We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mokinba Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mokinba Hotel Cristallo to your Saves list
Mokinba Hotel Cristallo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Scarlatti 22, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Perfect location, budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I read only negative reviews but still stayed in Hotel Cristallo. Only 5 minutes walking from Milano Centrale station(catch Malpensa express for Airport)/metro station(for urban metro). Rooms are bit small but clean.Breakfast free and not bad.Staffs are not rude, they are friendly. May be next time when I'll be in Milan stay there again! And dont miss Saturday morning flea market near hotel.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    70
    133
    72
    75
See reviews for
32
109
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 via mobile

This was a budget hotel with great staff who went out of their way to help if needed. The room was expensive and there are very few facilities but the location was very good. Breakfast average but lovely selection
of juice. Really tiny lift so a bit of a problem if a few people waiting. Surprisingly, no kettle available for the room and no iron. The beds are quite hard but the room was clean and well serviced

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We booked a room in Hotel Mokinba for 2 person at September 2014. I was looking about hotels in Milan about 2 week before our travel and the rooms was really expensive. So we booked our room a day before arrive, by booking.com, with discount from 160 € to 48 € without breakfast. I thought it is a perfect deal for a 3 star hotel. Hotel Mokinba has a perfect location just about 5-10 minutes walk from central train station. The reception looks very good with leather sofas and the staff speaks English. Our room was at 3 floor (the hotel had 2 elevators). We get at reception a key from room and a card (I do not know why we get card, because the room had normal lock). The room were small and there was smelly. After we ventilate the room it was OK. The room had air condition with really old control, I think about 90 ties. The room had minibar but the fridge doesn't work, everything in it was warm (and yes it was plugged in :) ). At the room were dirty curtain and next to plug were holes.
The hotel had free bike rental, but we didn't try it.

Room Tip: We choose a quiet room at reservation, but under our window were air condition for whole hotel, so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

stayed here one night august. Their air conditioning is old and wasnt working...room was grubby..sheets and towels smelt of vinegar...whole hotel felt grubby. When i complained about air conditioning not working at 3.30am the night guy on duty turned on me..he was so rude. Not a nice hotel..in fact it was more like a hostel..do not stay here if you want a nights sleep. Also a couple gangs hang round at night outside.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The personnel was not polite to the guests.. When it was our turn to check in, the hotel guy was still angry and rude to us.
The room was ridiculous. We ordered a double-bed, but got a bed for 1,5 persons...
Bathroom was not nice.
The a/c didn't work properly... Not happy.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I have to say I wouldn't stay there again unless pretty desperate . So noisy, hot and smelly. People running up and down the corridors, thunderous waterfall sounds anytime anyone nearby flushed or turned tap on. When I paid cash for our city tax, wifi and mini bar the woman wouldn't give me a receipt and in the morning when we were leaving the man at the desk didn't seem to believe me. We were in a hurry so didn't take the matter further, will wait to see if they charge me again on my credit card.
One plus is that it is a two minute walk from the train station

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mokinba, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mokinba Hotel Cristallo, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Marie H.,
Thanks for your opinion. We are sorry you did find your stay unconvenient. Unfortunately that day a group caused some noises up and down the corridors. Nevertheless we asked for a more polite behavior. People sometimes are really rude and don’t respect others. City Tax has to be paid cash, this is correct but you should have received a receipt. We can assure you cannot be charged twice. We hope anyway to have you again here and give you a better welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Not bad, but definitely not my first choice when I'm in Milan the next time.

Located close to the Central Station (5 min walk) and within a 20-30 min walking distance to the center. Faster by bike, a bikeMi station is around the corner.

Staff is not too friendly or helpful, but could be worse. Our room was ok, including mini bar and safe, fresh and clean towels every day.

The bathroom looked a bit run-down but still acceptable for the price. What's really annoying is that the ventilation machine (or whatever it is) is located in front of many rooms' windows and runs throughout the whole night with a heavy noise. So sleeping with the windows open is not an option. However, the air con worked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mokinba Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokinba Hotel Cristallo

Address: Via Scarlatti 22, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mokinba Hotel Cristallo 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mokinba Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cristallo Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokinba Hotel Cristallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.