We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for Alice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tours of Milan Private Tours

Tours of Milan Private Tours
Via Dante 14, 20121 Milan, Italy
+39 347 050 4208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 74 Tours & Activities in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours of Milan organizes private and small group tours of Milan and the surrounding areas. It is a team of local licensed tour guides speaking perfect English. No lines, no large groups.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ask for Alice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I can't really add much more than what everyone has already said. Our tour with Alice showed a side to Milan that we didn't expect. She is passionate about sharing her city with others and has a good depth of knowledge about the city and its art. Alice is charming with excellent English. She took us to a variety of places plus helped us to order at a great little food place. She also shared with us ideas for what we could do when our tour was over. Don't hesitate to book a tour with this company and do ask for Alice if you do.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    3
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Milan tour with Alice S”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was in Milan for the first time for only several days. I cannot imagine a better way to "get your bearings" that the tour with Alice. She brings so much knowledge and contagious enthusiasm about Milan's history, art, architecture, cuisine that at the end of the 3 hours I too felt passionately about this city.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Last supper tour with Alice Salvagnin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We engaged Alice Salvagnin, who is a Licenced Tour Guide with Milan Private Tours, to act as our guide for viewing Leonardo Da Vinci's 'Last Supper' which takes up a refectory wall in a Dominican Covent next to the church of Santa Maria delle Grazie.

Alice identified each of the apostle's and shared her wide knowledge of the fresco with us. On the opposite wall is another fresco, by Donato Montorfano, of the 'Crucifixion' which Alice explained to us in detail. She also recommended we visit some other little known but not to be missed sights in Milan.

Alice is an exceptional guide.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Private Tour with Alice worth the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My family and I (2 adults, 3 teens, 1 child) only had 12 hours in Milan on our way to Paris, so we opted for a private tour to maximize our time.  We arranged for a 3 hour tour with Private Tours of Milan based on Trip Advisor reviews and Alice contacted us immediately to begin making arrangements.  The pre-tour communications were clear and frequent as we aligned on what we were going to see in our limited time.  We agreed to start the tour at Sforza Castle.  Alice has excellent command of the history of the castle and kept our children engaged by asking questions through out.  She was very knowledgeable of the artifacts in the museum and gave us many interesting facts about several pieces in the museum. The highlight was definitely the unfinished pieta, especially with Alice's insights.  We then walked to the Duomo, but on the way stopped at a "bar" for a short break and to sample some Milanese pastries and deserts.  As we walked through the city, she gave us interesting insights into the history and daily lives of Milanese.  At Duomo, again, she had very interesting facts and tid bits about the cathedral, the stained glass windows, and the art pieces inside, especially the statue of St. Bartholomew.  After Duomo, we went to the Galleria and participated in the Milanese tradition of spinning on our heels for one year of good luck.  This is one of the many local things we definitely would have missed without a tour guide.  We ended our tour at the statue of Da Vinci in front of the famous Opera House.  Before we left, We told Alice we had time for dinner in Milan.  She recommended and made reservations for us at a great restaurant on the canal with excellent Milanese risotto and lamb.  That meal (and the canal area) was also one of the highlights of our trip.  Overall, it was well worth the cost of the private tour.  We wouldn't have been able to enjoy as much of Milan with the limited time we had without the skill and insight of or tour guide, Alice Salvagnin.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“#italianstuffyouhavetogosee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Up until this tour I thought Milan was boring and had little to offer me, how wrong I was! Alice was fantastic and proved to be the best and I won't hesitate to take another tour with her next time we visit! Thanks again Alice!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours of Milan Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tours of Milan Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tours of Milan Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.