We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #55 of 427 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good location just ten minutes' direct walk from the main train station. It has a metro station over the road and is just a few stops from Duomo Station. Our room was clean and comfortable with a spacious new bathroom (although the shower leaked on the floor). It was on the second floor and there was quite a lot of street noise. There was a security problem with our room's door - when it seemed to be closed it could often just be pushed open! It was an effort to get it to close securely and this involved slamming it which was probably not appreciated by our neighbours! We would have reported this earlier but there was always a crowd of people waiting at reception. For example, we lined up on the second day to ask for a map (we weren't offered one when we checked in) but the queue was too long and we gave up.
Drinks in the bar are ludicrously expensive - 10.50 Euro for a gin and tonic! Breakfast was very nice but it took a long time to get there as there's only one elevator, I guess because it's an old building.
Reception recommended a fabulous, well-priced, nearby restaurant for us - Ristorante Salernitano (avoid the overpriced cafe over the road in Piazza Lima).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review BW Hotel Galles. We are glad to know that you liked the location and room. Every room is soundproofing. After you mentioned the room’s door problem, we checked with our head of maintenance every single one on the second floor where you stayed and we can guarantee you that that each door is working properly. We are sorry if you experience some difficulties in closing it.
We apologize for having find the reception desk always busy during the time you stayed with us and not being able to request for a map. In every room, there is a map on the desk.
Milan is a very expensive city and prices for cocktails can be up to 20 EUR. We consider ours to be in the market range.
We are glad you liked breakfast. Breakfast is served at our restaurant on the 6th floor and there are 3 lifts available to use.
We hope to welcoming you again soon during your next trip to Milan.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    448
    141
    62
    41
See reviews for
200
342
58
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel at the begining of October for a hort break with friends, the Hotel is wonderful, clean and staff are lovely. Breakfast was plentiful and loads to choose from. Idealy situated for the metro and many attractions. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Milan very soon.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I, my wife and kids spent 3 nights at this hotel during our visit to Italy and we really enjoy it. Everything was absolutely perfect; location, fitness centre & spa, wifi, and even an ipad corner where my kids enjoyed playing. Room was clean and good size, breakfast was very good too with excellent choices for an healthy start to the day. Staff was very kind and helpful. We were lucky to have sunny weather and we decided to rent bikes from the hotel and have a nice tour around the city. It was the best way to vist the city since we avoid all the traffic. I will stay again at this hotel and recommend to anybody who wishes to have an unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear such a lovely praising about the hotel and we will be delighted to host you and your family again soon.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Plus: Excellent location, good hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Minus: small rooms and the internet connection - I changed the room and in both occasion the connection (the few times that was available) kept dropping every 5 minutes. To anticipate the response from the hotel: I know there's an internet spot on the ground floor, but the one in my room is what I needed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review BW Hotel Galles. We are happy to know that you liked the hotel’s location and staff. Regarding the WiFi connection, in the past few days our IT team was working on the Wifi connection to implement it. This may have resulted in dropping the line. We apologize for the inconvenience.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Milan.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unadilla, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked this hotel through Priceline. The confirmation states "Free Parking". When we checked in to the hotel they stated they would be charging 1.2 euros per hour!! Beware of this scam if you book through priceline.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Please note that we have checked through priceline.com portal and we can assure you that it does only mention free breakfast and free internet in room no free parking option. Our parking fee is 4 EUR the first hour and 3 EUR the following ones or 26 EUR per day. If you wish to explain in detail what it did happen during your stay please feel free to contact me at direzione@galles.it and I will be able to investigate this matter further.
In the hope of welcoming again soon, I send
Best Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our tendency is to choose accommodation at city center, within a walking distance from tourist attractions and restaurants. This is why we hesitated before choosing the Best Western Hotels Galles. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that this hotel is in the vicinity of many restaurants and that thanks to the efficient Milan metro, right outside the hotel, all touristic attractions are as close as "within a walking distance".
On top of that, the rooms are very comfortable and clean, service is impeccable, wi-fi is free, breakfast is great, parking is safe (although a bit costly). What else should you look for?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to know that you did enjoy your recent stay at BW Hotel Galles and we are delighted to hear such a praising feedback from you. We really hope to welcoming you again soon to Milan.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent the night before our departure at this hotel because it's relatively close to the airport. Nothing special, but just fine. There was some noise from outside until people went home late at night. The breakfast was included and it was just acceptable. There is a swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review BW Hotel Galles. We are glad you like the hotel’s location, right in front of the underground allows easy access to both Airports, Malpensa and Linate. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities to enjoy, including a beautiful Fitness Centre & SPA , internet point with printer and scanner, iPad corner and many more. We hope you did enjoy them. Breakfast is served at our restaurant on the 6th floor with a breathtaking view over Milan and many fresh products to choose from. We are sorry to hear that it did not entirely meet your expectations.
In the hope of welcoming you again soon, I send
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#37 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#50 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#54 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Piazza Lima, on the corner of Corso Buenos Aires, there is the elegant 19th century palace, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, a 4 star hotel in Milan city centre. The hotel is strategically located: the underground stop Lima is just in front of the hotel, Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping streets in Milan, is few steps away, and the Central Railway station is within walking distance. The Duomo and all Milan’s main tourist attractions are only 4 stops away from the hotel.This magnificent palace has been recently refurbished to bring you all the comfort and relax you are looking for. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including Wi-Fi in rooms & communal areas, Fitness Centre & SPA with an amazing indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, relax area with many herbal tea to choose from and a brand new area Chromotherapy with Himalayan Salt. The hotel also has available for free an Internet Point with printer & scanner, iPad Corner and Playstation Sony3. For your eco-friendly tour around the city you can rent our bikes.The 198 rooms, classic, superior and suite, are all perfectly decorated with gold or blue colour to reflect the elegant and classic style of the hotel. All rooms have free Wifi & SKY, safety deposit box, plasma or LCD TV, minibar, pillow menu . In addition to these comforts, superior and suite rooms have courtesy kit, bathrobe, slippers and kettles for coffee and tea. A rich American buffet breakfast is served at our spectacular Restaurant " La Terrazza", on the 6th floor of the hotel, where you will enjoy a skyline view of Milan while having a delicious cup of Italian coffee. The hotel has also two panoramic terraces & solarium, an hanging garden, an American Bar, a lounge, self-service laundry & ironing room, a private garage and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.