We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful experience in the centre of the city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavour Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cavour Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavour Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fatebenefratelli 21, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #148 of 432 hotels in Milan
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful experience in the centre of the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel place the guest at the center, taking care of your needs. I had a little terrace in my room, could see the top of the Duomo. I received a beautiful welcome. I did not want to leave.
Beautiful breakfast every morning, many delicious items on the menu. Few steps from the
public garden and American Embassy. I did not consider the rooms small based on other
hotels.Management is excellent and I recommend Hotel Cavour

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment very helpful to better understand our guests wishes.
we are happy you found pleasant your stay in our Hotel and we hope to have the opportunity soon to let you have a very nice stay in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    148
    66
    25
    6
See reviews for
32
75
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed one night in Milan at Cavour Hotel. The staff were friendly, room very clean and very well presented. Ideal location, within a few minutes walk of a train station (probably 20 minutes walk of the central station), the duomo and main shopping district. Breakfast was a continental buffet with some hot eggs and meat but plenty to keep you going and lovely service. There are plenty of places to eat and lots to do nearby which is a plus.

Wifi advertised is misleading in that you can get it in the rooms at a charge but for those wanting free access there is two computers opposite the reception desk which has it for free for 20minutes per guest.

It is a lovely hotel, but I personally think it is overpriced for the facilities it has. You are paying more for the location which was great and I would recommend it for that reason only otherwise if ever visiting Milan again I would possibly look to stay somewhere cheaper and a little further away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment. We are really happy you appreciated all our effort to let have to our guest a nice experience in his staying in Milan.
About the rate we just would like to point the attention to the fact that, due to the fashon events, this is one of the few very high requested period. By this reason, for your next visit i Milan, before you choose another area, we suggest our rates. Probably you will find really lower rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here with my family back in June of 2012. We stayed overnight on our way to France to break up the trip and to allow my sister and her husband to see Milan and a bit of Italy. We drove our car and had a bit of trouble with our Garmin finding the hotel, so be sure to print out the map and don't rely just on a machine to get you there. The hotel has some parking, but it is not guaranteed, so ask before you come. We got the last spot. If you go by train/plain, you'll have no problem. Once you get to the hotel, you don't need a car anymore. You are basically within a few minutes walk of all the high end shops, the Duomo, etc. Easy walking. The hotel was fine for the price - we had a very nice room, small but efficient, clean. The breakfast buffet was great! We had no problems with noise at all. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again. So a good deal for the location and the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you for your comment very helpful for us in order to understand aspectative of our guests and request for new service. We hope to have you again at Hotel Cavour. We shall have the opportunity to show our effort to improve our service

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

_ This was our second stay at the Cavour - we left the first time because we could hear the the television and conversation in the next door room - hotel web site now advertises " sound proofed rooms " - this is not the case as we had to change rooms on this second visit in order to avoid hearing both the conversation and the television next door
_ we felt that the mid week rate of Eur 240 was very poor value given the tired , slightly down at heal appearance of the hotel
_ I agree with the other readers who say that the front counter staff are condescending and unfriendly .
_ Hotel advertises free Wifi in rooms but it simply does not work - front counter staff told me that it was a fault with my computer

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no adjoining neighbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your comment very usefull to improve our service. We advertize "sound proof rooms" as we did an oustanding work that copletely cut the noise from the street. In fact, after accurate studies we mounted two double windows with 4 glasses of different size to cut every different noise frecuency and our guests are very happy for the great result we achevied. With your comment we acknowledge you had problem with internal noise form other rooms. This is new for us but we take note about it and we shall work on it too.
About wi-fi, even if we have no other malfunction reports by other guests, we checked with three differnet PC and we have to confirm our wifi is working corectly. Some computer have hard restrictions for privacy or security as non permission for pop up or no permission to connect to the net excepted the one setted in your security area but these option can be handled only by the PC owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
412 helpful votes 412 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My four month pregnant wife and I stayed for 5 nights at Hotel Cavour. Before our arrival, I had several e-mail exchanges with the reservation desk as well as the hotel manager who responded positively to our specific requests.

Although I agree with several Tripadvisor members that the rooms are small (probably around 15-16 square meters), I know as a frequent Milan traveller that hotel rooms of several comparable hotels are even smaller. During the last five years, I stayed at other 4 star hotels, such as Carrobbio, Crowne Plaza City Centre, Starhotel Anderson,Sir Edward (now closed) and their rooms were even smaller than that of Hotel Cavour. Therefore, I do not consider the room size of Hotel Cavour as a shortcoming or whatsoever.

Regarding the location and friendliness of the staff, however, Hotel Cavour beats all of these hotels which I mentioned above. The hotel is only 2 minutes away from Via della Spiga, 7-8 minutes walking distance to Brera and Scala Theatre, and 12-15 minute walk to Duomo.

The breakfast is served at a mezzanine-like floor, and includes lots of cereals, fresh fruits and cheese. Nevertheless, there are no tomatoes or any other kind of vegetables which I consider a minor shortcoming.

Overall, I would strongly recommend Hotel Cavour to business and leisure travelers alike, and salute the management of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you really much for your comment. We are very happy you felt well on our hospitality and we promise your to do our best to make pleasant your stay in Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I go to Milan many times a year and always stay at the Cavour as iideal cation is perfect (walking distance to all the main shops) and not too expensive - the staff are friendly and helpful, the lobby area is ideal for doing some work ( also there is a business centre downstairs), I love the snacks at the bar in the afternoon and the restaurant for dinner serves great food and is reasonably priced.
Rooms vary in size depending on your number but in general mine have been spacious and you also have an option of a hypo allergenic room ( one difference is no carpets). Quite a lot of English tv channel options.

I recommend the breakfast buffet they have a large variety and usually you can get a bed and breakfast deal which also includes wifi ( I recommend this as otherwise you have to pay quite a lot extra to use wifi and for breakfast)

Room Tip: You have a choice of hypoallergenic rooms which have wooden floors and special pillows (usual rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir,
we thank you very much for your kind comment very helpfull for us. About wi fi connection we would like to inform you that it is free for direct booking trough our website.
We hope to have the plesure to have you as our guest soon.
Yours sincerely
Guido Gallia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A nice old style city centre hotel room Okay, Ideal hotel for touring the shopping scene, found the service a bit aloof, and stuffy not the personal touch you would expect from this type of hotel, however the other F1 enthusiast staying in the hotel made the stay amusing,
We did make the mistake of ordering room service,it was inedible some sort of veal embalmed in salt quite disgusting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contebenso, Direttore at Cavour Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,
we thank you very muche for your comment very usefull for us. We take it in great consideration and we are striving to improve our service. A loto of work already was done from your last visit and we hope to have the opportunity to show our improvement during your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavour Hotel

Address: Via Fatebenefratelli 21, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavour Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavour is a 4 stars Hotel Cavour in Milan city centre, 113 rooms just few steps away from Via Montenapoleone and the Fashion district.Built in 1959 and renovated in 2012, is the perfect solution for those who appreciate the charme of the 60's Classic or Superior Rooms and 5 Suites, all rooms have a well-stocked fridge-bar, 32” LCD screen, multi-tongue satellite TV, high speed connections for your PC, air conditioning with individual adjustment, a safe box, coverture, laundry service and room service from 7 am to midnightThe Conte Camillo Restaurant is a great location to experience the real Italian cuisine in a refined atmosphere with attention to detail.Regarding Meeting & Events possibilities, 3 meeting rooms with capacity from 8 to 80 persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cavour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavour Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.