We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel, grand hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi to your Saves list
NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Melchiorre Gioia, 6 | Porta Nuova, Porta Garibaldi, Corso Como, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Verdi) (Isola)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #88 of 432 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel, grand hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

It can be difficult to find good hospitality and service in a big city without a big price tag. Not so at the Grand Hotel Verdi in Milan. My wife and I have found their hoteliers to be nothing short of first class in their aptitude, professionalism, timeliness, and general friendliness of exchange. The staff of a hotel are its heart and define its hospitality, and the Grand Hotel Verdi has much of both! We will recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    247
    80
    25
    21
See reviews for
68
155
29
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel does not live up to today's standards, especially given the above-average NH rates they charge. The rooms are very big (too big...) but need refurbishing and a bit of charm - as does the entire hotel.
Staff is friendly though, and no complaints on cleanliness, but I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam, netherlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is good value for money and also offers free wifi plus a small gym, but otherwise it is not very attractive. The grand in the name is of historical interest only, and everything is rather bare and slightly run down. the restaurant is indifferent and frequented by single, rather depressed business people, just how I felt staying here.
Locatation is on a busy, ugly street just opposite the tax police, but close to the metro and trendy nightlife 500m away in Corso Como.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in the NH Grand Hotel Verdi on a girls weekend, the room was huge and really clean as was the bathroom. There was a walk in wardrobe with a full length mirror and lots of storage space.
Situated about a 20 minute walk into Milan centre and 5 minutes to the nearest Metro.

We didn't have any dealings with staff other than to check in and out, the breakfast staff kept the items topped up although they did only seem to have about 10 teapots (Which I guess is only an issue when you have British people staying) Breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit, juices, pastries, breads and cooked breakfast. There were also salads and cooked vegetables if you wanted them.

The hotel was very quiet, we had no issues with noise from either inside or out, however our friend next door did say she could hear us talking from her wardrobe. (I don't know why she was in the wardrobe listening to us talk!)

The only fault I could find was a sign telling you to hang your towel if you would re use, we did and they were changed every day but they didn't need to be. Another friend said that she'd opened a disposable toothbrush and a bath sponge which had been removed and replaced the next day. It seems very wasteful.

Otherwise a great place to stay for the money, not particularly luxurious but for a weekend city break it was great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Convenient hotel close to metro and central station, only a 20 minute walk from milan centre. Staff were polite, but not particularly efficient or friendly. Our room was massive and spotless. Good sized bathroom and an excellent range of toiletries/soaps/sponges/nail files free for guests to use. Beds were confortable. Breakfast buffet had everything you could possible want (although the brocolli juice and the steamed brocolli on offer seemed a bit odd).

Only 2 small issues:

There was a sign in the rooms asking customers to hang their towels up if they did not need washing to try to save energy. Every day we hung our towels up as we were happy to use them again, but they replaced the towels anyway - seemed a bit of a waste. And we couldn't work out why some rooms didn't have tea making facilites when others did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

not great from outside as someone else said but rooms are OK - but very noisy both inside and out. reception small and noisy, but easy enough to get taxi via hotel. Assume 40 mins to Linate airport, Wifi expensive. For business its OK but thats it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is on the outside not particularly welcoming but once inside is ok, check in is smooth and efficient and the lift small and any more than four with bags are a crowd. The rooms are large with an almost mini suite feel but need updating and the furniture is a bit old. The bed is fine but the TV is on the wall and to small as its a long way away. Some very dodgy wall paper in part of the room is completely unnecessary and makes it look more dated. Bathroom is fine the shower works but the sink is small. Breakfast is ok but not spectacular with flabby bacon and rubbery scrambled egg and I would recommend sticking to the continental which is adequate but not great.
It claims to be a four star but I would put it firmly in the three star and has the feel of it may have been better ten years ago. Is it fine, yes it is but it's not four star but the price for Milan in reasonable. Would I stay again, no as I think there may be better about for the money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi

Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia, 6 | Porta Nuova, Porta Garibaldi, Corso Como, 20124 Milan, Italy (Formerly NH Grand Hotel Verdi)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Isola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Milan
#48 Family Hotel in Milan
#59 Business Hotel in Milan
#63 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#97 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi is a modern and stylish hotel located right in Milan’s Garibaldi-Repubblica commercial and financial district, near the Porta Garibaldi train station and within short walking distance to the Gioia underground station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.