We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% off!
Ranked #61 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Banstead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unhelpful!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I would love to write a positive review about this hotel but unfortunately I can't! We booked a suite room via booking.com. The room was described as having a large living area with a seperate bedroom which was perfect for four. My son 20, daughter 14, myself and my husband. Within the room description it also said that interconnecting rooms were also available, so when I booked I stated that would be my preference. Unfortunately we did not get either a suite room or a interconnecting rooms. We were given one small room with a double and two single beds. I later found out (after returning) that the room allocated is actually advertised as a triple. We were only in Milan for three days and spent the first two days trying to get the hotel to change us to the room we had actually booked. They were initially not very helpful but eventually moved as to a suite room on our last day. Not only did they refuse to compensate us, they were actually trying to charge us an extra 100 euros for the change of room. I am deeply disappointed at what I can only describe as deceit. To allocate a triple room when a suite room for four people has been booked shows a lack of integrity and a complete disregard for their customers. It's such a shame because the hotel is in a great location but my our experience and the complete mismanagement of our complaint has put us off ever booking this hotel again.

I should add that booking.com have been absolutely excellent in helping us attempt to pursue a partial refund from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Galles. Our team put great efforts in delivering great guest experiences and we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to thank you for highlighting the concerns you experienced as it help us improving the service. On your arrival, we did our best to satisfy your request as per your email and allocate two rooms next to each other at no extra charge, 1 double for you and your husband and 1 twin for your sons. We understand that it may have caused some inconveniences and we really do apologize for it.
We hope to be able to host you again during your next stay in Milan.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    456
    140
    44
    24
See reviews for
207
330
51
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Good location but a VERY average hotel. I paid E1400 for two nights, so I expected a really good hotel. It was the Grand Prix weekend so perhaps that had something to do with the ludicrous price relative to value. I stayed in a single room which was clean and functional but you could hardly swing a cat in it. The shower was the width of my shoulders, reminded me of a caravan shower. Certainly nothing to write home about. Not for me, won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel’s location. However we are sorry you were disappointed with the room and price paid. Gran Prix is a very big event in Milan and hotels’ prices may be higher than other period of the year. Although the hotel have a good quality/price ratio in Milan, considering its excellent location and many complimentary amenities offered, including Wifi Internet Point, Fitness Centre & SPA with pool, sauna, steam room and whirlpools. Each room is individually styled in color, size and décor to bring comfort and relaxation. We wished you had mentioned the problems in the location of your accommodations so we could have probably be able to provide you with a room aligned with your taste.
We really hope to redeem ourselves and look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just spent 4 days at Hotel Galles when we were in Milan for a meeting. The meeting was held at MiCo (Milan Convention Center), which was completely across town from the hotel. The hotel is rated 4 star, but it is really just a 3 star in the States. The rooms are small but clean. You do get free WiFi and breakfast. The breakfast is nothing special at all. What makes this a very nice hotel is the subway station is right at the front door! To get to the MiCo, all we had to do is walk outside of the hotel and immediately go down to the subway. Then a straight 30 minute train ride and you are there. Every hotel is expensive, and the Galles is no exception. But Milan is expensive. We would stay there again just because of the fantastic convenience to the subway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review BW Hotel Galles and for choosing us to stay for your business trip.
We have stringent cleaning measures in place in order to ensure that the highest hygiene standards are maintained at all times and we appreciate that you did find the room clean.
Breakfast is usually appreciated by our guests, offering a variety of savory, sweets and healthy choices and we are sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectation. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including access to Fitness Centre & SPA, iPad Corner, Internet point and many more, contributing to the star rate.
We are glad that you like the location as it allows easy access in & around the city.
We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you ar ein Milan for shopping or for business, this is a great hotel. It is not very expensive, the location is great, very nice breakfast.. Hotel team is helpfull. Try to reserve rooms above 3rd floor, if you have serious sleeping problems. As this is just on the busy street and above the Lima Metro station, it can be a bit noisy.
Some of the rooms have very small bathroom. Small, but convenient... :)

Room Tip: Mre quiet on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

best hotel I stayed in Milan, right in the center with a walking distance to almost everything, a lot of food options around with a decent room and service. Much recommended out of all the hotels I stayed in Milan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very delighted to hear your positive feedback and hope to welcoming you again to Milan.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was disappointed with the service particularly staff at reception. Only one person could speak English at reception desk and was not helpful at all. His mannerisms was appalling and disgraceful. When asked about the best transport to the airport he just listed ways and didn't provide useful information.

