We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost new hotel not quite Uptown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uptown Palace

Save Saved
You added Uptown Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uptown Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 432 hotels in Milan
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Almost new hotel not quite Uptown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

While this hotel calls itself “Uptown” it’s really about a 15 minute walk into the centre, as well as a bit of a hike to the nearest Metro.
The place appears to be almost brand new, which may explain the slight feeling of “disorganization” we experienced. Check-in seemed to take an age, although check-out was very quick and taxis were available promptly.
Our room was on the second floor facing the busy main road, but was reasonably quiet due to double glazing. The room (205) was large and well appointed, but with a couple of minor teething problems; the power point assembly falling out of the wall the most concerning. The bathroom was quite smart, with separate shower and bathtub and 2 washbasins. Although we booked a double room with KS bed (on Accor’s own site) what we got was 2 singles joined together with an uncomfortable gap in the middle; not quite the same.
Breakfast was OK, but each morning there were guests waiting for tables as the dining room was full around 9am when we arrived.
In room WiFi was 9 Euro/day. To avoid this opportunistic gouging take your passport to a local phone shop and get a data SIM for about 20 Euro for 2GB, which should last a month or more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    304
    58
    24
    9
See reviews for
100
317
25
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel has a new boutique feel and staff that want to help. The rooms are not huge but very modern, good beds and lots of great quality towels in the bathroom. The higher rooms are quiet. The bar is a good size with good and attentive service but the bar food is not impressive - the pizza was, surprisingly for Milan, very poor - all bready dough and no toppings - resembling a supermarket frozen variety. Soup was served cold. Suggest you eat at one of the great restaurants outside the hotel. Breakfast is okay - a range of hot and cold food - but nothing special. The first time I stayed I was given a room with a "bad drainage" smell coming from the bathroom - I had to change, which they did with no problem. Despite this it is a good place to stay in central Milan and I have returned twice since the first stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel is lovely, staff are helpful. Just a few areas that let it down.
- Double beds, are two singles pushed together so have a huge join in the middle.
- Wifi doesn't work.
- Hotel would not lend an iron! We had to wear creased clothes because we hadn't 'booked them into the ironing service'! Just ludicrous!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location for visiting Milan. Small but well equipped rooms and a good choice at breakfast

Arrived at 8pm after a long journey and given a room on the first floor, with little to no information given on the facilities offered by the hotel, or even a map which we later saw being offered to other guests checking in by exactly the same receptionist!! On the last night we were woken by an extremely noisy delivery before 5am. BEWARE, DO NOT ACCEPT A ROOM ON THE FIRST FLOOR.

On checkout, I was greeted with a bill of €80 for a bottle of champagne someone had ordered in my name. While i did not pay, I was very disappointed at the limited explanation and apology given for this. They really need to review their procedures for charging to rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uptownpalace, Operation Manager at Uptown Palace, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your past experience at the Uptown Palace, it is crucial for us in order to improve the level of our service.
What is most important for us is the quality of the service and we sincerely apologize if this time our staff was not able to provide what we offer to all our clients on a daily basis and you were assigned the room above the delivery entrance on a early morning delivery day .
With reference to the wrong charge for a bottle of champagne I am sorry for the inconvenient and for the attitude of the staff at check out time. We would have never let you pay something which was not ordered , but at the same time staff has duty to investigate and check the reason of the wrong charge. In order to avoid that such inconvenient may happen again, actions are in place in order to improve the room charge procedure.
We truly hope that this inconvenience did not completely spoil your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

My warmest regards

Alfredo Petrone
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

New hotel and is superbly
Clean and has great facilities and rooms. Bathroom facilities are excellent and beds and linen are first class. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly. Location is near to the centre and metro without being right in the absolute centre. My only grumble Is breakfast. The breakfast room is far too small, the selection is not great only ok. They only have breakfast from 7-10 even at weekends. This is quite early and causes huge congestion at 10am ESP at weekends. Would strongly recommend hotel looking at this aspect . Otherwise a great stay .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel was very modern, pretty, and tastefully decorated. The staff was very nice, the breakfast was well stocked both in quality and quantity. The think that drove me crazy was their horrible wifi, which we were told was free (actually only free in the lobby and apparently only for 30 minutes, otherwise it's 9 EU for 24 hrs) I tried to upload one photo and after 1.5 hours, even after being given a free pass tp use the room wifi (which was supposedly twice as fast) I gave up. I couldn't check my mail, couldn't even log into tripadvisor to leave a review. Along with cleanliness, size, comfort, I'm afraid I look for wifi as one of the elements when on a trip... in this day and age of very easy to implement service, to have this kind of sub-par wifi just killed the experience for me... for that alone, I would never go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uptown Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uptown Palace

Address: Via Santa Sofia 10, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Uptown Palace MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#28 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#31 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Uptown Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uptown Palace is a 4-star superior business hotel in Milan. It is modern and elegant and situated a short walk from the Missori metro stop (yellow line), from Piazza Duomo and from Milan's famous shopping streets. The carefully chosen and highly qualified multilingual staff guarantee high levels of service and care for every guest. The Uptown Palace has 158 fully soundproofed rooms with LinoVivo sheets (the only hotel in Milan to offer these) and the latest mattresses. Floors in the rooms are parquet or carpet while those in the public areas are marble. Each room has LCD televisions and en suite bathrooms with shower or bathtub, together with fluffy robes, slippers, hairdryers and a stylish selection of toiletries. The Presidential Suite and four of the Executive suites have an atmospheric view of the Duomo and of the rooftops of busy Milan. Uptown Palace offers its guests a destination par excellence where every dream can come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Uptown Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uptown Palace Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uptown Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.