We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, non-descript rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% off!
Ranked #55 of 427 Hotels in Milan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location, non-descript rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We took the single superior rooms as the standard ones were sold out. But the rooms were really spooky and small. The bed was good and comfortable, but the airconditioner was not working thought it was April. Made the room very uncomfortable as their technician was away for the night. Finally it was fixed the next day. The location was excellent and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review BW Hotel Galles. We are glad that you liked the hotel’s location and breakfast. Although we are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. Each room is individually styled with Italian furnishing and warm colors to make it pleasant and comfortable.
We really do hope to host you again in Milan.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    448
    142
    62
    41
See reviews for
200
342
58
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carluke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Best western galles was a great base for us, 10 min walk from stazionne centrale. Milan itself isn't the best city to visit, we were only there to see madonna in concert. However the hotel met most of our needs. It's very clean and the rooms were spacious and modern. The staff on reception were very happy to help and gave us lots of information about Milan and how to get ourselves to Lake Como without spending a fortune on a guided tour. They gave us maps to show us where to get the train etc. The pool and spa area of the hotel are beautiful! We also spent a few hours on the rooftop terrace in the sun, with great views of Milan. Only downside was the breakfast was quite basic, although there are plenty cafes and bars close by. If I'm ever back in Milan I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review about your recent stay with us. We are really happy to know you did enjoy your stay and our staff delivered an excellent service by assisting you with your requests. We are glad you liked our Fitness Centre & SPA, as we consider it to be an oasis of relaxation in the heart of Milan.
Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you very soon.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and were in a classic room on level 4 which was very quiet. We cannot fault the hotel - full breakfast included, room was small but very comfortable with beautiful bathroom and facilities. Hotel Galles is in a central position with Metro entrance directly out the front and close to shopping, excellent restaurants and we would stay here again.

Lance and Helen 27 September, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Lance and Helen,
Thank you for very much for your excellent review about your recent stay at BW Hotel Galles. We are so glad to know that you had a very enjoyable time with us and we thank you for sharing your feedback. It is pleasing to read such praising comments. .
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in Milan for a week in August. Although a lot of places do close in the summer for holidays, all the tourist attractions were open and we found lots of great places to eat. It was incredibly hot and this hotel provided a great deal of comfort!

Our room was a double and the bed was very comfortable and we found the air conditioning was suitably cool. The bathroom wasn't big, but kept very clean and the shower pressure was fantastic!

The staff were very friendly and we appreciated the wifi access. Breakfast was brilliant with a wide range of hot and cold choices that filled you up for the day ahead.

A real added bonus was the spa - although the pool was quite small, it was heavenly after spending the day in the heat outside! Again, staff were very friendly and I would certainly recommend having dinner in the restaurant, it had a good selection of food and the view was really good.

The metro was right outside the hotel and vital for getting around Milan easily, so although the hotel isn't really walking distance from the centre (although if you enjoy walking it's fine!), this made us feel we were within easy reach of everything we wanted to see.

Great hotel, would certainly go back!

Room Tip: Ask for no smoking and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I will share your very kind feedback with each and every member of my team.
We await your return to Hotel Galles.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I would love to write a positive review about this hotel but unfortunately I can't! We booked a suite room via booking.com. The room was described as having a large living area with a seperate bedroom which was perfect for four. My son 20, daughter 14, myself and my husband. Within the room description it also said that interconnecting rooms were also available, so when I booked I stated that would be my preference. Unfortunately we did not get either a suite room or a interconnecting rooms. We were given one small room with a double and two single beds. I later found out (after returning) that the room allocated is actually advertised as a triple. We were only in Milan for three days and spent the first two days trying to get the hotel to change us to the room we had actually booked. They were initially not very helpful but eventually moved as to a suite room on our last day. Not only did they refuse to compensate us, they were actually trying to charge us an extra 100 euros for the change of room. I am deeply disappointed at what I can only describe as deceit. To allocate a triple room when a suite room for four people has been booked shows a lack of integrity and a complete disregard for their customers. It's such a shame because the hotel is in a great location but my our experience and the complete mismanagement of our complaint has put us off ever booking this hotel again.

