back at Meliá Milano and our hotel team will be pleased to ensure that your next stay with us would be a memorable one!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently visited Milan with my friends for the famous footwear show, MICAM Shoevent 2013. We planned our stay with Hotel Melia Milano which turned out to be the best part of our trip. I got to know about this fabulous hotel through a user-friendly website suggested by one of my friend, exhibitioncentrehotels.com. It offers wide selection of accommodations in vicinity of global events.

Located in historic residential and business district of Milan, this hotel offers convenient access to every part of the city. Stylish décor exuding exceptional charm with personalized services make it an ideal choice of both business as well as leisure travellers. Being huge fans of famous mystery comics, Diabolik, I booked Diabolik Comic Room without any second thoughts.
Our room was completely different from other rooms in the hotel. The dark and elegant interiors furnished with cutting-edge technology made it a perfect place for our mysterious hero, Diabolik. We were delighted to find a welcome gift and a bottle of “Prosecco Superiore V8+”, one of the premium Italian wines with hints of fruits. The gift box had Diabolik comics and a Diabolik t-shirt.

Unique combination of textures and the aroma by different compositions appeals to all 5 senses of the body. We enjoyed playing latest games on Sony PS3 console. Night sensors and tactile light controls made the stay more high-tech. Other special features of the room included 55 inch 3D television, universal IDAPT charger for mobile phones and stylish Italian furniture. After the event, we relaxed at the Wellness Centre with rejuvenating Turkish bath. It was an experience to be cherished forever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Avee A

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at The Meliá Milano. It is totally a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your “Diabolik” themed Experience, our services, staff and facilities. Many, many thanks! We naturally want to be perfect and very keen when guests leave the hotel with warm memories. Please come back for more experiences – we would be so pleased to welcome you back again to the Meliá Milano to exceed your expectations further!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Only stayed for one night - needed a place to stay close to San Siro where we had tickets for a concert. The hotel was very nice, the staff was very helpfull and the breakfast was excelent. All what we needed :o)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Bsild

Many thanks for taking the time to post your Experience about your recent stay at the Meliá Milano and thank you for your 5 star review of our property. We are happy to see that you took advantage of our great location with convenient connections to San Siro Stadium, and enjoyed our specious beautiful rooms, our breakfast, our staff and our Passion! We appreciate your valuable comments and will look forward to welcoming you back to Milan for your next concert! Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano for our latest news!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A very very good hotel. Perfect services, perfect treatment, unbelievable rooms, meals, near a metro station. Good for business or also vacation. In the other side of the street in find a good restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Antonio A

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback of your recent stay at the Meliá Milano. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the service and hotel facilities during your stay and it will be a pleasure to share your beautiful feedback with the rest of the team! We can not wait to welcome you back again for the new experience and memorable stay! Don’t forget to like our Facebook page at Meliá Milano for our latest news and promotions. See you Soon!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As others have said, it might look nice from the outside and in the lobby but the rooms are very outdated and worn. A Holiday Inn has nicer rooms than this hotel.

When someone books a 5 star hotel they expect the best especially with the price tag associated with a stay here.

I generally stay at the Marriott in Milan but decided to try the Melia. Never again.

When I arrived in my room the key didn't work to turn on the lights, once I got someone up to my room to get those going by replacing the room key I noticed that the TV decided not to work. Call down again and have another person come up to fix that. Went into the bathroom...only 1 face towel and 1 large towel. Cal down for more towels. When I go to plug in my electronic device I find out that the 2 plugs by the bed aren't working. So I have to plug my computer and phone in the bathroom overnight to charge.

I paid for internet in the room, and it didn't work 1/2 of the time. When it did work, the speed was 250-280 kbps download and only 120-140 kbps upload (ran a speedtest). This is not an acceptable speed for someone conducting business on a trip, or even for a simply skype call.

I suggest you look elsewhere for accomodations until this hotel gets their act together.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear SV775

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor following you recent stay at the Meliá Milano. While we are obviously disappointed with your feedback about the room facilities, we genuinely appreciate all your as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is highly maintained. I am very sorry that you were not happy due to the internet connection not working strong enough as per your expectation and I would like to apologize that we have not delivered our usual high standard of speed performance. All of your comments have been taken on board. As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience, even the points you may feel are small, so thank you for this. We truly hope that we will have another change to greet you again at the Meliá Milano for the new and enjoyable Experience!

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Clar, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The atrium and bar area are great, the lunch buffet is limited but not too expensive. They allowed me to check in early, which was good.
The bad news is that the rooms are tired, the card system has problems, the meeting rooms are very poor and expensive. my major gripe is that they will not provide an iron/ironing board. This is because of the law, but when i checked i found that other hotels do provide, or have room, so they lied, the iron needs to have an off-timer. This either means they have been misinformed, or they are trying to maximise room laundry profits. Next time i will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rregolini, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Melia Milano, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Nick F

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor following you recent stay at the Meliá Milano. While we are obviously disappointed with your feedback about the service, we genuinely appreciate all your comments as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service is highly maintained and I apologize that we have not delivered our usual high standard of service to which you deserve. We hope to see you soon for new experience at the Meliá Milano.

Riccardo Regolini
e-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Milano

Address: Via Masaccio 19, 20149 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Milan
#20 Spa Hotel in Milan
#62 Business Hotel in Milan
#66 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#71 Family Hotel in Milan
#74 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Milano 5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Milano is so tailored to your needs that it may deserve an entirely different name: yours! Located in the most dynamic and fastest growing district of Milan, near the EXPO 2015 pavilions, the district of CityLife, the brand new area of Porta Vittoria to which AC Milan moved its legendary museum, LG, Vittoria Assicurazioni and many other international companies, next to Lotto underground station and 10 minutes from MiCo Congress Centre and San Siro Stadium, the Melia Milano is proud to present its newly renovated hotel designed with only you in mind: the brand new THE LEVEL Lounge, the largest in Europe with services including private check-in & check-out, private breakfast and afternoon cocktails; 56 brand new THE LEVEL rooms & suites with exclusive services and amenities; the brand new Jigger Food & Cocktail Bar where fresh Mediterranean cuisine is combined with an exclusive selection of premium drinks and signature cocktails; a brand new plenary room for up to 520 delegates. The Melia Milano has reinvented everything. Or almost everything. There is one thing it does not want to change: its characteristic personalized customer service and care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Melia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Melia Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Milano Hotel Milan
Sol Melia Milano Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.