We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Yard - Must Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yard Suite & Dependance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Yard Suite & Dependance to your Saves list
The Yard Suite & Dependance
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Piazza 24 Maggio, 8, 20123 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“The Yard - Must Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It was an unforgettable experience! We have never been in such a hotel. Its a five star boutique hotel. So unique , homey and comfortable. Very clean, the rooms are good size for European standards.

Staff is so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

It makes us very happy you find your stay with us an unforgettable experience!
Thank you for taking time to write us a review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Yard in the fututre.

Our kindet regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    64
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
62
129
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Yard. The decor was fantastic, our room was spacious and comfortable (the Penthouse) for my husband, daughter, and myself. Our only wish would be that the spacious suite-like room would have had a complete wall (rather than a wall with a large cut-out) between the bedroom and sitting room areas. That way, my daughter could have had more privacy and the bedroom would have been a bit more separated from the TV. The Penthouse had a spacious balcony area, and we did not notice any noise from other rooms or the outside.

The common areas downstairs are spacious and comfortable, with multiple semi-private sitting areas including one with a big screen TV which had an American news channel, as well as the World Cup games in the evenings. Since we were traveling by over-night trains, we arrived early and departed late, so we appreciated being able to enjoy the common areas and free wifi both before and after check in/out. The staff were friendly and helpful - it remains to be seen if the owner's prediction of Argentina to win the World Cup will hold!

Overall, my only complaint about The Yard are the multiple emails I have received in the last few days 'reminding' (begging?) me to review the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind words.
We are delighted you liked our decor and service.

As for the mail requesting a review, we apologize for that. They where sent out multiple times due to a system error, we completely understand that was bothering.
We very much like to hear our Guests thoughts about us, but absolutely do not want to make anyone feel forced to write.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This unique hotel filled with antiques and collectors items was a simply amazing place to stay in bustling Milan. We were traveling with two small children and were concerned about the suitability of the hotel but for no reason.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

we are delighted you and your family enjoyed you stay with us.
Thank you for writing a review and letting us know what you think.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Can't say enough about this place. It's a little on the pricey side, but I felt it was money well spent. Great neighborhood, near excellent restaurants and bars, delicious breakfast, spotless rooms, and helpful employees. I had vintage skis and sleds in my room! And quite possibly the best shower in Milan. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Madam,

wondeful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
Thank you for lettin gus know yout thoughts on The Yard.

hope to welcome you back some day!

Kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My expectations were way too high after reading these reviews. My mom and I arrived to The Yard about 30 mins after our taxi driver dropped us off close by but not right in front of the hotel (which is not right on the street but slightly further back). We literally wandered north, then south over and over as we could not find the hotel (in the rain with our heavy luggage too). No one (not even business owners in the area) knew where this place was. Not off to a good start. I was lucky enough to get a business owner to call the Yard and I asked the receptionist to meet us at the nearby McDonalds and take us to the hotel.

When we arrived, our room was ready early (thank goodness because we were soaked). We were staying in the "Touch-Down" football room. It was on the main floor (which when I reserved I asked for a room NOT on the main floor). When we entered the room, it was quite small and although the décor inside was cool, it was painted a dark green colour which made the room even smaller looking. There was also a patio but it was very tiny- not enough room for 2 people to enjoy at the same time. The bathroom was the only thing about the room that I was impressed with. The shower was amazing (but don't pull the cord that is hanging in there because apparently that is the "help I've fallen and I can't get up" alarm) I mistook it for the light switch, because there were literally 7 different sets of light switches.

Some positives: Free wifi that worked well, the décor is like everyone says (very very cool), loved the personal family feel of the place including their dog :) Thought the bar and hang out area was very trendy and cool. The outdoor patio in the front was very inviting but never busy unfortunately (could have been a cool hang out scene at night). Location was great (besides not originally being able to find the place). It was about a 15 mins walk from the Duomo and the subway is not too far away. Lots of cool bars a little further north with a young professional crowd.

