We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place. . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yard Suite & Dependance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Yard Suite & Dependance to your Saves list
The Yard Suite & Dependance
4.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Piazza 24 Maggio, 8, 20123 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place. . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay in Milan en route to Lake Como. Travelling as a family of four (kids aged 20 and 15).

The excellent service started when we made the initial phone call, Stefanie listened to our requirements and recommended the perfect accommodation for us.

On arrival we did struggle to find the hotel even with the use of a sat nav. Make sure you look for a small plaque on the wall rather than the hotel frontage as the hotel is set back behind gates and not instantly recognisable. The hotel has underground parking for a reasonable 20 euros per night.

On arrival we were greeted by Stefanie who really is the perfect hostess. The reception area is incredibly stylish and full of interesting artefacts and fabulous books.

Our room, the penthouse, was themed in a nautical style. When we travel we like to stay in accommodation where we are all together and this suited us perfectly. The room felt more like an apartment with a kitchen area, bathroom and two separate but open plan sleeping areas. There is also a very pretty and private sun terrace.

In the morning breakfast is served around one big communal table with a very good and varied continental breakfast. This added to the feeling of intimacy rather than the impersonal experience in most hotels.

All the staff we encountered were lovely and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. Even the hotel dog Pina was very welcoming and made the hotel feel more like a home.

The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the Duomo and shopping areas and just a few minutes stroll from the canals that come to life in the evening.

As a family that have done a lot of travelling together, we would highly recommend The Yard and when we revisit Milan will look no further than this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Direttore vendite at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Ninaden,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a thorough review with us and for your kind words about our service and facilities. It is a great pleasure to have you and your family with us and to hear that all of you had such a great experience from arrival to departure. We take your valuable feedback seriously, we will do our best to bring a better value of our service delivery. We look forward to welcoming you and your family for another inspiring stay and to also experience our new Sala Cinema.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    61
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
125
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The owners made us felt at home immediately when we arrived. The rooms are spacious and clean and very child-friendly. Love the breakfast area where we all sit together with other guests and share our travel experience every morning. The hotel dog Pina was like the mascot - going around to greet everyone. I would definitely go back again and recommend everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, Direttore vendite at The Yard Suite & Dependance, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Wendy Y,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and for complimenting our rooms as a child-friendly accomodation. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another memorable stay and to experience with another 10 brand new hotel rooms that you and your family will be able to enjoy in your next visit.

Gina Fernando
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of the Duomo, fantastic shopping, public transport, the canals and delicious restaurants. The second you walk into the lobby, you know you've arrived somewhere special. It is a feast for the eyes with vintage fashion icon pieces, such as Louis Vuitton suitcases, framed Vogue covers, designer table books, antique sports paraphernalia, vintage furniture, etc. It's amazing. You might want to move in for good. The staff is so kind and friendly. Steffanie and Maria are as good as they come with restaurant recommendations and directions for getting there. Or for any little thing you might need. You won't find better service anywhere. The rooms are huge! So much space to spread out. And again, the decor is amazing, the beds are big and comfy. Our room had a button to push and a blackout screen came down. we accidentally slept until 10:30 the first day. such a great sleep. The bathrooms are big too. Everything is very clean! There are cookies, pastries, water and juice upon arrival. The breakfast is fantastic with eggs, meats, cheese, bread, pastries, fruit, any kind of coffee drink, juice, water & milk. Yummy! They helped us hire a car service from the airport and the driver turned a 50-minute ride into 25...if you like saving time, let them book the car service for you. Haha! Stay here. It's fantastic!! Made our experience perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife, myself and another couple very much enjoyed our brief one-night stay at The Yard. As others have noted, we were welcomed like family by Maria and Stefanie (and adorable hotel dog, Pina, who we loved). Our accomodations were spacious and spotless (we stayed in the "tennis" suite and our friends in the "hunting" suite (think antlers!)). Plenty of outlets, high-tech lighting and electronic window shades, spacious well-equipped bathroom, Nespresso machine. The funky boutique mood of the hotel suited our group very nicely and we enjoyed a cocktail (mixed by Maria) on the comfy couches in the visually fascinated lobby filled with sporting equipment, high-fashion art and books of every description. Prior to our arrival, Maria and the owner had been a great help in arranging dinner for us (see separate review of Al Garghet, which we loved). We left early in the morning, before breakfast was to be served, and Stefanie was so kind to rush to assemble some delicious food for us. Parking was convenient in a secure garage beneath the hotel. All in all a fun and funky retreat in the middle of the bustling city with a wonderful, caring staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had a WOW moment when I walked into the lobby of The Yard & Dependence. The collection of vintage skis, photographs, polo equipment, wooden tennis racquets and other memorabilia was beyond impressive. For those who appreciate antique silver serving dishes and utensils, you will be impressed. I loved the quirky decorative items: a Superman bank and a pommel horse to just name a couple. I was in Milan for one night after being in the Como area for 10 days. We were flying out of Linate the next morning. What a great place to spend our last night in Italy. All three women who were working reception were very kind and helpful. I loved our room. We had a king bed and a queen pullout sofa. The bathroom was large. The shower had a big glass wall to keep water from getting into the rest of the bathroom.

