We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uptown Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Uptown Palace to your Saves list
Uptown Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A quick overnight stop on our 'Grand Tour'. We only had hand luggage but the valet staff insisted on taking our one small back pack to our room. I'm guessing they live on their tips. Which my husband gave, despite feeling a little daft as he could have easily carried it himself. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The room was small but very nice. The bathroom was more generous and well equipped. The hotel is about a mile from the Duomo. It has a supermarket a few steps away, ideal for drinks and snacks that are often expensive from the minibar. Breakfast is well organised and looked good but the eggs and bacon were tasteless,(lest most of them) the worst we had on our trip and my husbands coffee was so weak he had to ask for another. He was told he had the last of the pot and that's why it was weak. Apologies given. The bread, pastries and croissants were all a little stale, also not eaten. The fruit, not all fresh, muesli and yogurt was o.k. Despite this it was a good, central overnight stop, with all the attractions we wanted to see within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    373
    74
    30
    14
See reviews for
120
371
32
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Terrific little hotel ideally situated. Close to transport links, good restaurants and a short walk, metro or tram ride away from from all the main culture and shopping venues.
Hotel was friendly, with multi lingual staff who are always willing to help. My classic room was a reasonable size with a very large and bathroom and quality fittings. The shower was large, modern and powerful. View was limited from 6th floor.
Hotel breakfast selection was outstanding. All nationalities catered for. Coffee a little slow to arrive on all 3 days and tables quite small for 2. Big rush of people for breakfast at around 10 made for an interesting queue by elevator doors but staff handled well.
Bar is good for a drink before dinner but VERY expensive. Gin and Tonic was 15 Euro...

All in all, a good 4* hotel in a sweet location. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wonderful hotel.... Two stops on the metro to the Duomo or a ten minute walk.
The bedroom was delightfully decorated with a modern decor. Staff were very helpful at the reception and breakfast was superb, the only thing I could fault was the wifi which wasen't available in the bedrooms. Apparently you could request a bedroom with a view of the Duomo when booking.. which would of been great... overall we had a great time in Milan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had a very good experience at this hotel, despite being hesitant at the time of booking. Went ahead with it, and it was a pleasant surprise. The room (3 person room) was in great condition, perfectly clean and sparkly, with the single bed tucked away in a nice cozy corner. It was sufficient in size. Bathroom was spacious as well, very modern, with stocked up amenities. Slippers were provided too. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, but not a major disappointment. The location is not quite perfect, but a 15 minute walk to the Duomo is still doable. The low point is probably the fact that there is no free wifi access all round the hotel. Instead, you need to ask for 30 minute vouchers at the reception each time. Apart from that, superb, and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Just loved that hotel. Nice and very clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. I will definitly come back to that hotel. Even though the hotel is 15-20 min walking to the domu, the internet is for free only in the lobby and the breakfast hall is not large enough. Every time you use the internet you have to stay in the lobby and take a username and password every 30 min. Each user name and password works only for 30 min. Rooms were very clean. Linens and towels were very clean as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The good:

Very clean, well appointed hotel.

Bar area is great, breakfast/lunch restaurant clean, well stocked and staff were good.

Room was very clean.

The whole place had an air of quality and was exceptionally well maintained. It felt new.

The made up brochure in the room:

"Steps from the Duomo" .. well, I can't argue, it was steps, just alot of them. Probably about a mile walk to the Duomo. Fair enough, I can take it on the chin, I should have checked a map to find exact distances prior to booking.
"Views of the Duomo" - perhaps some rooms do, but not ours. A not so lovely courtyard.

The bad:

I wasn't happy with the room as it looked out on a courtyard. We had booked a Deluxe room and reserved well in advance. I also checked the price online before going to reception as we were considering upgrading to a suite and found that the price for the same room we had was 160 euros less than we were paying for the duration of our stay (4 nights).

I articulated my dissatisfaction to the Duty Manager on reception and his attitude was exceptionally poor. No apology, no different options, no upgrade option, no reduction in price. He asked what I wanted but I felt it was up to the hotel to "do something"

My mistake again, they did nothing.

It certainly didn't spoil our time in Milan but it was a situation that was not resolved to our satisfaction. When we return to Milan, we will find another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Uptown Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uptown Palace

Address: Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Milan
#32 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Uptown Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uptown Palace is a 4-star superior business hotel in Milan. It is modern and elegant and situated a short walk from the Missori metro stop (yellow line), from Piazza Duomo and from Milan's famous shopping streets. The carefully chosen and highly qualified multilingual staff guarantee high levels of service and care for every guest. The Uptown Palace has 158 fully soundproofed rooms with LinoVivo sheets (the only hotel in Milan to offer these) and the latest mattresses. Floors in the rooms are parquet or carpet while those in the public areas are marble. Each room has LCD televisions and en suite bathrooms with shower or bathtub, together with fluffy robes, slippers, hairdryers and a stylish selection of toiletries. The Presidential Suite and four of the Executive suites have an atmospheric view of the Duomo and of the rooftops of busy Milan. Uptown Palace offers its guests a destination par excellence where every dream can come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Uptown Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Palace Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uptown Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.