We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot! - Avoid in Summer” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garda to your Saves list
Hotel Garda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Napo Torriani 21, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hot! - Avoid in Summer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I know I am almost copying the title of my review from a previous review, but I could not find a better way to summarize my overall experience.

We booked this place since it was close to the Centrale railway station. This is just 5mins walk from the station, ideal location in that sense if you have heavy bags and do not prefer to walk a lot from/to Centrale.

Starting from check-in, the experience was not very smooth. The front desk person did not even mentioned regarding the breakfast. When we told him that our rate includes breakfast, he reluctantly looked it up, and agreed that it does.

This is an old place. rooms are old, a bit congested. Everything would have been fine, but in this extremely hot and muggy summer, we had an ancient air conditioner in the room, which was struggling to make even a minor difference in the temperature. We waited patiently, but nothing. We were sweating and tired, and it must have taken it (we had somehow managed to sleep) till midnight or later for that a/c to bring down the heat. It was really terrible experience.

Book this hotel ONLY if you are on a budget AND you need to stay close to the station AND if it is not hot outside. I wish I had booked a better place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    188
    125
    38
    18
See reviews for
57
130
97
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Easy to get to from the train station. Inexpensive. Quiet, clean, large room on top floor. No ac. This was a problem since the windows could not be left open due to the mosquitoes. Breakfast was not included, but breakfast was served (perhaps included with other rooms?). Staff was polite and professional. I'd recommend this hotel if you're on a tight budget, otherwise, I'd find someplace with ac.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked this hotel based on Rick Steve's Italy book which suggested it as being close to the Central train station. We were getting in to Milan on the train at 10:30 PM after a long day of travel and we had booked two rooms for our family of 5. When we got to the hotel the night deskman got a panicked look on his his face and started claiming he did not have a reservation. I saw a sheet of paper on his desk that had our names and room numbers clearly listed. When I pointed that out he got really panicked and started calling people and shuffling papers everywhere. I could not understand what he said because it was in Italian but basically I gathered they had given our room to someone else. Instead of just admitting that he spent the next HOUR on the phone getting instructions to go into the website and cancel our reservation. At that point he said "see it was not my fault your reservation was cancelled." Meanwhile my family including 3 tired kids sat miserably in the lobby. They did get the entertainment of several other guest of the hotel come up and scream at the guy for his rude service. I can't believe Rick Steve's listed this place. We ended up going to the next door Flora Hotel with nicer rooms for the same rate (Flora also included a great breakfast which was not included here).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

At 120 Euro, the hotel provides average quality of stay. We visited in the hot month of July...the Aircon was an issue and the room had mosquitos. So we shifted next doors to Hotel Berna....more expensive, but great quality at Berna. Most 3 star hotels have centralized aircons, that they switch off at night... which is an issue in the hot months (we are not aware of this). Not recommended for a family with kids; good if you are on average budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Arriving at Milan Centrale we was greeted by rain. It was quiet a messy day, as we were in terrible jetlag. This hotel is located a couple of minutes away from the centrale main entrance. Along the route to the hotel, we came across multiple Italian restaurant, we have spent most of our time enjoying pizza and risotto, yummy. Walking passed the main entrance of Garda Hotel we was greeted by Roberto, a tall friendly Italian guy, of course Italian as we were in Milan. Without hesitation he pronounced my name correctly and the check in process was flawless. The room is quite small but very clean and tidy. The aroma of macchiato in the restaurant was one of the best coffee aroma ever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location - close to the train station and a half hour walk from central Milan (Sforza Castle). My room was fairly clean, but the decor is a bit dated. Front desk staff are friendly. For the price, I would stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good location just 3 minute walk from the Central station, small but clean hotel, we were satisfied with the services. The only problem was, that the ventillation system at the beathroom was not the best, but it did not bother us to much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda

Address: Via Napo Torriani 21, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.