We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Yard Suite & Dependance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Yard Suite & Dependance to your Saves list
The Yard Suite & Dependance
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Piazza 24 Maggio, 8, 20123 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Personalized Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This 20-room boutique hotel is located in the trendy Navigli district of Milan. The hotel is tucked away in a small courtyard making it difficult to find but definitely worth it. The eclectic decor is filled with multiple artifacts. For example, seating in the reception area consists of barber chairs; there is a drum set in the front window and hunter’s boots and ski racquets in the lobby.
The hotel is in close proximity to good restaurants along the canals, and about a half hour walk (or 8 Euro cab ride) to the Duomo.
Our accommodations (penthouse, suite 2) were tastefully appointed, comfortable and spacious. We also had a private balcony facing the front of the building. It rained while we were there, so unfortunately we didn’t get to enjoy the balcony and outdoor furniture.
The Yard is a family-owned establishment. Service is extremely personalized albeit casual. Stefania and Maria went that extra mile to make our stay extra special by getting us tickets to Da Vinci's Last Supper (a must), recommending local restaurants and arranging for a driver to take us to Malpensa.
Breakfast is set up in the lobby area. Guests sit together at a large harvest table which is impeccably set with fine dishes, utensils and linens. The offering consists of savoury and sweet foods; your choice of coffee is served at the table. I was told that the delicious sweet treats are homemade daily by Stefania. Complimentary bottled water, juice and snacks are available throughout the day. A very nice touch.
Overall it was a wonderful stay, although not inexpensive.
A word of caution: if you plan on dining on a terrace along the canal, beware of mosquitos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Agnes_Pierre,

We are very delighted to hear that you and your loved one spent such relaxing days here at our hotel and enjoyed the selection of our breakfast, and our relaxing Maison. We look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back for another inspiring moment with us.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    54
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
55
116
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are looking for something different this is your place. A B&B tastefully decorated with a modern touch, hosts that are extremely friendly, a highly convenient location, rooms that are equipped with the newest faucets and showers, everything comes together in a place that makes you feel at home. Worthwhile to be mentioned is that the whole building is not at the street, therefore everything is quiet, Add to that a super breakfast, the proximity to Naviglia and some good restaurants and you don't need to look anywhere else.
The only critique is something that happens in many hotels. Why do they need to charge 6 Euros for a can of Sprite in the room fridge? This should be a convenience for the guest, not a profit area.
To their credit I have to say that when I mentioned this, the charge was cancelled!
Bravo for them!

Room Tip: We had Winch which is large and comfortable. They have now several new rooms to be inaugarated as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Carlos L,

We are so pleased to note that you had such a good time and impressed with our hotel and felt comfortable with the room and our breakfast. Your valuable feedbacks are really appreciated. We have taken into account the aspects you mentioned as we continuously strive to bring a better value of our service delivery. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Believe me this place is worth trying to find! My husband and I drove past the entrance three times EVEN when our navigation system told us we had arrived! My best advice it to look for the McDonald's on one corner and a coffee shop across the street at the Piazza 24 Maggio and then proceed one half block and look for a small black name plate on the wall. There are gates that must be entered and then even when you get into the parking garage you cannot find where to proceed for check-in. This, however, is the only bad thing I can say about this quaint, boutique hotel! The rooms were beautiful - so different! It is a place that you will not forget! The service from Stephania and other staff members was wonderful. They were very kind - always ready to help with a smile. The breakfast was beautiful and delicious and the hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Duomo and the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Dascfp,

We are pleased to note that you and your loved one had such a good time at our hotel and to hear that both of you were impressed with the service delivery of our team. I will share your kind words to the entire team and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your loved one back again at the hotel for another memorable and relaxing experience.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Like almost all reviewers, we found this hotel a bit difficult to find. In fact, our taxi driver from the local Metro station did not know where it was. Eventually we found it, and it is in fact in a very nice location. It's away from the center but only a 5-10 minute tram ride away from the Duomo (however, it is not very close to any of the metro stations). It was a very interesting neighborhood with many nearby restaurants.
Our room was large, though a bit quirky, with lots of memorabilia. It did not open to the outside so we had to use the air-conditioning 9(which we don't like to do) even though the weather was perfect when we were there. The shower was very nice; though the sink did not drain properly. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was OK, but not as extensive as it could be for a hotel of that price.
The hotel is just finishing a large addition, that will make it more of a 5-star facility and it will be interesting to see if it changes the character of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Richlo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know of your valuable experiences. We appreciate your valuable feedback which we will continuously strive to bring a better value and quality of our service delivery for you to enjoy on your next visit. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and to experience with our 11 brand new hotel rooms.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, N.Y.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Originally planned to spend only 2 nights in Milan but the hospitality and comfort and design and collection of odd "objets d'art" around the premises seduced me into extending my stay to five nights. Stephania, who seems to be the manager of the hotel, couldn't have been warmer and the owner himself was delightfully charming to chat with. I can see why he said that The Yard wasn't a hotel: it was so much more personal and personable than any I've ever stayed in. The Yard is about a 20 minute walk to The Duomo but just across the large square that it is on are a series of canals which seems to be a hub for artists and new restaurants. For a perspective on Milan that is different from the ones offered by the same old hotels i would highly recommend trying The Yard .
Glyn. New York

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Proprietario at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Glyncas,

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation for our service and facilities. We consider all your feedback very valuable and will strive to meet the specific needs of our valuable guests such as yourself. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromana, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel was not easy to find. Once the gates were opened and we were in the yard the entrance to the hotel was also difficult to find. Reception is located by going upstairs, walking through an outdoor are and entering a room that has no sign to indicate where reception is.
All that aside we had a pleasant stay in a delightful room with very charming decor. The breakfast smells were very enticing and we were treated to a scrumptious feast to start the day.

I would recommend this hotel to travellers for a very comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Direttore vendite at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jane C,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed your room and our breakfast. We strive for the best to provide quality services to our guests, and will work continuously on introducing some more Milanese experience at our hotel that you will be able to enjoy in your next visit. As for our entrance, we made a big improvement hence we look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at The Yard for another relaxing experience. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from Milan holiday and what a good choice to stay in this Nice hotel. Lovely people, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast. Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Direttore vendite at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear No_idea_at_all,

It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family had such a good time with us and enjoyed our hotel. Thank you so much for sharing your valuable experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yard Suite & Dependance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Suite & Dependance

Address: Piazza 24 Maggio, 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Suite & Dependance 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ralph is an elegant concept house located in the heart of Milan, near Duomo, shopping and design district.It's based on 7 Suites(30/40 sqm.) and 5 Suite Apartements(45/75 sqm); 2 of the Suite Apartement are fully equipped with design kitchen, executive corner and terrace.Services: cleaning(twice a day), front desk 24h, parking garage, laundry service, baby sitting, personal chef, packing and unpacking assistance, pick up from/to airport, bike rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Yard Suite & Dependance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yard Suite & Dependance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.