The most frustrating part of our stay here was when we were woken up at half seven in the morning by a member of staff to drop in toilet roll that we didn't request and had arranged with the hotel a late check out. We couldn't get back to sleep because of the staff making noise cleaning the hallway.

Overall its ok location and clean rooms but too expensive for what it offers. Would not recommend

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us. All of our Front Desk staff speak English and wish you had mentioned the problems both in the location of your accommodations, and in the quality of service you received prior to your departure, to give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves. Please be sure that we will follow up with the staff members involved, in Housekeeping, the Front Desk, and the Service staff, to ensure that this does not happen again. Kindly contact me directly at direzione@galles.it so that I can review in details this situation and get back to you. We hope you will accept our apologies. We truly value your opinion and look forward to winning you back for the future.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is basic and functional. Our room was tiny! Had booked it through an agent and noticed that the rooms we booked ourselves in other cities had better rooms. Our room was in the annexe so make sure yours isn't. The bathroom was insanely small. Once in the shower you can't move much or at all. If your soap falls to the ground picking it up is a riddle. Out of the shower you are almost in the john. Otherwise it was sufficiently clean. Only place the hotel wins is the location which is on the street with lots of budget shopping stores and a popular gelateria 'Grom'. Further down that road was the more upmarket high street, name of which I forget. Reception service was friendly. But next time around another hotel for sure. I'm sure there were better rooms but overall it just wasn't very comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the Annexe. And ask them the size of the bathroom and try to compare with ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbarretti, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Galles. We are very sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations, each hotel room is individually styled allowing guests to relax in total comfort. However we are really happy to know that service, hotel’s location and cleanness were positive.
We really do hope to host you again and improve your first impression.
Kind Regards
Arnaldo Sbarretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles

Address: Piazza Lima 2, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Milan
#16 Spa Hotel in Milan
#22 Family Hotel in Milan
#40 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#44 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#63 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Piazza Lima, on the corner of Corso Buenos Aires, there is the elegant 19th century palace, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, a 4 star hotel in Milan city centre. The hotel is strategically located: the underground stop Lima is just in front of the hotel, Corso Buenos Aires, one of the main shopping streets in Milan, is few steps away, and the Central Railway station is within walking distance. The Duomo and all Milan's main tourist attractions are only 4 stops away from the hotel.This magnificent palace has been recently refurbished to bring you all the comfort and relax you are looking for. The hotel offers many complimentary amenities, including Wi-Fi in rooms & communal areas, Fitness Centre & SPA with an amazing indoor heated pool, sauna, Turkish bath, relax area with many herbal tea to choose from and a brand new area Chromotherapy with Himalayan Salt. The hotel also has available for free an Internet Point with printer & scanner, iPad Corner and Playstation Sony3. For your eco-friendly tour around the city you can rent our bikes.The 198 rooms, classic, superior and suite, are all perfectly decorated with gold or blue colour to reflect the elegant and classic style of the hotel. All rooms have free Wifi & SKY, safety deposit box, plasma or LCD TV, minibar, pillow menu . In addition to these comforts, superior and suite rooms have courtesy kit, bathrobe, slippers and kettles for coffee and tea. A rich American buffet breakfast is served at our spectacular Restaurant " La Terrazza", on the 6th floor of the hotel, where you will enjoy a skyline view of Milan while having a delicious cup of Italian coffee. The hotel has also two panoramic terraces & solarium, an hanging garden, an American Bar, a lounge, self-service laundry & ironing room, a private garage and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galles
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Galles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.