We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #52 of 432 hotels in Milan
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Comfortable hotel, room could be a little bigger. Bar in hotel lobby not very enticing, Breakfast very good, staff nice. Would recommend this for short stay in Milan beside the metro big bonus, Hotel is on the good shopping street.

Room Tip: Be aware you can hear the metro underground, if you are a light sleep this might be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy to know that the hotel’s location matched your needs: few steps away from the underground station Lima and right in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping street in Milan, is the perfect setting for enjoying shopping and a tour around the city. In the elegant and renovated hotel’s lobby, you will share enjoyable moments: Italian furniture and classical style are the premises for the Galles American Bar. As soon as you walked into the hotel’s lobby, you will spot a beautiful black digital piano for a charming atmosphere. Our staff will welcome you with delicious snacks and exquisite cocktails. Our rooms vary per size, color and style, depending on the type of rooms reserved, being Classic, Superior or Suite. Superior are comfortable and elegant and slightly bigger than classic ones while suite are spacious and large and can accommodate up to 4 people. If you require any further information on your next reservation, please do not hesitate to contact us. Looking forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    389
    125
    67
    38
See reviews for
170
280
51
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Check-in was a mess from the start and myself and my family ended up waiting in the foyer for two hours waiting for our room to be ready when we were told it would only be half an hour wait. Room was spacious, strange that in an apartment you have to pay extra to rent the plates, cups and normal apartment facilities. Laundry room was provided but most machines were not working and the ones that were took forever to do one load. The pool was cold, but nice. The beds were comfortable but we had no sleep because every time a neighbour closed their door the entire room shook. The people in the adjoining room were so noisy and in and out of the room all night. I finally gave in and called reception at midnight just so we could try to finally get some sleep. Reception were straight onto this, but better sound proofing or logistics would solve this problem too. I would not stay in this hotel again, while the staff were friendly,and location was quite good, it was like a maze to navigate and one staff member had a great deal of trouble understanding my request for a private car to the airport, the next staff member was much more helpful and found my request very easy to understand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Rachel,
Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to read your words, knowing that we were not entirely able to meet your expectations. Check-in time is available from 2 pm onwards. However if rooms are not available at the time of check-in, we invite guests to wait in our welcoming lounge with comfortable sofas chairs, internet point available for free and a bar with snacks and drinks. Alternately we offer guests to leave their luggage with us while enjoying a tour of the city or taking a nice walk around the many shops available 2 steps away from the Hotel. At check-in we also ask guests to leave their telephone number so that we can send to them a text message to advise when room is ready. In order to get all the facts straight on what it happened during your check-in time, I kindly ask you to contact me directly at generalmanager@galles.it so I can put things right for you and for other guests who choose BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles for their vacation. We do apologize for the noise coming from neighbors, as we do understand the unpleasant feeling you must had. We try to do what we can to reduce possible noise by having a person controlling each floor’s corridor by night and intervene when necessary. I really do hope you will consider Hotel Galles again for your next stay as I am sure we will be able to deliver the high standard that we are well known for. For any request, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind Regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I say "excellent for a short stay" because the rooms are smaller than we have experienced in other 4 star hotels in Italy. But to be expected in a big city. I would not want to be in them for more than a few nights. Air conditioning works really well.

The staff I find very helpful and friendly. The restaurant has excellent food but a but lacks atmosphere.

The location is also excellent with 15 min walk from train station. A metro stop right outside the front door. If you are into shopping it is also in a good part of town.

Only one minor flaw which nothing can be done about. The noise, can hear the metro trains go under and trams go by. The outside street can be noisy, even on the 4th floor.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Joseph,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased to know that you did enjoy your short stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. Hotel Galles resides in a 19th century palace, completely renovated to bring you all the comfort and elegance of the modern age. Rooms vary according to size, color and style, depending on the room type reserved, being classic, superior or suite. If you wish to have a larger room and on higher floors, please do not hesitate to contact us on your next visit and we will do our best to meet your request. Kind Regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended by our neighbours. While the location is good, the rooms are poorly laid out, bathroom (especially shower space) too small, room service limited, no milk provided with tea and coffee making facilities, minibar not restocked in the 3 days of our stay and suspect hadn't been properly stocked before we checked in.