The breakfast was exceptional and the table was beautiful. I loved the hotel dog, Pina. She fit right in with the décor. Will stay again.

The ride from Milan Centrale to the hotel for three was 13.20 euro. The ride to Linate the next morning was a little over 22 euro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

One word: awesome. We stayed in the Yard Suite and Dependance in mid-July 2013 for 3 nights, after a trip to Switzerland where we had stayed in three different hotels (including a lovely one in St Moritz). The Yard Suite and Dependence experience was the best, bar none. Check-in was easy. We booked a suite, and was delightfully assigned to the JFK Suite on the 2nd floor. The suite is spacious, with a large living room, a walk-in closet and a balcony. We particularly like the black and white decor. The bed is huge and comfy. There are an expresso machine and a mini-bar (drinks, no snacks). Water is charged at 2,50 euro a bottle. WiFi is free, and worked perfectly fine throughout our stay. The bathroom is tastefully designed too, with a glass opening to the balcony. The toiletries are by CULTI, which are lovely. The towels are white and fluffy. Just perfect. Overall, from the public area to the suite we stayed, the hotel is clean and well maintained. And the breakfast! The choices are ample, and the food fresh and nicely prepared. Every morning there would be something different from the day before, which is a thoughtful touch for guests staying for more than one night. The Yard is not far from the metro station, but it will be easier to take the bus/tram (not sure; never used) number 3 from around the corner to Duomo. Alternatively a taxi ride to the Duomo area costs less than 10 euro. A big thank-you to the Yard. We enjoyed tremendously our stay, and will definitely be back when we are next in Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Yard was a fabulous place to stay in Milan. It's in a great location to explore the Navigli area of the city. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants right on the doorstep and only a short taxi ride from the Duomo.
The hotel itself is gorgeous with interesting furniture and décor at every turn. Our room was really spacious and comfortably fitted 3 girls staying there. Again beautifully decorated and with our own mini balcony!
Maria who runs the hotel couldn't have been more welcoming and fun and if the hotel itself wasn't so fabulous we could go back just to see Maria anyway! Luckily it's gorgeous so going back is an easy choice.
Couldn't recommend enough for a stay in Milan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yard Suite & Dependance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Suite & Dependance

Address: Piazza 24 Maggio, 8, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yard Suite & Dependance 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ralph is an elegant concept house located in the heart of Milan, near Duomo, shopping and design district.It's based on 7 Suites(30/40 sqm.) and 5 Suite Apartements(45/75 sqm); 2 of the Suite Apartement are fully equipped with design kitchen, executive corner and terrace.Services: cleaning(twice a day), front desk 24h, parking garage, laundry service, baby sitting, personal chef, packing and unpacking assistance, pick up from/to airport, bike rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Yard Suite & Dependance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yard Suite & Dependance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.