We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but avoid the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Milano Machiavelli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added NH Milano Machiavelli to your Saves list
NH Milano Machiavelli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lazzaretto, 5, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly NH Machiavelli) (Isola)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #77 of 432 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but avoid the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed in Milan and the NH Machiavelli for 4 nights and enjoyed my stay here though the hotel seems to cater more for business travellers rather than tourists. Based in a modern building in a mixed residential / commercial area of the city the location is good we walked into the city centre quite a few times it is about 20 - 25 minutes. When we arrived by train we took a taxi at a cost of €7.00 but on leaving we just walked up to Central Station which was about 10 minutes. The nearest Metro station Republicca is also just a short walk away.

Had room 312 which was a good size modern and clean with a very comfortable bed, view across the street to the neighbouring Ibis Hotel. Bathroom very nice, good shower and smelt of oranges due to the soap provided. Could hear some noise at night which seemed to generate from the taxi drivers at the rank across the street but it was not often and not a major issue.

Breakfast very good spread and mixture of hot and cold food, pleasant room and on quite a few morning was packed. Same can not be said on the evening ate in the hotel restaurant once and that was enough. Limited menu so just ordered a burger when it came it was half cooked and cold the worst meal I had on my 2 week holiday. Bit of a comedy waiter too.

On the whole staff very good with the exception of one guy on reception called William who when I asked for assistance with a trip I had booked was totally disinterested and could easily have been solved by going online.

Despite this would definetly stay again at the Machiavelli.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    258
    72
    22
    10
See reviews for
47
150
36
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The staff was helpful and the room was clean and roomy! I found the location a bit inconvenient, especially since public transportation was on strike during my stay, but once I figured out the map I was good. The staff was very helpful in giving directions and tips. I did not like how they charged to use the internet though, a ridiculous amount too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After staying on Corso Buenos Aires the last time we were in Milan we were looking for a quieter location but still with excellent transport links with breakfast for under £50 and this hotel did not disappoint . We asked for a quiet room and we were facing the inner courtyard so no 'view' but no noise either,the a/c coped with the extreme heat , it was mid 30's outside.
The room although sparse had everything we needed .The breakfast was more than adequate with a large selection of cold items from fruit , meats,cheeses,breads and cakes with bacon , scrambled eggs and sausages as well,the only issue was the coffee machine was not up to serving the amount of people there.
The reception staff were very helpful and wifi was free but you needed to collect a voucher every 24hrs from reception.
There was a tram stop just outside that took you into the centre in about 10 mins and about 10 mins in the opposite direction it stopped outside a large supermarket but there were plenty of smaller ones a couple of doors away from the hotel.
If we were going to Milan we would stay again if the price was ok

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel, with the usual selection (cornflakes, scrambled eggs, cheese, ham, bread, juice, coffe, tea, milk etc) for breakfast.

About 15 minutes walk from the MIlano Centrale train station. Approximately 30 minutes walk to the Doumo or a short tram ride (maybe up to 10 minutes on the No. 1 tram EUR1.50 one way per person), the tram also goes up to the train station in the reverse direction. Roughly 10 minutes walk to Corso Buenos Aires

Many restaurants in the area mostly Chinese restaurant, saw an Indian retaurant, a grill restaurant and a Carrefour Express, all within 5 minutes walk.

There is also free wi-fi which has to be renewed every 24hours by going to the reception and asking for a new code.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel in late August and I must admit that my feelings are positive. The hotel is very well located - about 10 minutes walk from Milano Centrale, about 15-20 minutes walk from the city centre, near to big city garden. There's a small supermarket next to it, so you can always do some cheap shopping there.
Rooms are nice, bathrooms as well, with good quality amentities. Staff was friendful.
Breakfast was ok, but we were expecting better variety - you can choose only from scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, 3 types of cured meat and 2 types of cheese - I've seen lots of 3-star hotels with more sophisticated menu. The coffee was terrible - it was more like coffee-flavour water drink.
But overall - our stay was very good, especially for money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Was only in Milan for 1 night but felt very comfortable and relaxed here.

I expected a bog-standard sterile corporate hotel but for the price we paid (55 gbp) I found the hotel excellent value for money.
Great location, easy parking, large modern room, friendly helpful English speaking reception staff, good breakfast with a wide buffet selection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Standard Hotel! Stayed in other NH across Europe and this is the usual NH i get used to. The location is very good near to the biggest avenue in Milan. THe electrical train stops in fron of the hotel so it is a good decision to take it and avoid walking in the italian sun. The rooms are normal, the AC makes a bit noise and to me the beds were a bit stiff. The breakfast was good and also the staff. Would stay again in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Milano Machiavelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Milano Machiavelli

Address: Via Lazzaretto, 5, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly NH Machiavelli)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Isola , Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Milan
#46 Family Hotel in Milan
#54 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#60 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#66 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Milano Machiavelli 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Milano Machiavelli hotel is located right in the center of Milan, near Porta Venezia and the Corso Buenos Aires shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NH Milano Machiavelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Machiavelli Hotel Milan
Jolly Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Milano Machiavelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.