Self service laundry handy but 50% not working one day and 100% not working the next. Pool, etc. facilities nice, though compact as you'd expect in city living.

Don't think they understand the meaning of Happy Hour; no free or discounted drinks, just the same expensive ones during the 2 hours of Happy Hour.

Some staff OK, others defensive and unhelpful.

Asked for a quiet room location and had booked and paid about 5 months ahead. Allocated a room on a low floor in the middle of the corridor where room attendants and/or repairs (drilling, hammering, nail gun) occurred from @9am-5:30pm every day. Understand the need to do maintenance in off season but that was relentless. And do cleaners really need to be banging about one floor the whole day? (Yes, we did get out sight seeing but nipped back to hotel for rests in between; did a heap of walking. Also used to work in hospitality so understand good cleaning schedules and poorly planned ones.) People talking at normal volume in corridor at midnight and slamming bedroom doors.

On the upside, there's a metro right outside the door, along with ample shopping (high street prices) and food. It's also close to Central Station. Cost us about €10 to the hotel, but taxi driver didn't return our change in full. He also quoted a couple, who enquired as we vacated the taxi, €20 to take them to the station. Dodgy, ripping off tourists by charging double. Can't stand that. It's only 2 stops on the metro so if you're happy to lug your suitcases then it's the cheapest option.

Overall, will not stay there again and would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't bother; unlikely to get what you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
I do thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. However I am very disappointed to know that we did not entirely meet your expectations. We wish every stay at our Hotel can be memorable for guests like yourself who travel miles to visit Milan. We do understand that every single glitch if not properly handled can lead to dissatisfaction and we do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. Regarding our free self-service laundry, we do apologize for the machines, as unfortunately 2 machines stopped working just before your arrival on December 17th 2013 and they have been replaced on December 19th 2013, the day before your departure. In Italy Happy Hour is an aperitif usually lasting 2/3 hours with a buffet finger food and a free drink given at a certain price that vary from place to place. However everywhere the price for any extra drink is at the usual price list. As per your request we have given to you a quite internal room on the second floor. During the time of your stay, maintenance has been carried out only one day on December 19th 2013 on the first floor. We do apologize for it. We do try very hard to limited any maintenance but there are no really low or high season in Milan as the market attracts leisure or business travelers every single day of the year. The hotel is very well located right next to the metro and to Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping street in Italy. Here you can find many shops for all sort of budgets. Regarding the inconvenience you had with the taxi driver, I am very sorry for that kind of people as they do overshadow the good Italian people who work honestly. I really do wish you may reconsider to stay with us again, as I am sure we will be able to provide you with unforgettable memories. Kindest regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Overall this hotel is great.The rooms are beautifully furnished and very clean.The location of the hotel is very central for visiting anywhere in the city.The breakfast had great variety and the staff behind the bar were pleasant and helpful.
The only downside to the hotel was the lady on reception.On check in she told us that our room was unavailable but would be ready from 2pm.We returned at this time for her to tell us that it was still unavailable and that we would have to wait while she tried to find another room.On check out she attempted to charge us for 25 euros of drinks from the minibar which we had not used.On both of these occasions she was incredibly rude and made no apology for the mistakes.This was a real shame as she is giving a bad impression to otherwise very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedovotto, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review on your recent stay at the Hotel Galles Milan. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel’s location. We often receive very good praise on our Reception personnel regarding their kindness and helpfulness and I am really sorry to read such feedback from you. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience. Additionally if you will be so kind to provide me with little more details on your stay and contacting me directly at generalmanager@galles.it, I will be able to personally investigate on this matter further. Looking forward to your email and next visit to Milan. Kind Regards, Andrea Vedovotto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

