We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, good amenities, decent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #50 of 430 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good amenities, decent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We planned to spend two days in Milan at the end of the 3-week trip to Greece (Crete) and various Italian cities. I was looking for an affordable hotel with a good location and a pool, and TripAdvisor's filter once again delivered the goods. The Hotel Galles is out of the center a bit (a 30 minute walk from the Duomo, Galleria, etc.) but adjacent to a metro station. Room was fine. The breakfast buffet in the top-floor restaurant was elaborate. Staff were exceptional, particularly Deborah, the charming young woman who checked us in, and a young man, name unknown, who helped me with printing boarding passes for our flights home. (Based on my recent experience, the public computers in many hotel lobbies could use serious upgrades, if not replacement. The computer I tried to use at the Galles refused to print because it alleged I had too many pop-ups open. I couldn't see that I had any open, but the nice guy from the front desk did an e-mail work-around and printed the passes. If I ever find myself in Milan again, I know where I'll stay. TripAdvisor's interactive map provided a selection of nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mike,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to know that you liked the location of the hotel, its rooms, services and facilities. It is pleasing to read such praising comments about the service and hospitality that the team provided during your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours sincerely,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    395
    128
    59
    38
See reviews for
185
304
56
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stepping from the train we originally caught in a rainy and cold Paris the warmth and excitement of Milan was like a tonic. We walked from the station to Best Western Galles in about 10 minutes, the check in was quick and professional. We had a good sized room, excellent bathroom and great WiFi. The icing on the cake for us was the chance to relax on the roof top garden. Then down to the pool, into the steam room, onto the massage chair, back into the sauna - what a life. We enjoyed the fantastic breakfast, great staff excellent amenities AND they flew the Welsh flag everyday - we couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and were not disturbed by the noise from the metro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jill,
thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles Milan.
We are delighted to know that you liked the location of the hotel, its rooms, services and facilities.
Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the excellent service is renowned for.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent in BW Hotel Galles long weekend in the beginning of May. Found this hotel based on Trip Advisors hints and did not disappoint. Perfect location, by train from airport, then change to metro and you are front of the hotel. So nice. Short distance to walk to downtown and shopping area. We had a nice room in sixth floor very close to Breakfast room. Breakfast was good, and the room not so crowded. We ate dinner there also on first night and risotto was delicious. If you have time, please visit the roof deck. You can take sunbath and order drinks from the restaurant. We did not visit swimming pool, so I can't say anything of that. Reception personnel was polite and quick. There are also some very nice restaurants nearby and if you would like to take a beer or a glass of wine, you can find a café front of the hotel. On the left is a small very nice cafeteria selling also ice cream & including very good service. One of best BW hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent review. Your opinion is very important to ensure that we continually deliver the excellent service is renowned for.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

i chose this hotel based on trip advisor ratings . we had a wonderful time there ; the room was very nice and clean , and they had free wi fi which is always a great perk!perfect location ; we walked to everything we wanted from the holel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Bob,
Thank you for your excellent review! We appreciated your very positive feedback and glad to know that you did like our hotel and your stay with us. We will look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Milan!
Kind Regards
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We chose this hotel based on reviews and combination of price, location, cost. The hotel was very clean. Rooms were well appointed, clean, good water pressure, sound system in rooms, comfortable beds. We needed a place for me, my wife and our two teenage sons. Most European rooms only accommodate 2 so the same applied here...we needed two rooms. We paid 146 Euros per room per day. I emailed my boarding passes to the front desk and they had them printed for us and waiting for us when we checked out. Taxi to airport was there within 3 minutes. The hotel was about a 25 minute walk to the duomo which was fine for us. Hotel is also just a couple blocks from the main train terminal where you can also pick up the metro and on/off tour busses.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. We are very happy to know that your experience with us was enjoyable and pleasant. In the hope of welcoming you again soon, I remain at your full disposal. Kind Regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night, 2 adults and 2 kids, not huge but enough room for the four of us. Good central location, right next to subway and also walking distance to Duomo. Easy 10 minute walk to central train station. We enjoyed the breakfast selection. Nice to have a pool for kids to swim in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Hotel Galles Milan.
We are delighted to know that you liked the location of the hotel, its rooms, services and facilities.
Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the excellent service is renowned for.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Passing through Milan for a night between trains, we elected to stay at the Best Western Galles because of its central location. The front desk staff was welcoming and helpful, the room was small, but clean and comfortable, and the location was great. Our only negative experience was at the American Bar in the hotel where the bar staff were uninterested in serving clients and could not be bothered to get the World Cup match on the bar TV. The hotel would do well to upgrade its bar staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Milan
#17 Family Hotel in Milan
#32 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#35 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#55 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Piazza Lima, on the corner of Corso Buenos Aires, there is the elegant 19th century palace, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, a 4 star hotel in Milan city centre. The hotel is strategically located: the underground stop Lima is just in front of the hotel, Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping streets in Milan, is few steps away, and the Central Railway station is within walking distance. The Duomo and all Milan’s main tourist attractions are only 4 stops away from the hotel.This magnificent palace has been recently refurbished to bring you all the comfort and relax you are looking for. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including Wi-Fi in rooms & communal areas, Fitness Centre & SPA with an amazing indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, relax area with many herbal tea to choose from and a brand new area Chromotherapy with Himalayan Salt. The hotel also has available for free an Internet Point with printer & scanner, iPad Corner and Playstation Sony3. For your eco-friendly tour around the city you can rent our bikes.The 198 rooms, classic, superior and suite, are all perfectly decorated with gold or blue colour to reflect the elegant and classic style of the hotel. All rooms have free Wifi & SKY, safety deposit box, plasma or LCD TV, minibar, pillow menu . In addition to these comforts, superior and suite rooms have courtesy kit, bathrobe, slippers and kettles for coffee and tea. A rich American buffet breakfast is served at our spectacular Restaurant " La Terrazza", on the 6th floor of the hotel, where you will enjoy a skyline view of Milan while having a delicious cup of Italian coffee. The hotel has also two panoramic terraces & solarium, an hanging garden, an American Bar, a lounge, self-service laundry & ironing room, a private garage and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.