We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST EXPERIENCE IN AN HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Milano Ca Granda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Milano Ca Granda to your Saves list
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Suzzani 13/15, 20162 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #172 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Soveria Mannelli, Calabria, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE WORST EXPERIENCE IN AN HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I'M WRITING IN ENGLISH ON BEHAL OF NOT ITALIAN SPEAKING PEOPLE. Our terrible experience in an Ibis Hotel. Please never stay at Milano Ca' Granda Ibis Hotel. It's the worst place in which we've ever been. I have to tell our story.
I’ve booked via Booking.com a double room plus a crib for our baby. In the morning in which we had to leave the baby got a terrible virus and he was even admitted in the Hospital. I called the direction of the hotel and I’ve told them I could not go there and I asked them if they could keep the sum (90 euros) for a successive stay that I would have done in the next few days. They told me it was ok but they asked me a medical certificate which I sent to them.
In the meantime they sent a mail in which they asked other 88 euros. I agreed.
However when I arrived there at the desk they wanted me to pay 98 euros instead of 88. I protested and after a quarrel they said it could be ok. But the worst surprise was in the bedroom! The bed was too small for two. It was a full size instead of a queen or king size. There was no crib in the room. The room was really small and in the bathroom there were just two towels!
I protested again and they brought a crib (and the room became impossible to stay because all the space was occupied) and the towels.
When I left another surprise. On the invoice there were written only 88 euros instead of 178. I told them it was illegal and I’ve even written an email but nobody answered.
The worst experience with an hotel in my life.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCrippa, Direttore at Ibis Milano Ca Granda, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Google Translation
Buongiorno,
Mi chiamo Cristiana Crippa e sono il Direttore dell’hotel di Ibis Cà Granda, dove lei ha soggiornato.

Grazie di aver condiviso la sua esperienza su Tripadvisor, trovo molto utile riceve un feed back dalle persone che sono stati nostri Ospiti sia quelle positive che purtroppo, come nel suo caso, quelle non positive.
Per questo comunque me ne dispiaccio, il mio obbiettivo e di tutti i miei collaboratori, è quello di soddisfare i nostri clienti e fidelizzarli per farsi che tornino.

Nello specifico ricordo la sua prenotazione, mi è stata sottoposta la sua richiesta di cambio data di una prenotazione prepagata e trattandosi di una ragione di salute, ho accordato il cambio.

Normalmente queste prenotazioni hanno delle condizioni restrittive, proprio perché promozionali: non cancellabile e non modificabile e sono accettate dalle persone al momento in cui le sottoscrivono. Credo nel suo caso di aver fatto un eccezione a queste regole solo per cercare di soddisfarla.

La cifra che le è stata chiesta era a fronte della differenza con la tariffa del giorno, rispetto quanto prenotato da lei in precedenza.
La mia collaboratrice ha fatto un errore di calcolo nello scriverle la cifra dimenticando 10€, che credo possa capitare, ed infatti le sono stati stornati ed ha pagato quanto le era stato comunicato.

Questo per chiarirle la nostra politica, cerchiamo sempre di andare incontro alle persone.

Mi rammarico per il fatto che abbia trovato le nostre camere piccole e poco spaziose.

Siamo un hotel di città e parte di un gruppo standardizzato. Il concetto Ibis, prevede camere minimaliste e pratiche ed arredate nello stesso stile in tutto il mondo.

Spero comunque di poter guadagnare la sua fiducia in suo prossimo soggiorno.

Cordialmente,

Cristiana Crippa
Direttore
Ibis Cà Granda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    379
    231
    42
    18
See reviews for
124
299
77
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile


Staff is friendly and helpful
Rooms are small clean but furniture and decoration could have been better
Beds are really small , you wouldn't feel that comfortable .