I should add that booking.com have been absolutely excellent in helping us attempt to pursue a partial refund from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Galles. Our team put great efforts in delivering great guest experiences and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to thank you for highlighting the concerns you experienced as it help us improving the service. On your arrival, we did our best to satisfy your request as per your email and allocate two rooms next to each other at no extra charge, 1 double for you and your husband and 1 twin for your sons. We understand that it may have caused some inconveniences and we really do apologize for it.
We hope to be able to host you again during your next stay in Milan.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Good location but a VERY average hotel. I paid E1400 for two nights, so I expected a really good hotel. It was the Grand Prix weekend so perhaps that had something to do with the ludicrous price relative to value. I stayed in a single room which was clean and functional but you could hardly swing a cat in it. The shower was the width of my shoulders, reminded me of a caravan shower. Certainly nothing to write home about. Not for me, won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel’s location. However we are sorry you were disappointed with the room and price paid. Gran Prix is a very big event in Milan and hotels’ prices may be higher than other period of the year. Although the hotel have a good quality/price ratio in Milan, considering its excellent location and many complimentary amenities offered, including Wifi Internet Point, Fitness Centre & SPA with pool, sauna, steam room and whirlpools. Each room is individually styled in color, size and décor to bring comfort and relaxation. We wished you had mentioned the problems in the location of your accommodations so we could have probably be able to provide you with a room aligned with your taste.
We really hope to redeem ourselves and look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just spent 4 days at Hotel Galles when we were in Milan for a meeting. The meeting was held at MiCo (Milan Convention Center), which was completely across town from the hotel. The hotel is rated 4 star, but it is really just a 3 star in the States. The rooms are small but clean. You do get free WiFi and breakfast. The breakfast is nothing special at all. What makes this a very nice hotel is the subway station is right at the front door! To get to the MiCo, all we had to do is walk outside of the hotel and immediately go down to the subway. Then a straight 30 minute train ride and you are there. Every hotel is expensive, and the Galles is no exception. But Milan is expensive. We would stay there again just because of the fantastic convenience to the subway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review BW Hotel Galles and for choosing us to stay for your business trip.
We have stringent cleaning measures in place in order to ensure that the highest hygiene standards are maintained at all times and we appreciate that you did find the room clean.
Breakfast is usually appreciated by our guests, offering a variety of savory, sweets and healthy choices and we are sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectation. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including access to Fitness Centre & SPA, iPad Corner, Internet point and many more, contributing to the star rate.
We are glad that you like the location as it allows easy access in & around the city.
We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#37 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#50 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#54 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Piazza Lima, on the corner of Corso Buenos Aires, there is the elegant 19th century palace, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, a 4 star hotel in Milan city centre. The hotel is strategically located: the underground stop Lima is just in front of the hotel, Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping streets in Milan, is few steps away, and the Central Railway station is within walking distance. The Duomo and all Milan’s main tourist attractions are only 4 stops away from the hotel.This magnificent palace has been recently refurbished to bring you all the comfort and relax you are looking for. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including Wi-Fi in rooms & communal areas, Fitness Centre & SPA with an amazing indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, relax area with many herbal tea to choose from and a brand new area Chromotherapy with Himalayan Salt. The hotel also has available for free an Internet Point with printer & scanner, iPad Corner and Playstation Sony3. For your eco-friendly tour around the city you can rent our bikes.The 198 rooms, classic, superior and suite, are all perfectly decorated with gold or blue colour to reflect the elegant and classic style of the hotel. All rooms have free Wifi & SKY, safety deposit box, plasma or LCD TV, minibar, pillow menu . In addition to these comforts, superior and suite rooms have courtesy kit, bathrobe, slippers and kettles for coffee and tea. A rich American buffet breakfast is served at our spectacular Restaurant " La Terrazza", on the 6th floor of the hotel, where you will enjoy a skyline view of Milan while having a delicious cup of Italian coffee. The hotel has also two panoramic terraces & solarium, an hanging garden, an American Bar, a lounge, self-service laundry & ironing room, a private garage and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.