We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city center hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #55 of 427 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great city center hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Amazing hotel in the center of Milan, very close to all the famous places. Excellent rooms. Comfortable beds and very good aircondtioning. The wifi is also free, which is amazing for a city center hotel.Breakfast could have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated. It was our great pleasure to look after you and we look forward to do it again in the near future. Kind Regards Arnaldo Sbarretti,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    444
    138
    62
    40
See reviews for
200
338
58
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked this hotel on the internet, and due to a typo - we booked 7 nights, instead of 2. Despite contacting the hotel immediately, and several times over email and phone, they were unwilling to change our booking. They did say that they would give us credit for it only. However, despite such a high credit with the hotel, they were not even willing to do simple things like take care of our food and other bills within the same amount. We had to pay additionally for our expenses. Plain ridiculous.

Food was terrible. Stale food and breads for breakfast, no turn down service in the evenings. Really slow and reluctant service from their staff. Mattresses were horrible.

Location is decent. We were very disappointed to have booked with them. The manager needs a special mention - he went out of the way to be unco-operative to us on our issues. Wish they had a more service bent of mind, than just being a profit generating centre.

Will strongly caution all travellers to stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. We understand your disappointment towards our decision but you shall understand that your reservation was non-refundable. This means that no changes or cancellations could have been done. Despite the terms & conditions of your reservation we agreed to give you credit for the nights you did not use in order to be able to choose the most suitable time for your next stay. We sincerely believe we did our best to meet your needs. All the extras non included in the room price, they needed to be added to your bills and paid at check-out, procedure that we do with all our guests. Sorry you felt breakfast and service did not meet your expectation as they are actually among those that received the highest numbers of compliments, thanks to the attentive and individual service we dedicated to make each guest feels special and unique. If you need any further details on this matter please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind Regards, Arnaldo Sbarretti General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel location is good. near metro station and 20 minute by walking to Duomo. Also in the shopping area. The rooms are small and bleak. also wifi is weak if your room far away from reception. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s location as it is one of the main strengths of the hotel. Rooms vary from classic to superior and suite, each of them with its own unique and distinctive features. According to the Wi-Fi we understand the importance of internet connection for all our guests, that it is why we have in place a very qualified Wi-Fi system to allow 24hr free service. We appreciate your feedback regarding our buffet breakfast as we know how it is enjoyable to start the day with fresh and delicious products. We thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles and we look forward to welcoming you soon to Milan. Kind Regards Arnaldo Sbarretti General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fantastic location, right beside the Metro and on the Corso Buenos Aires, a main shopping street. The staff are unfailingly helpful and among the friendliest I have encountered in a city centre hotel. After that it is all downhill
The hotel is a bit down at heel and does not come close to what I would expect from a four star hotel. Despite paying for a Superior Room, the room was very small, with a small bathroom and very cramped shower cubicle. The peeling wallpaper provided a nice decorative touch. A request for two water glasses resulted in a stack of plastic cups being provided, more the response of a two star hotel. The breakfast buffet is ok but the fruit was almost exclusively canned, I would have thought a four star hotel might have done better than canned fruit salad.
The overall experience of staying here is of the kind of low budget traveller’s hotels that are usually found around railway stations. If you want to save money book one of them and get the Galles experience much more cheaply.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It was our great pleasure to look after you. We do pride ourselves on our high level of service and are very dedicated in making each and every guest stay as special as possible. So sorry to hear that you felt the superior rooms were small, they are actually one of our very popular categories. Breakfast is very well appreciated by all our guest, as we do offer a very well selection of fresh products. Canned fruits and fresh fruits are both available on the buffet table for guests’ choice as well as other fresh products including yoghurt, ham, cheese. The hotel offers many complimentary facilities to enjoy to including Wi-FI, a nice and relaxing Fitness Centre & SPA with pool, sauna, Turkish Bath and a brand new area Chromoteraphy with Himalayan Salt, a beautiful solarium and roof- top terraces, a nice hanging garden and many more. Kind Regards Arnaldo Sbarretti,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the moment we arrived this hotel excelled. The staff were all excellent, friendly and could not do enough to help us. The room was a very fair size and above all was clean and well presented with a lovely bathroom. The international plug sockets were thoughtful and helpful. Breakfast was lovely and served by professional and charming staff. The location was second to none right in front of a shopping district. There was also a lovely roof terrace which you can take your drinks up to. I would stay here again and the hotel really made my trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Not bad,no good. Very avarge hotel, no special feeling. Plus of this hotel is station of metro and some nice people on the reception and very nice lady (Probably floor manager) and good happy hour buffet. Minus is that hotel has small ordinary rooms, rooms are not very comfortable. I do not recommend to family with children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following you stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles. I am pleased that you did enjoy our hotel’s location and friendliness of our staff. So sorry to hear that you felt rooms did not meet your expectation, but we do have proper family rooms that can host comfortably up to 4 persons with nice benefits including PlayStation Sony3 to make the stay of our little prince and princesses enjoyable and pleasant.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit. Kind Regards Arnaldo Sbarretti,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently stayed for one night at Hotel Galles after flying. Magnificent hotel in a fabulous location 10 mins walk from railway station & 5 mins from the Duomo by metro. Room, comfy beds, soft pillows, I slept like a baby. Absolutely nothing was too much of an effort for the staff who were professional and exemplary- thank you for a good night in Milan. I will see you next time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Milan
#23 Family Hotel in Milan
#37 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#50 Business Hotel in Milan
#58 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Piazza Lima, on the corner of Corso Buenos Aires, there is the elegant 19th century palace, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, a 4 star hotel in Milan city centre. The hotel is strategically located: the underground stop Lima is just in front of the hotel, Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping streets in Milan, is few steps away, and the Central Railway station is within walking distance. The Duomo and all Milan’s main tourist attractions are only 4 stops away from the hotel.This magnificent palace has been recently refurbished to bring you all the comfort and relax you are looking for. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including Wi-Fi in rooms & communal areas, Fitness Centre & SPA with an amazing indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, relax area with many herbal tea to choose from and a brand new area Chromotherapy with Himalayan Salt. The hotel also has available for free an Internet Point with printer & scanner, iPad Corner and Playstation Sony3. For your eco-friendly tour around the city you can rent our bikes.The 198 rooms, classic, superior and suite, are all perfectly decorated with gold or blue colour to reflect the elegant and classic style of the hotel. All rooms have free Wifi & SKY, safety deposit box, plasma or LCD TV, minibar, pillow menu . In addition to these comforts, superior and suite rooms have courtesy kit, bathrobe, slippers and kettles for coffee and tea. A rich American buffet breakfast is served at our spectacular Restaurant " La Terrazza", on the 6th floor of the hotel, where you will enjoy a skyline view of Milan while having a delicious cup of Italian coffee. The hotel has also two panoramic terraces & solarium, an hanging garden, an American Bar, a lounge, self-service laundry & ironing room, a private garage and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.