We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scala Nord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scala Nord to your Saves list
Hotel Scala Nord
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Francesco Ferruccio 10/A, 20145 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Chandigarh, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel through quite an obscure website, and had our doubts regarding the choice. However, we were visiting during the Italian grand prix weekend, room rates in the city were sky high and my conference venue was a short walk away from the hotel. The rates offered were reasonable, considering the time of the year. We were in for a pleasant surprise. The hotel is a short commute from the city centre (via tram) and has a tube station very close by. Rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. The bathroom was a tad tiny, but clean. The bundled breakfast is the usual fare one would expect, not exceptional but acceptable by any standards. The front desk staff is polite and efficient, always ready to help out with planning an itinerary or finding your way through the city. The place doesn't have the bells and whistles of a star hotel, but offers great value, good rooms and a convenient location for your Milan stay. Highly recommended for couples or families looking for reasonable comfort in a safe part of town, well connected and surprisingly priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
10
18
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable. Down the street ½ a block to 1 block away was a grocery store and a laundry, and a block in the other direction was the tram to the center of the city. The front desk was always helpful and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights. The room was clean, neat, and had two washrooms with showers. I think the room used to be two and they took out a wall. Showers were small, with only about a one foot opening on the diagonal, so you had to be quite thin to comfortably get in and move about. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are lots of little restaurants etc along the street and around the corner. The tram is a 2 minute walk and convenient to get around. Breakfast was hard boiled eggs, croissents, fruit, yogurt, so you could get enough to fill you. For the price it was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just stayed in this hotel for four nights.

Room: we had a large room. Simple, but clean. The bathroom had a jacuzzi and there was a small kitchen unit (but without pots, pans or even plates or glasses). The tv didn't work but we didnt't bother asking to get this fixed. We were travelling with three couples (and two children) and we had by far the best room. One was equally large, but only had a shower, the third one was tiny, so make sure you get one of the bigger rooms.

The hotel is close to a trainstation but noise isn't a problem and our room was at the front. We did have noisy neighbours in the room next to us but that's just bad luck.

Location: the tram stops at the end of the street, train station is about a seven minutes' walk. We used the tram a lot, in brings you to the city center in about ten minutes. We also rented a car for two days and we we'r glad the hotel wasn't right in the center because parking was a lot easier.
There are some nice restaurants in the street, so that's convenient.

Breakfast: as always in Italy not the highlight of the day. They had eggs and cheese and for Italy, that's a lot. But after four nights, another kind of fruit or yoghurt would have been nice.

What we did miss, was a bar in the hotel and the internet didn't seem to work a the higher floors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam. Holland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is just on the edge of the centre. But we did walk to the duomo once. Through the park and past brera. Around the corner is the tram. Every 5min during the day. Great old historic trams from 1930s. Still in use for several lines. Great! Hotel is clean and beds were good. Triple room had 2 bathrooms and was big. Wifi not very good. Only near the reception. Breakfast choises enough and well maintained.quiet area. For this price i would recommend it for people who dont mind to be a little out of the centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Scala Nord in the beginning of september during a conference at the conference center MiCo. The location of the hotel was very good since it was located approximately a 10 min walk from MiCo. If I wanted go to Milano downtown I could just take the tram which also was located nearby the hotel.

The hotel itself was almost a disaster. The singel-bedroom was so small so I could barely fit. In september it was very sunny and hot in Milano, BUT the AC did not work properly, so my bedroom became almost a greenhouse.

I spoke to the staff in the reception and they told me that my AC worked accordingly, so I had to stick to my broken AC.

The view from my room was dreadful - a brick wall.

But, on the other hand my single bedroom was cheap. So I guess that I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for the exhibition, they have 2 great staff working in the front desk, they are from philipines and i think they also said they are sisters, nice and friendly , always helpful and smiling, smooth check in, the room was a bit old, toilet a bit cramped,

breakfast was very basic, but guys this is a 3 star. wifi is free, thats a big plus.

all in all for what i paid am happy to get, the location was also great a big plus, tram 1 next door and great restaurants and pubs at walking distance, Pizza ok is a great pizzeria at a close distance as well.

would definately try here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scala Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scala Nord

Address: Via Francesco Ferruccio 10/A, 20145 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scala Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Scala Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scala Nord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scala Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.