We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well equipped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #55 of 427 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very well equipped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well situated outside a metro station, 5 minutes ride to the duomo. It is excellently equipped, the rooms have a kettle (the first hotel we have encountered with one, and we have been to Rome, Florence and venice), and the beds are very comfortable (every bed we have slept in in Italy so far has been unbearably hard). There is a free pool and gym, free play station if you request it, free self service laundry, shoe cleaners, computers in the lobby as well as wifi in the rooms. The staff are very friendly which in my opinion is the most important thing, they recommend good restaurants which have good prices, and explained how to use the metro very well. A very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very pleased to hear that you have appreciated our complimentary services such as the tea and coffee kettle, the fitness center and spa with our indoor pool and gym, the self-service laundry and the play station. We are pleased that you have founded our beds very confortable and overall our staff very frindly. We really look forward to welcoming you soon again!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    447
    140
    62
    41
See reviews for
200
341
58
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location was good, right next to the metro and within walking distance of many restaurants and stores. It was clean and the rooms were a good size. Unfortunately, there was a distinct smell of sewer throughout the building (possibly due to ongoing renovations), the AC was pre set by the hotel and didn't do the job and the wifi was very weak in our room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My 11 year old son and I spent 2 nights at this Best Western and give it 2 thumbs up. The goods: Clean quiet room. Nice updated bathroom, good water pressure. Comfortable bed with good pillows. Teapot in the room to make your own tea was a nice touch. The first evening we tried out the pool and other free amenities. The pool was small, but fun. There was also a "Turkish Bath" which was a steamy hot room, right next door to the dry heat sauna. There was also a modest workout room which had 2 working massage chairs (free of charge)! Breakfast was a huge buffet with juices, eggs, meats, cheeses, pastries etc. Bright, clean dining area on the 6th floor. Very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is situated right next to a Metro Stop (LIMA) and only a 10 minute to our favorite Italian gelateria (ice cream shop!) GROM. The best so make sure you go! I really have nothing bad to say about this hotel! One tip: At breakfast, instead of using the coffee/hot chocolate machine at the buffet (which is mediocre coffee-wise) give the server your coffee order (cappucino, espresso, macchiato etc.) which is much tastier and is free of charge!

Room Tip: If you're a late sleeper, you might not want to be on the 6th floor near the breakfast room sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with a friend during the summer in 2011. It's a very good-looking hotel with a nice venue.The staff were very kind and helpfull and spoke good english. The room was very nice. Good bed, nice bathroom and a balcony with street view.
The hotel was very clean, including the room. Breakfast was very good, lots of choice.
We also used the swimming pool, wich was small but very nice for a cooldown during the summer. It also had a funny ''lightning'' shower and beautycentre.
At the top of the hotelbuilding there's a terrace with a very nice view over Milan. I would recommand to take a look over there!
Another positive thing is the metro station right next/in front of the hotel..! But the ''shopping centre'' of Milan with the Duomo is also only a 20 minute walk wich is very do-able I think.
Overall, we really LOVED this hotel and when we go back to Milan we will certainly book this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

our room slept 4 people and was excellent; spacious and very comfortable. the wi-fi access in our room and throughout the hotel worked very well. the service was OK, not brilliant. the location was good in being right next to a metro stop but far from any decent restaurants/bistros to eat (we only found touristy places of low quality), and the area is slightly seedy. we would stay closer to the centre of town (ie duomo vicinity) next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early January 2013. Booked online a room for 4. It turns to be a room similar to 1-bedroom-apartment. A huge room, enough for 4 adults (2 people on a sofabed). Service is good, staff is helpful, include free breakfast for all. In-room wifi is there at a moderate speed. But for a high speed internet we can go the lobby where there are several computers for use. Laundry and Dryer is available for free. Location is second to none. Five minutes to the Duomo and city center with Metro which is right in front of the hotel. Milan Train Central Station is several blocks away. A lot of restaurants nearby. The hotel is located at Corso Buenos Aires which is a shopping street. This is not a Ritz, but for leisure travelers shall be more than enough. Rooms are fully booked with tourists when we stayed there. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a dissapointing experience! We (3 adults) stayed one night 28 December 2012 in a tripple room (601). We checked-in around 12pm and the lady at the reception desk was very unprofessional with a bad attitude, sharing an inner joke with her collegue that made us very uncomfortable, not expected at a four-star hotel. After retuning from a tour, we were unable to enter our room. We retuned THREE times to the counter to ask for assistance. On the fourth time, they sent the doorman to assist whereafter he had to return to the reception THREE times to fix the problem.

During the night, the temperature in room did not go below 25 degrees. We did follow the instructions as stipulated, at 3am the temp was 27degrees and we had to open the door of the room.

The bathroom flooded with the first shower, making it very unsafe. The shower is very small and one door cracked. The bathroom is fitted with disability fittings, but with the first shower the bathroomfloor is completely wet that will make it very unsafe especially for an older person or person with a disability. As a person working in physical rehabilitation there is no way that a person with a disability will be able to transfer safely into the shower.

There are a lot of options in Milan, think twice before making a reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for letting us know your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Hotel Galles. We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and we do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. we understand your disappoitment but we truly hope to welcome you again to Milan and be able to guarantee our 4 star service.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#37 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#50 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#53 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Piazza Lima, on the corner of Corso Buenos Aires, there is the elegant 19th century palace, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, a 4 star hotel in Milan city centre. The hotel is strategically located: the underground stop Lima is just in front of the hotel, Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping streets in Milan, is few steps away, and the Central Railway station is within walking distance. The Duomo and all Milan’s main tourist attractions are only 4 stops away from the hotel.This magnificent palace has been recently refurbished to bring you all the comfort and relax you are looking for. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including Wi-Fi in rooms & communal areas, Fitness Centre & SPA with an amazing indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, relax area with many herbal tea to choose from and a brand new area Chromotherapy with Himalayan Salt. The hotel also has available for free an Internet Point with printer & scanner, iPad Corner and Playstation Sony3. For your eco-friendly tour around the city you can rent our bikes.The 198 rooms, classic, superior and suite, are all perfectly decorated with gold or blue colour to reflect the elegant and classic style of the hotel. All rooms have free Wifi & SKY, safety deposit box, plasma or LCD TV, minibar, pillow menu . In addition to these comforts, superior and suite rooms have courtesy kit, bathrobe, slippers and kettles for coffee and tea. A rich American buffet breakfast is served at our spectacular Restaurant " La Terrazza", on the 6th floor of the hotel, where you will enjoy a skyline view of Milan while having a delicious cup of Italian coffee. The hotel has also two panoramic terraces & solarium, an hanging garden, an American Bar, a lounge, self-service laundry & ironing room, a private garage and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.