We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for shopping but not many restaurant around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cavour Hotel to your Saves list
Cavour Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fatebenefratelli 21, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #127 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location for shopping but not many restaurant around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Was there on the 12th - 15 th June 2013. We booked two executive room. Stayed in room 223 and 227.
I was impressed with the room . Modern, big nice and I love the bathroom .
Room 223 with all the high tech renovation . The safe and the room door is not working . We have to go down to the reception to get our card scan again and again before we could get the room door open .
In room 227 for two early mornings the next building was doing some renovation "drilling" at 8 am . I called the reception and they said is not their problem ! Why on earth do they put me in a room so close by the renovation area . I seriously think the manager have deal with this situation poorly ! I was upset paying so much for a room to relax and u get a rude reception to tell you there is nothing they can do ! Reception attitude is zero ! Poor ! Only the bartender , porters and the waiters are good . I will not return to this hotel with the price I am paying for the executive room I am sure there are better hotel who can give better services !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sirs,
we thank you for your comment always useful to understand how improve our service. We just would like to clarify a misunderstanding. Our reception intended that drilling noise was not in our building. It was unsepected so to stop the noise we had to understand from where the noise was coming, find the responsabe to speak about it and arrange situation in order our guests were not disturbed anymore.
This was what we did as soon we were informed about the problem, but of course, it needed a little bit of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    169
    75
    26
    7
See reviews for
46
97
24
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice short stay. Bed was comfy. Room was really clean. The staff was nice. Breakfast was OK. Parking is pricey. If I ever come back to Milan, that's a good option.
Hotel location is OK, as it is in walking distance to sites in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sirs,
we thank you very much for your comment very helpful to better understand our guests aspectatives.
We hope to have the opportunity to make your stay in Milan enjoyable soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice looking hotel.
Large, pleasant room.
reasonable breakfast but selection of meats were all Pork. Asked for alternatives but none were available. Also if you wanted them to prepare an omelette etc then you will be charged extra.
Staff pretty much did the bear minimum to help but I found this was the standard in Italy (maybe we were just unlucky....)
First room stank of smoke, second room the safe was broken, third room was nice (apart from broken sink which did not get fixed properly during our 4 night stay.
The location was very good for an easy walk into the shopping centre of Milan, 15 min walk to Duomo etc.
The restaurant seemed pretty expensive but to be fair we did not use it due to the prices.
This hotel is rated 4 Star but I think that is based purely on location. In UK it would be more of a 2 Star.

Room Tip: All e rooms we tried seemed similar - all pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment very helpfull for us. I just would like to inform that omlette are to be prepeared but you can find scrambled eggs on our buffet with no extra charge.
We sould be very happy if you would like to help us suggesting what you would like to find over buffet as meat. At the moment we have a very high quality selection of Ham, beacon, sausage...
Also, as we had no notice about it, it would very helpful for us if you can indicate us in which rooms you found safe, sink not properly working (please write to me at manager@hotelcavour.it)
We are sorry about smoke smelling but we would like to advise you that we have no smoking rooms (please ask at reservation time), hypoallergic rooms (no moquette and anallergic tratement) or better new executive no smoking hypoallergic rooms (we are shure you will find five stars opinion about these rooms).
We thank you again and we hope to heve the opportunity to show you our new services during your next stay in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was the 3rd time that my husband and I stayed at Cavour Hotel, in MIlan.
The room was as clean, with welcome chocolates. The breakfast apart from the typical that one expects had really nice and fresh fruit salad and the waiters offered freshly made cappucino.
The Hotel is just 3 minutes from via de la Spiga and Montenapoleone and really close to the Duomo. As a loyal costumer, I stronly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Mrs. Dayio,
thank you very much for your comment. We hope to have the chance to make your staying in Milan really enjoiable. We take the opportunity to inform you that we have special offers for coming Depeche Mode and Santna Concert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed there very long time ago, but remember about it like it was yesterday. Very good location (10 minutes walk from La Scala Theatre and 15 minutes away on foot from Milan Cathedral) One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Will book it again if I will be in Milan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sirs, we thank you very muche for your cooment. We hope to have soon the opportunity to make all our effort to make enjoyable your staying in Milan and to show you our new executive floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just what the doctor ordered for a city break. Within walking distance of everything. The hotel was lovely and elegant. The breakfast was consistently good. Staff were ever helpful with directions and adapters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment, we assure you that we shall strive again to make your visit in Milan a wonderful and relaxing exeprience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The location is terrific - can walk everywhere. The rooms are a bit small, but we found the service to be good. The lobby is always busy with people coming and going. Breakfast is good and they have a restaurant and a bar in the hotel. The location of the hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment always helpful for us. We hope to have the opportunity to make pleasant your journey in Milan and f you will prefer larger rooms we can suggest you our suites or executive rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavour Hotel

Address: Via Fatebenefratelli 21, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Milan
#91 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavour is a 4 stars Hotel Cavour in Milan city centre, 113 rooms just few steps away from Via Montenapoleone and the Fashion district.Built in 1959 and renovated in 2012, is the perfect solution for those who appreciate the charme of the 60's Classic or Superior Rooms and 5 Suites, all rooms have a well-stocked fridge-bar, 32” LCD screen, multi-tongue satellite TV, high speed connections for your PC, air conditioning with individual adjustment, a safe box, coverture, laundry service and room service from 7 am to midnightThe Conte Camillo Restaurant is a great location to experience the real Italian cuisine in a refined atmosphere with attention to detail.Regarding Meeting & Events possibilities, 3 meeting rooms with capacity from 8 to 80 persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cavour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavour Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.