We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #55 of 427 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Lucia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here in June. Room was a great size for Milan. We even had a balcony on the 2nd floor overlooking the street - wonderful for relaxing and people watching. Room and hotel were very clean and had modern amenities. Location was within 15 minutes walking distance of major sites like the duomo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    445
    139
    62
    40
See reviews for
200
338
58
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel only a week ago based on the recommendation of a friend. Our experience at this hotel was more negative than positive and we would not stay at this hotel again. I have outlined the pros and cons below for you to base your decision on.
PROS:
*We stayed in a suite which was quite spacious for 2 adults and 2 teenage children.
*It is in a good location for shopping as there are many shops in the area, especially on Corso Beunos Aries.
*It was a 10 minute walk from the central station, which is where most people will arrive if not arriving by car.
*The beds are extremely comfortable.
CONS:
*We arrived at 1.30pm after a very long and tiresome flight.....half an hour before official check in time of 2.00pm. Our suite was not ready so we had to wait.....we were expecting it to be ready by 2 but it wasn't. We had to wait until just after 3pm until our room was ready. This may not seem long to some, however, when you are tired, cranky and just want to rest...it seems like an eternity!!
*The suites are each decorated in various styles. When I booked, I specifically asked to not have the suite which is decorated in a classical theme. We ended up with the one I asked NOT to have! Whilst I realise requests are often difficult to fill, some acknowledgement would have been nice.
*When you book off the hotel's website, the mini bar is free. This is a nice feature.....but don't get too excited.....there wasn't much in there for 4 people in one suite!! I actually had to get them to check because I thought they forgot to restock it. Hardly worth it.
*YOU WILL FEEL AND HEAR THE RUMBLES OF THE TRAIN......especially if you are a light sleeper (we were on the 3rd floor).
*I requested a high floor based on the recommendation of many fellow trip advisors. I did this at the time of booking which was a week before. We were given the 3rd floor, again, with no acknowledgement of our request (I was too tired when we arrived to even ask about it and was just happy to finally have our room).
*The hotel allows you to book a late check out at an extra cost. This was exactly what we wanted as we had a late flight out of Milan. I booked the late checkout when I made my reservation, however, you must pay for it upon leaving the hotel along with the city tax. However, even though I had booked it and reminded them of it when we checked in, we still received a call just after 12pm asking us why we hadn't checked out yet!! Annoying!! Shows a lack of organisation.
*Further to my point above, our room keys stopped working at 12pm as well!! I suppose I could've gone down to get them validated again, but I was so annoyed that I couldn't be bothered. We just made sure someone stayed in the room until we left.
OVERALL:
I wouldn't recommend this hotel and don't think it is value for money as there were far more CONS than PROS. Our experience was not an overall positive one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is really important for us to improve more and more the services we offer and your review is really full of interesting tips. We are sorry that you didn't have an excellent stay and we do apologize for the inconvenience you had at the check-in and at the check-out.
We hope that we will have the chance to welcoming you again on your next trip to Milan.
Best Regards,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good Location , 10 mts walk from Train Station, across the road Metro station. Spacious rooms, Neat & Tidy, Good service. Buffet Breakfast was fantastic. Worth for the money you pay. Highly Recommendable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Joseph,
Thank you for your excellent review! We appreciated your very positive feedback and glad to know that you did like our hotel and your stay with us. We will look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Milan!
Kind Regards
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights (family of 2 parents + 2 kids). The staff was very pleasant and helpful, the room was big (we got a 'La Scala' apartment with 2 balconies which was a great experience by itself), WiFi is free & with good coverage and, most of all, the location is excellent - just a couple of meters from the underground station and only a walking distance from Milan Central Station. In addition, we were able to park the car in the hotel underground parking nearby.

At the downside: the breakfast selection was a bit disappointing (and every day it was the same excluding the days when one out of two kinds of sausages was running out and they did not refill), the safe and the bathroom door locks were broken at arrival (we reported the issue in the evening of the 1st day and we had to wait for the next day for repair), the hot/cold water stability in the shower was almost unacceptable. Also this specific apartment has a steep stairway inside which was not so safe for our younger kid (when we asked to change the room in the first day we were told they have no other rooms while the next day we preferred to leave the things as they are).

After all, nice hotel with perfect location but has its drawbacks at price higher than it should be...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent stay at our BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
We are very happy to know that you liked our suite La Scala and the location of our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I will look forward to your next coming stays with us.