Some crappy things- no free water, a million light switches, incredibly thin walls (World Cup was on at full volume at 12 midnight and we could definitely hear our neighbours having sex! Hilarious but not when you just took a 12 hour flight and are exhausted). Also the free breakfast is just alright. It only consists of cookies and croissants, coffee and juice (the juice was amazing though) Anything else, there was a charge. I thought the customer service was just alright too. Finally, there was no river visible as there was a ton of construction going on outside the front.

At $456 Euros for 2 nights, booked on booking.com, this hotel did not blow me away. If you are staying here, check your high expectations at the door and perhaps the experience will be amazing. Would I return? No, probably not.

Room Tip: Don't chose a room near the living room (where the T.V is) Walls are thing and it can get loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for writing a review on you experience with us, yout thoughts are very valuable to us.
We know it is a little tricky to find us, especially since the city is having work done at the square in front of us. Thus no river visible, this is a constuvtion of the city of Milan, we have no say in this matter!
I rememer when you arrived, it was pooring down! I was the one who met up with you.

It's a shame we did not have the information of your request of higher floor, this probably could have been arranged at the moment of check in had it been asked ( depending on availability ).
We have several sollutions of rooms, if large space is desired, there are other larger sollutions.

Once more, thank you for letting us know your thoughts o nThe Yard.

Kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in The Yard for our 2 night stay in Milan, and could not have been happier with the accommodations and staff. Our stay coincided with my husband's birthday and the amazing staff made him feel like a king. They welcomed us with an upgrade to the nautical themed Penthouse suite, our kids stayed in the stylish car racing themed suite. When we asked the concierge for dinner suggestions she pointed us in the direction to the best italian restaurant we ate at the entire trip (she even told the restaurant that it was my husbands birthday so they surprised us with a 'Happy Birthday' song and cake). The included breakfast was perfect for us, cappuccino, croissant, yogurt, toast and marmalade and hard boiled eggs, but there were other items you could order if you were looking for more. They even brought out a coffee cake with a candle for another round of 'Happy Birthday' with breakfast.

The decor in the lobby was absolutely amazing, and we enjoyed wandering around looking at all the memorabilia while having a fabulous cocktail from the bar (the only place in Italy I was able to get a real Moscow Mule, copper mug and all!). The staff was also extremely helpful in assisting us with our travel arrangements for the next day including suggestions on where to go, how to get there and even where to store our luggage.

Truly a fantastic experience in Milan!!

Room Tip: Let the staff know your favorite sport and you will get a room that will not disappoint with unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,

We are delighted you enjoyed you stay with us and that we where able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. When we get a chance to cuddle our Guests with some special attention it is our pleasure!
Thank you for wirting your thoughts on us, and we are very glad you appreciated the particular details in our hotel and our services.

Our very kindest regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

we stayed for two nights in the canoe room, it's very spacious, has a huge boxspring double bed and even has a second bedroom with two single beds. very clean, high quality furniture and textiles, flatscreen tv, nespresso machine with two complimentary capsules daily. wifi fast, easy and reliable. staff very friendly and helpful, not overbearing. shower/bathroom with good quality products. the hotel is in a good location, it's a 10-15 minutes walk to the metro station porta genova, but you can also easily walk to the duomo. breakfast was all new when we stayed there and despite the lack of fresh fruit, we were happy with it. i enclose a photo, so you can check it out. we will definitely chose this cute hotel again next time we're shopping in milan.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Responsabile reception at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

we are delighted you enjoyed you stay with us and found your room comfortable.
Thank you for writing a few words on our Hotel, the feedback from our Guests means alot to us.

Our kindest regards,

Lisa
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Yard Suite & Dependance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Suite & Dependance

Address: Piazza 24 Maggio, 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Suite & Dependance 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ralph is an elegant concept house located in the heart of Milan, near Duomo, shopping and design district.It's based on 7 Suites(30/40 sqm.) and 5 Suite Apartements(45/75 sqm); 2 of the Suite Apartement are fully equipped with design kitchen, executive corner and terrace.Services: cleaning(twice a day), front desk 24h, parking garage, laundry service, baby sitting, personal chef, packing and unpacking assistance, pick up from/to airport, bike rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Yard Suite & Dependance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yard Suite & Dependance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.