We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local reataurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tournedos

Le Tournedos
Via Imperia, 7, 20142 Milan, Italy
+39 02 8950 3255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 5,363 Restaurants in Milan
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
2 reviews
“Lovely local reataurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch at this local restaurant. We notice that there were many local customers and thought it was a good sign.

We ordered an appetiser, two pasta dishes and a side salad. Before the appetiser was served, a dish of fresh hot pizza was served free of charge. It was so delicious that we were already half full.

The lobster linguini and vongole dishes were both fresh and yummy.

We highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    164
    61
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expected Tourists, Got Locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had read about Le Tournedos on Trip Advisor and also heard good things from a friend of a friend. In the end, the restaurant lived up to the hype and then some! I approach TA reviews of restaurants in foreign cities with some trepidation as one never knows if the reviews are the result of a tourist-heavy restaurant where the reviewers think the place is great because it's Americanized and feels like home. Add to that a professionally done website in Italian and English with a full display of the menu, and my expectations were middling at best. As a traveler that wants to be immersed in local culture, I try to seek out activities and restaurants where I'm likely to be the only tourist in the joint...and that is what I got at Le Tournedos.

We arrived at the restaurant at 7:30p which I recognize is too early for dinner for any normal Italians and we were "rewarded" with a mostly empty restaurant. This was a benefit in the end as we were the focus of the wait staff at the start of our meal. After establishing that our Italian was poor and our waitress' English equally so, we were then waited on by the owner, who's ability to communicate was only slightly better. We started with some house Prosecco and two starters: shrimps and arugula (and a delightfully light lemon dressing) and the crouton with speck and buffalo mozzarella. Both were incredible; fresh with perfectly cooked shrimp and how can anyone go wrong with mozzarella and speck?!

As we moved onto the mains, or rather what we ordered to be mains, I noticed the page of "Pasta fresca/Fresh pasta of our production." I had been surprised at the lack of fresh made pasta in all the other restaurants we'd eaten in on this trip so was overjoyed to have fresh pasta choices to make. As a table, we went with the Falascine: Calabrian dish of mushrooms and pepperoni, spiced with wild fennel and the Tagliolini with lobster and porcini mushrooms. In a sign of freshness, along with international diner expectations, we knew the lobster pasta was going to be a bit of work when the pliers and bibs showed up. Both pastas were delicious, fresh and light (the tagliolini more than the falascine). The lobster was indeed whole and was served underneath the pile of pasta which is as close to a negative as I can give the restaurant.

Dessert followed, along with some aperitifs, and the high quality of the meal continued. Some hot biscotti came to the table and more closely resembled small beignets than the rock-hard cookie-like fingers that are available in the US. A cold nougat with coffee along with tiramisu closed out our dinner and while both were good, it's hard to get excited for dessert when you're still riding high from your mains.

As our meal progressed, we noticed the restaurant was filling up with other patrons and lo and behold, those patrons were Italians, not tourists. We watched with delight, and jealousy, as platters of seafood were delivered to neighboring tables. As we gorged on our own food, we marveled at wooden planks of salumi that walked by us on their way to large tables of carousing locals. I found myself disappointed that we had only come to Le Tournedos once during our trip. Is there a better way to summarize a review than that?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant! Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You should definitely check this restaurant! It is located close to Romolo metro station and you should make reservations especially during the weekend.
The staff was very helpfull and managed to seat us, even though we were more than anticipated.
The food was excellent! Everything we tasted was of great quality and the wine was really nice.
All in all a great experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful steak, seafood and pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had the gnocchi with cheese and then the grilled prawns, while my partner had a mixed seafood salad and the beef fillet with pate. Each of these courses were a delight.
We finished with a cheese platter as well as grilled cheese. Very decadent.
The wines by the glass could be a touch better, but that wasn't really a problem.
As we watched other meals being served, we wished we had more time in Milan to return to this excellent restaurant to try more dishes.
The service was excellent as well.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not miss it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Being in Milan south (Navigli) area do not forget to visit this place! Nice people, excellent food! Wine list is very good. First courses, in particular those with home made pasta are gourgeous. Fish is very good and fresh, but in my opinion meat is the queen. Try the "Le tournedos" sirloin, served with grilled vegetables and to be completed at your own taste cooking it on a burning hot iron plate at your table. Prices are reasonable and service is friendly and accurate.
Food quality is overall excellent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tournedos also viewed

 

Been to Le Tournedos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tournedos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.