Elevator is horrible , I can't believe the noise and vibration it makes

Carpet near the reception is dirty
Breakfast is poor , merely a breakfast
They charge additional 8,5 Euro a person for breakfast

Restaurant service is 24 / 24 according to their leaflet but in reality that was not true .
We went to the restaurant at 11pm asking for pizza but they say ; it is late now , sorry we are closed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCrippa, Direttore at Ibis Milano Ca Granda, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you to share your experience about Ibis Cà Granda on tripadvisor.

Service 24/24 is for food and drink menù I can confirm you restaurant closing at 10.30 p.m.

I do apologize for your inconvenient and hope to regain your confidence in your next stay.

Best regards

Cristiana Crippa
General Manager
Ibis Cà Granda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Super small rooms, not so friendly and polite staff barring a couple of guys at Reception and one girl in the restaurant named, not much to choose for the menu, unstable internet noisy elevator , the list may go long for improvement. I think I should better choose this as an alternate career.... nothing is close buy except couple of pharmacies and I guess a liquor shop though this is in the quite kind of center of town.

On the plus side close to Milano Centrale and quiet location within the city, they were willing to offer me early check in around 1100 hrs than the usual 1400 hrs .... All in all with the price they charge I don't think there is value and with a lesser price this is much suited to be Ibis budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

A really good choice during my vacations to italy. A hotel where i will love to stay again. Good room and shower with bath tub. Perfect location. Good price. Easily reachable by different sources like bus metro and tram. Good internet in the room. It is 2nd time dat i stayed at ibis and dey never disappoint me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

One of the best Ibis I've been in my life. Few places on the park if you are driving. Apart this, the hotel is excellent! Staff is friendly and you can find good restaurants 3 or 5 minutes by car from the hotel.
Definitely, I recommend...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel, while staying in Milan.

We selected this hotel, as it had some free car parking. If we wanted somewhere closer to the city, we would have been paying between €10-20 just to park the car per day.

You have to remember with all the ibis hotels, that they work to a formula, this makes them cheaper, and also easier to know what to expect. The downside it that the hotels generally lack personality. So long as you know this, you generally get what you expect. There is a Ibis Novotel right next door as well if you want an upgrade in hotel room quality.

Our rate also included breakfast, and it was fairly standard ibis fare of cereals, juices, coffee, breads and pastries.

Wifi is included free, as part of new Ibis policy of free wifi in all hotels. It's great that they no longer charge in some hotels, and provide free of charge in others.

The staff where very helpful, and provided plenty of information about how to get in and around town.

The hotel is defiantly a good distance from the city, and we ended up leaving our car at the hotel. The staff advised us to get a 24 local public transport pass, which allowed us to jump on any bus, tram or train for a 24 hour period. This worked like a dream, and the best bit is that you end up right in the middle of the city, without the hassle of trying to find a car park.

If you don't have to worry about car parking, there are plenty of good hotels right in the centre of the city that you can choose from. But is you have to consider car parking, and don't mind interacting with the locals while using a bit of public transport. Then this hotel will do you just nicely.

I would have no problem staying at the hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCrippa, Direttore at Ibis Milano Ca Granda, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you to share your experience in Tripadvisor and leave your comment.

I appreciate that you enjoy your stay here in Milan and service in Ibis Cà Granda.

Waiting to welcome you again in the next future.

Best regards

Cristiana Crippa
General Manager
Ibis Cà Granda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Milano Ca Granda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Milano Ca Granda

Address: Viale Suzzani 13/15, 20162 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Milano Ca Granda 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the A4 motorway and 5 km from the centre of Milan and its monuments, the Ibis Milano Ca Granda hotel is easily accessible from the airport (15km). For your seminars, the hotel puts at your disposal 2 meeting rooms, its restaurant of Italian specialities and grills and its bar open 24/24. The hotel proposes 132 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, including 4 for disabled guests, as well as Wifi Internet connection. Free parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Milano Ca Granda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Milano Ca Granda Hotel Milan
Ibis Hotel Milan
Accor Milano Ca Granda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Milano Ca Granda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.