We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #56 of 427 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

i chose this hotel based on trip advisor ratings . we had a wonderful time there ; the room was very nice and clean , and they had free wi fi which is always a great perk!perfect location ; we walked to everything we wanted from the holel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Bob,
Thank you for your excellent review! We appreciated your very positive feedback and glad to know that you did like our hotel and your stay with us. We will look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Milan!
Kind Regards
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    443
    138
    62
    40
See reviews for
200
336
58
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We chose this hotel based on reviews and combination of price, location, cost. The hotel was very clean. Rooms were well appointed, clean, good water pressure, sound system in rooms, comfortable beds. We needed a place for me, my wife and our two teenage sons. Most European rooms only accommodate 2 so the same applied here...we needed two rooms. We paid 146 Euros per room per day. I emailed my boarding passes to the front desk and they had them printed for us and waiting for us when we checked out. Taxi to airport was there within 3 minutes. The hotel was about a 25 minute walk to the duomo which was fine for us. Hotel is also just a couple blocks from the main train terminal where you can also pick up the metro and on/off tour busses.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. We are very happy to know that your experience with us was enjoyable and pleasant. In the hope of welcoming you again soon, I remain at your full disposal. Kind Regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed here for one night, 2 adults and 2 kids, not huge but enough room for the four of us. Good central location, right next to subway and also walking distance to Duomo. Easy 10 minute walk to central train station. We enjoyed the breakfast selection. Nice to have a pool for kids to swim in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Hotel Galles Milan.
We are delighted to know that you liked the location of the hotel, its rooms, services and facilities.
Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the excellent service is renowned for.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Passing through Milan for a night between trains, we elected to stay at the Best Western Galles because of its central location. The front desk staff was welcoming and helpful, the room was small, but clean and comfortable, and the location was great. Our only negative experience was at the American Bar in the hotel where the bar staff were uninterested in serving clients and could not be bothered to get the World Cup match on the bar TV. The hotel would do well to upgrade its bar staff.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

4 star hotel??? It felt more like a 3 star hotel to me. My single room was a tiny room with a tiny weak shower. Outside the window was noisy from a building repair. Breakfast was just OK, nothing special. OK, it was not expensive but even for around 140 Euro a night it was not great. I will not use this hotel again. Not a 4 star hotel!!