2A+2Teens stayed overnight on 19Nov in room 146.
Chk in was brisk with little or no service from front desk. Very standoffish attitude. Restaurant was the same. We were informed by the front desk that the restaurant closed @ 2:30pm but we arrived @ 2:20pm & was turned away.
Very nice suite that comes with a price tag. Plenty of room for 4 with very extensive closet room & bathroom space. 2 single beds (2 Sofabeds convertible) + a KS bed in a another room separated by a sliding partition. Free wifi & desk top iPad helps with entertainment as TV programs were in Italian. There were enough toiletries for 4 but the shower area tends to flood if you use the rain shower. The pressure in the hand shower works fine for us. Safe was embedded in the walls of the closet. Nice touch.
One of my teens was disturbed by the subway sounds & had trouble sleeping as the hotel was directly above the Lima Metro. The rumbling sound stopped @ midnight & started again @ 6am. But I slept like a log. Chk out was a breeze. Arranged a pickup to MXP airport in the morning that arrived like clockwork. Efficient hotel. Not much warmth though. I would probably try another place next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hotel Galles. By letting us know what you did enjoy and what we could have done better, it help us improving the experience we deliver to you and other guests. We do our best to enhance warmth, great Italian hospitality and welcoming feeling as we do understand the importance that a nice and friendly smile can make when guests check-in at the Hotel. We often receive high praise on our welcoming hospitality and we are sorry to hear that we did not entirely meet your and your family expectations. Each room is equipped with over 50 international free channels and over 12 Sky channels in Italian & English including Fox and Sky Cinema for a perfect and relaxing entertainment time with your family in the comfort of your own room. Despite the glitch, I hope you and your family did enjoy your stay at Hotel Galles and it will not deter you from staying here again should you find yourself visiting Milan, as we are sure we will be able to deliver that great Italian hospitality that we are well known for. Best Regards, Arnaldo Sbarretti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

You can hear the subway noise coming from the ground. The window was broken and room card key does not work every time you need it.
The room is tiny as grave.
The stuff is pretty welcome that's why I put 2 stars...

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are terribly sorry to read your recent experience at the Hotel Galles. Rooms are sound proofed and vary in size, style and color. Our Housekeeping Department control rigorously each room in order to have everything in a working status. Unfortunately we did not have recent feedback regarding room’s broken widow or key card issues . If you wish to contact me directly with more details on your recent stay I will be personally be able to investigate on this matter further and understand better what had happened in order to improve our guests’ experience. We are very eager to meet our guests’ expectation and we would have been more than happy to meet yours and find a suitable room that would have meet your taste and expectations. In the hope of having your kind reply, I remain at your full disposal for any further assistance. Best Regards, Arnaldo Sbarretti, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Milan
#35 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#40 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#48 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Piazza Lima, on the corner of Corso Buenos Aires, there is the elegant 19th century palace, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, a 4 star hotel in Milan city centre. The hotel is strategically located: the underground stop Lima is just in front of the hotel, Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping streets in Milan, is few steps away, and the Central Railway station is within walking distance. The Duomo and all Milan’s main tourist attractions are only 4 stops away from the hotel.This magnificent palace has been recently refurbished to bring you all the comfort and relax you are looking for. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including Wi-Fi in rooms & communal areas, Fitness Centre & SPA with an amazing indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, relax area with many herbal tea to choose from and a brand new area Chromotherapy with Himalayan Salt. The hotel also has available for free an Internet Point with printer & scanner, iPad Corner and Playstation Sony3. For your eco-friendly tour around the city you can rent our bikes.The 198 rooms, classic, superior and suite, are all perfectly decorated with gold or blue colour to reflect the elegant and classic style of the hotel. All rooms have free Wifi & SKY, safety deposit box, plasma or LCD TV, minibar, pillow menu . In addition to these comforts, superior and suite rooms have courtesy kit, bathrobe, slippers and kettles for coffee and tea. A rich American buffet breakfast is served at our spectacular Restaurant " La Terrazza", on the 6th floor of the hotel, where you will enjoy a skyline view of Milan while having a delicious cup of Italian coffee. The hotel has also two panoramic terraces & solarium, an hanging garden, an American Bar, a lounge, self-service laundry & ironing room, a private garage and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.