Kindest regards,
Andrea Vedovotto,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We planned to spend two days in Milan at the end of the 3-week trip to Greece (Crete) and various Italian cities. I was looking for an affordable hotel with a good location and a pool, and TripAdvisor's filter once again delivered the goods. The Hotel Galles is out of the center a bit (a 30 minute walk from the Duomo, Galleria, etc.) but adjacent to a metro station. Room was fine. The breakfast buffet in the top-floor restaurant was elaborate. Staff were exceptional, particularly Deborah, the charming young woman who checked us in, and a young man, name unknown, who helped me with printing boarding passes for our flights home. (Based on my recent experience, the public computers in many hotel lobbies could use serious upgrades, if not replacement. The computer I tried to use at the Galles refused to print because it alleged I had too many pop-ups open. I couldn't see that I had any open, but the nice guy from the front desk did an e-mail work-around and printed the passes. If I ever find myself in Milan again, I know where I'll stay. TripAdvisor's interactive map provided a selection of nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mike,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to know that you liked the location of the hotel, its rooms, services and facilities. It is pleasing to read such praising comments about the service and hospitality that the team provided during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours sincerely,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stepping from the train we originally caught in a rainy and cold Paris the warmth and excitement of Milan was like a tonic. We walked from the station to Best Western Galles in about 10 minutes, the check in was quick and professional. We had a good sized room, excellent bathroom and great WiFi. The icing on the cake for us was the chance to relax on the roof top garden. Then down to the pool, into the steam room, onto the massage chair, back into the sauna - what a life. We enjoyed the fantastic breakfast, great staff excellent amenities AND they flew the Welsh flag everyday - we couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and were not disturbed by the noise from the metro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jill,
thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles Milan.
We are delighted to know that you liked the location of the hotel, its rooms, services and facilities.
Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the excellent service is renowned for.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent in BW Hotel Galles long weekend in the beginning of May. Found this hotel based on Trip Advisors hints and did not disappoint. Perfect location, by train from airport, then change to metro and you are front of the hotel. So nice. Short distance to walk to downtown and shopping area. We had a nice room in sixth floor very close to Breakfast room. Breakfast was good, and the room not so crowded. We ate dinner there also on first night and risotto was delicious. If you have time, please visit the roof deck. You can take sunbath and order drinks from the restaurant. We did not visit swimming pool, so I can't say anything of that. Reception personnel was polite and quick. There are also some very nice restaurants nearby and if you would like to take a beer or a glass of wine, you can find a café front of the hotel. On the left is a small very nice cafeteria selling also ice cream & including very good service. One of best BW hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent review. Your opinion is very important to ensure that we continually deliver the excellent service is renowned for.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Milan
#23 Family Hotel in Milan
#37 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#50 Business Hotel in Milan
#53 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Piazza Lima, on the corner of Corso Buenos Aires, there is the elegant 19th century palace, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, a 4 star hotel in Milan city centre. The hotel is strategically located: the underground stop Lima is just in front of the hotel, Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping streets in Milan, is few steps away, and the Central Railway station is within walking distance. The Duomo and all Milan’s main tourist attractions are only 4 stops away from the hotel.This magnificent palace has been recently refurbished to bring you all the comfort and relax you are looking for. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including Wi-Fi in rooms & communal areas, Fitness Centre & SPA with an amazing indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, relax area with many herbal tea to choose from and a brand new area Chromotherapy with Himalayan Salt. The hotel also has available for free an Internet Point with printer & scanner, iPad Corner and Playstation Sony3. For your eco-friendly tour around the city you can rent our bikes.The 198 rooms, classic, superior and suite, are all perfectly decorated with gold or blue colour to reflect the elegant and classic style of the hotel. All rooms have free Wifi & SKY, safety deposit box, plasma or LCD TV, minibar, pillow menu . In addition to these comforts, superior and suite rooms have courtesy kit, bathrobe, slippers and kettles for coffee and tea. A rich American buffet breakfast is served at our spectacular Restaurant " La Terrazza", on the 6th floor of the hotel, where you will enjoy a skyline view of Milan while having a delicious cup of Italian coffee. The hotel has also two panoramic terraces & solarium, an hanging garden, an American Bar, a lounge, self-service laundry & ironing room, a private garage and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.