Room Tip: Use this hotel if you have to. Not a 4 star hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent stay at our Hotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't excellent. Our rooms vary according to size, color and style, as well as the rooms' type reserved, being classic, superior or suite. Classic single rooms are slightly smaller than other rooms' types. However if you wish to have a larger room, please do not hesitate to contact us directly or specify your preference on your next reservation and we will do our best to accommodate your request.
In the hope of welcoming you again soon to the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, I send my kindest regards
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I booked this hotel as there were 3 couples in our family all coming away for a double birthday treat weekend. I chose it carefully as the youngsters wanted gym and swimming, the girls wanted shopping and we all wanted to see Milan without too much hassle. If it was sunny we also wanted to soak up some rays! We were not disappointed! The hotel is so well placed with the metro right outside ..easy to use and €1 per trip -very cheap. We flew into Linate and the hotel (thank you Marco for your email patience!!) arranged a minivan for us ..€60 for 6 adults and bags..very good value and the driver was waiting at the gate for us, so the perfect way to start the holiday. Our rooms were very nice..clean, lovely bedding and very comfortable. We had asked to be on the top floors after previous trip advisors recommendations due to the metro noise...we could only just hear it on the 5th floor so it wasn't a problem at all. The restaurant was great..breakfast a feast and something for every taste. The younger and fitter ones in our party enjoyed the gym facilities and we tried the Himalayan salt room once..not sure how helpful that was but it was interesting! The pool is small but is perfect for the place..if you want to a swimming holiday ..go to a beach resort...for a cooling dip after a day sightseeing it was perfect and very pretty, towels in abundance and free....
But the best bit for us was the roof terrace...it was glorious made better by fantastic weather ! It was our meeting point for a drink before or after excursions and we all chilled on the loungers there for a couple of hours every now and then..the views are lovely.....a great asset for this hotel. We did the shopping bit and being situated on Corso Buenos aires we had everything we wanted all within walking distance and if you had enough of Gucci and Guess you could pop into the supermarket 5 mins walk away for bottled water or other temptations...in an expensive city it was a blessing!! The reception staff were delightful and thanks particularly to Deborah who helped us enormously with trips to Monza and lake como.....do it ...easy and so cheap on the train..monza was €2.10 each way.....20 mins journey. Excellent. All the staff were very helpful and on my husbands birthday he had a kilo of risotto rice left in the room as a present..Thank you for that our other birthday party member was very disappointed!!....we will share it though!
The only downside to the whole trip was the problem we had with air conditioning in one of the rooms..I am not sure if the staff didn't understand but it took 7 phone calls over 2 days and 2 visits from the engineer before he declared it non-functional and then 2 unsatisfactory room offers before my daughter and her partner were moved...it was an unnecessary hassle and we were unfortunate in that the hotel was very busy. I have not taken a star away for this as the rest of the experience was perfect but if you have a problem ..report it quickly and persevere!
If you have time and are planning a trip to Milan in advance spare no expense and book a cooking lesson with chef Clara cooking in Milano ...superb day.
All in all a fantastic weekend so thank you hotel Galles for giving us the (almost) perfect holiday base.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors..the metro rumbles are really not a problem further up..in all fairness we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Alison,
thank you so much for your great review. We appreciated your very positive feedback and we are glad to know that you all did like our hotel and its facilities. It is pleasing to read such praising comments about our staff. We do apologize for the inconvenience you had with the air conditioning in the room and we do thank you for giving us an excellent review as well. We will look forward to hosting you and your family again on your next trip to Milan and we will do our best to give you a perfect service!
Kind Regards
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We spent four days in this hotel. The location was excellent, very close to the Metro, which was a great way to get around. Our room was clean and comfortable, but with no robes and we had problems putting the lights out. We had to resort to taking our card out! It was quite unusual having the verandah in the bathroom. The swimming pool is small and the minute I entered it my eyes started to smart. We think it may have been the amount of chlorine in the water. Also, my husband's trunks turned from blue to purple! One morning I went to the gym. It was very warm in there with no air conditioning, so I gave up and went for a run outside. It was very nice getting a birthday present on my husband's birthday - a kilo of authentic Italian rice. The breakfast was OK. On our last day I ordered a breakfast box and also went to check where to pick it up. At 4.30am I was very miffed to find there was no breakfast for us! We left, rather disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Maggie,
thank you very much for taking the time to review on your recent stay at our BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles.
We are delighted to know that you liked the location of the hotel, its rooms, services and facilities. We are sorry for the problem you had with the swimming pool: we check every day the amount of the chlorine in the water and as soon as we discovered the high quantity of it we immediately solved the problem.
We are also sorry for the inconvenience with the breakfast box: for all our guests leaving early in the morning it is also available for free an early breakfast service with hot drinks and snacks.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Andrea Vedovotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Milan
#22 Family Hotel in Milan
#38 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#50 Business Hotel in Milan
#58 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Piazza Lima, on the corner of Corso Buenos Aires, there is the elegant 19th century palace, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, a 4 star hotel in Milan city centre. The hotel is strategically located: the underground stop Lima is just in front of the hotel, Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping streets in Milan, is few steps away, and the Central Railway station is within walking distance. The Duomo and all Milan’s main tourist attractions are only 4 stops away from the hotel.This magnificent palace has been recently refurbished to bring you all the comfort and relax you are looking for. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including Wi-Fi in rooms & communal areas, Fitness Centre & SPA with an amazing indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, relax area with many herbal tea to choose from and a brand new area Chromotherapy with Himalayan Salt. The hotel also has available for free an Internet Point with printer & scanner, iPad Corner and Playstation Sony3. For your eco-friendly tour around the city you can rent our bikes.The 198 rooms, classic, superior and suite, are all perfectly decorated with gold or blue colour to reflect the elegant and classic style of the hotel. All rooms have free Wifi & SKY, safety deposit box, plasma or LCD TV, minibar, pillow menu . In addition to these comforts, superior and suite rooms have courtesy kit, bathrobe, slippers and kettles for coffee and tea. A rich American buffet breakfast is served at our spectacular Restaurant " La Terrazza", on the 6th floor of the hotel, where you will enjoy a skyline view of Milan while having a delicious cup of Italian coffee. The hotel has also two panoramic terraces & solarium, an hanging garden, an American Bar, a lounge, self-service laundry & ironing room, a private garage and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.