We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uptown Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Uptown Palace to your Saves list
Uptown Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent hotel, very friendly and welcoming staff. Rooms clean and very modern and a great breakfast. Great Location, 10 min walk from the Duomo area and 5 min from the closest underground. I will definitely stay there every time I am in Milan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    370
    73
    30
    14
See reviews for
120
371
32
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel feels like a small boutique designer hotel. The staff always seemed helpful and friendly, in a Milanese sense of the word. The front door staff were always very pleasant. They always said 'hello' in a genuinely friendly manner and were eager to help us find a taxi or provide recommendations on good places to visit. This hotel is probably more suited to business travellers then leisure travellers. The breakfast was very good and again the staff were really friendly and helpful, they remembered exactly how we liked our coffee - these small touches made us feel welcome in an otherwise cold city (literally and figuratively). The Wifi situation is really bad though, we got 30 minutes free in the lobby, but the speed is unusable (it took facebook about 5 minutes to load 1 page and my emails took forever to come through). We ended up paying 12 EUR per day for the internet (exactly what they wanted!). This is probably the biggest problem with this hotel and might be the reason I don't return. Other then that though, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Approx 10 minutes walk from hotel to Duomo di Milano. A very helpful and friendly staff. They gave us a better room than booked - at 12th floor. Nice view, quiet (no traffic or other guests) very good bed, good cleaning, and a big bathroom. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in Italy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights here in January. For €300 a night the room was small, but well appointed. However if wifi service is important to you, as it is to us, forget this hotel. You have to pay for it, and the service is poor. The first room we were given (909 I think) had a great view of the Duomo but no wifi coverage at all. Reception put me in touch with the Internet provider, Swisscom, to try and resolve the problem. Question - why did I have to sort out the hotel's problem? The Swisscom lady was helpful but couldn't resolve the issue, so she spoke to reception who then relocated us to 708, where the wifi reception was better. Notwithstanding that, their wifi is set up so that you cannot use Facebook apps on your devices; you have to use the browser version, and even then the system won't let you upload anything other than text; images etc you can only download, and slowly. The system is very selective. Email service was okay both ways, but social networking - forget it. We use Skype for business contact when we're traveling. Totally unavailable at this hotel. Even in the foyer with the free service the same restrictions apply. When I queried it with reception I got the same runaround - I would have to sort it our with the provider!!
Did they have power adapters available? Yes sir, but you will have to buy the adapter. Can I use the business centre to print my boarding pass? Yes sir, but you will have to pay for it. Get the picture?
The saving grace for us with this hotel was the restaurant. Both the food and the service were excellent, really first class.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and was very impressed with the room and amenities.
The breakfast was good with lots of variety and staff were always helpful.
Its a great location for shopping and nightlife. We walked to the duomo and Porto Ticinese and Navigli and found the area felt safe at night. There is also a little supermarket nearby which was good for buying water.

The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the lack of wifi. You could ask for a password but this would only give you 30 minutes access on a very slow connection in the lobby area. I just wish all hotels had free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a business hotel, but we were in Milan for just one night which happened to be on a weekend and thus the rate was a little less. For us it was a great location, within walking distance of the Duomo. After staying in a number of B&B's on our journey, it was nice to have a modern hotel room with a large western style bathroom. The breakfast was very well done and a big spread. The only downside for us was that there was no free wifi in the room and the wifi in the lobby areas was spotty and you only got 30 minutes. Just not a good system. We would probably not consider staying at the higher rate during the week. But, on this trip and this day it was a great spot for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got a great deal on the Uptown Palace through Olotels. Booked a standard room, and was quite concerned that it would be tiny and unsightly. Fortunately, this turned out to be far from the case, as even our very basic room was a very comfortable size for two people and featured high quality amenties like a flat screen TV, biscuits on the bed at turndown, fluffy robes and slippers and a rainfall shower. Little details like that go a very long way and make this hotel excellent value for money, especially when compared to hotels of a similar calibre in Milan. Breakfast was very good and more than enough to keep us full through to the afternoon. Location was also great, approximately a 12 minute walk from the Duomo, which suited us fine as we did not want to be right in the thick of it. Staff were extremely gracious and helpful -- always on hand to call you a cab and put an umbrella over you if it was raining as you got into it. The immediate surroundings of the hotel are pleasant and there is a Carrefour just a couple of minutes away. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Milan who wants a bit of luxury and value for money. For a couple of twentysomething girls on a weekend break it was just perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Uptown Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uptown Palace

Address: Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Milan
#33 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#38 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Uptown Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uptown Palace is a 4-star superior business hotel in Milan. It is modern and elegant and situated a short walk from the Missori metro stop (yellow line), from Piazza Duomo and from Milan's famous shopping streets. The carefully chosen and highly qualified multilingual staff guarantee high levels of service and care for every guest. The Uptown Palace has 158 fully soundproofed rooms with LinoVivo sheets (the only hotel in Milan to offer these) and the latest mattresses. Floors in the rooms are parquet or carpet while those in the public areas are marble. Each room has LCD televisions and en suite bathrooms with shower or bathtub, together with fluffy robes, slippers, hairdryers and a stylish selection of toiletries. The Presidential Suite and four of the Executive suites have an atmospheric view of the Duomo and of the rooftops of busy Milan. Uptown Palace offers its guests a destination par excellence where every dream can come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Uptown Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Palace Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uptown Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.