We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but Uncomfortable Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Grand Hotel Verdi

Save Saved
You added NH Grand Hotel Verdi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Grand Hotel Verdi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Melchiorre Gioia 6, 20124 Milan, Italy (Isola)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special from €69
Ranked #131 of 432 hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location but Uncomfortable Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Room was huge & looked different from the photographs posted from their website. The cleanliness was poor & furnitures in the room including the bathroom looked old. Heater was off as weather earlier before Easter holiday was warm & hot. As weather suddenly turned cold, the hotel was unable to switch on the heater as being removed by air-con. The room was freezing cold. Did not enjoy the stay in this hotel although the location was near to Milan city shopping area. As we rented a car to drive around in Milan, the hotel parking charges were just too expensive at Euro 21 per day. We ended up park the car on the main road parking lots. Only plus points for this hotel are friendly staffs & buffet breakast was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    189
    65
    19
    20
See reviews for
41
117
23
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during Easter for a week and enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is in good location with around 10-15 minutes walking distance to 2 metro stations (Gioia and Repubblica) and 1 major train/metro station (Porta Garibaldi - Malpensa Express direct to/from airport) which make access to centre and Malpensa Airport very easy.

The room is clean and large with good bedding. The breakfast is inclusive and with good variety. However, there is no kettle for hot water in the standard room which is very unusual given this is a four stars hotel. It means whenever you need hot water then you will need to purchase it from the bar on ground floor. I believe self making facilities for basic tea and coffee should be provided inside the room or at least with a kettle !

Overall, the hotel is good with good location, interior layout and modern. There is also a small gym on first floor which I used it daily before breakfast. Internet at charges and expensive but the hotel provide free wi-fi access for 30 minutes each day in the lobby area.

The surrounding area of the hotel is very quite, safe and clean and there are two streets nearby with good variety of local restaurants which are the "Via Solferino - for dining" and "Coso Como - for bar/clubs" within 10 mins walking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I am staying in this hotel almost on every trip to Milano. The reason is that i like the area very much, and it has really big rooms. Another important fact is that you can always find a parking place in the area.
During my last trip with my wife, i noted that it has been recently renovated, and I was really curious to see the hotel's new face. To be honest, no major renovation has be made since my last trip, except from the rooms, where the beds are new and some decoration has gone. I really love the fact that the rooms are very spacious, (specially in Milano this is a must when you plan to go for shopping and you need enough room for your new clothes :) Two negative things. First beware of the noise, especially in the lower floors, since the street is really noisy during day time, and the second thing that I have to mention regards the breakfast. I really enjoyed breakfast buffet on the hotel during my previous visits, since it offered a great variety of food. I must say that this time I was disappointed because the buffet was much smaller, with less variety in comparison with other years. Nevertheless i still consider it a good hotel and i will definetely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Other than Luca at the front desk and one or two of the female staff members, the people were not very welcoming. The breakfast was nice each day with a variety of juices, breads, eggs, etc. Then there was the day we came in a half hour before the end, sat at a table, I reached for the linen napkin and the waiter yanked it out of my hands to replace it with a paper one. Apparently, that table had already been set for lunch!

The rooms all face a very busy street because the hotel is narrow. If you are a light sleeper at all, like I am, this is not good. Even with ear plugs and the windows closed, it is very noisy.

The internet was high-speed wi-fi and worked well, if expensive (18E for 24 hours). Because I work virtually when I travel with my husband for his job, this is very important, so it was nice to find it reliable.

The hotel is a mile or so from the train station, but I wouldn't recommend the walk with luggage. It is maybe a quarter mile from the Metro, which is as easy to use as the one in Washington, DC. The hotel is close to restaurants, although we mostly chose to walk the mile and half into the city center and eat in that area.

The room had nice bath amenities and a nice shower. It was clean.

The hotel restaurant is very expensive. I was the only one having lunch there one day, had a caprese salad, bowl of soup and water and it was 26E. Yikes.

So, all in, it won't be my top choice on a return trip to Milan, but neither would it be awful to have to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Verdi for 4 days.

Location: excellent for Centrale, convenient for Cadorna, within the walking distance to Brera and a short taxi ride to the centre. Also this is not a tourist area so all restaurants and cafes near via Como or Garibaldi are frequented by the locals which gives a great feel to the area.

Room: go for the superior room as it is decorated in a better style than a standard. It was great to have a sitting area as well as the dining area. Certain things in the room did not work: i.e. lamps - we reported to the Reception and everything was repaired within a day. Sheets and towels were of a very good quality and changed daily. I would have wished the floor was mopped with a wet cloth but instead it was just "dusted" with a dry mop. Our room was on the street side and it wasn't noisy at all. The air conditioning worked well.

Breakfast: very good.

Coffee: very good.

Professionalist of the staff: very good.

Bathroom: clean with excellent supplied of shampoos, shaving kits, sponges, etc. etc.

Walk-in closet: absolutely excellent!! it was great for getting changed, storing clothes and keeping suitcases out of sight.

Notes: our stay would have been excellent if the room had been given a more thorough clean, especially the walls. As usual with hotels, there were dirty marks all over... a simple lick of paint every now and then would do the trick: it doesn't cost much, doesn't take much of an effort but the results would be worth it. Also the couch was not particularly clean which made a bad impression.

Overall: very good and comfortable hotel. I just wish the management inspected the rooms more often and took action to ensure there are no multiple unpleasant dirty marks on the walls all over the room.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before choosing the one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were spent 4 days May 2011 and we were satisfied all facilities of NH Grand Hotel Verdi. Especially breakfeast was very very good.
During our visit we had very good Italian foods (pasta, pizza, tiramisu...). Weather was so good for Milan.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the NH Grand Hotel Verdi for 4 nights between 30/12/2011 and 3/1/2011.
The room is large and clean with a small sitting area. The bathroom is big and nice. However, the restaurant is only open for b'fast and dinner only, but it was very impressive that the hotel did provide sparking water, juice and coffee machine etc. just right outside the restaurant for guests in the afternoon. The hotel staff is friendly and informative. Even the locationi is a bit away from the metro station, but we still enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Grand Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Grand Hotel Verdi

Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 6, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Isola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Milan
#88 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#99 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Grand Hotel Verdi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Grand Hotel Verdi is a modern and stylish hotel located right in Milan's Garibaldi-Repubblica commercial and financial district, near the Porta Garibaldi train station and within short walking distance to the Gioia underground station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your NH Grand Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Grand Hotel Verdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.