We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Anderson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Starhotels Anderson to your Saves list
Starhotels Anderson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Luigi di Savoia 20, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 430 Hotels in Milan
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Milan was our last stop of our Italy trip, and for just two nights, Starhotels was the perfect choice. From the exterior it does not say much, but once you step inside, it is pristine, contemporary, sophisticated and accesible to excellent transportation. It is right across from the Milan Statione Centrale, where you can also find the airport buses.During the year the area hotels cater to business and convention clientele, but it slows down a bit during the summer months. I was able to book an excellent on line price, which included a very nice breakfast!
When we got in, the staff was very helpfull in providing info about Milan's interesting areas and restaurants. The room was spacious, king size bed, mini fridge, great lighting in the bathroom, wi-fi, etc.From the hotel, we usually caught the metro, but on our last night we had a nice walk over to their other shopping area, Corso Buenos Aires and ended up having a great dinner in that area in a small side street.
Make sure to visit and dine in the Navigable area and do try to get tickets ahead of time to Da Vinci's The Last Supper! Lovely!
This was a great choice, and I will look up this Italian chain of boutique hotels on my next trip to any European city! .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson18_11, Responsabile reception at Starhotels Anderson, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Mrs Linda17Ne,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment about your stay and for choosing our hotel in Milan. I will make sure all the staff will be aware of the good job done, I am sure everybody will be happy to read your nice review. In addition we thank you also for the beautiful words about our hotel.
Thank you for your kind review and I really hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    434
    75
    21
    12
See reviews for
80
399
65
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pfaffikon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

By far the best of their collection we were staying so far. Like the other hotels in this renowned Italian group, it reflects the spirit of the city, blending tradition with contemporary sophistication in eclectic and unique style. The same elegance and class but no grandeur; refined yet homely space, with a touch of hospitality which makes it stand out from other Starhotels. Although the reception staff weren’t overwhelmingly welcoming on arrival, the manager on departure made the whole difference - he was genuinely friendly and charming, real pleasure to chat with. Nice experience, we won't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson18_11, Responsabile reception at Starhotels Anderson, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Mrs Helen O,

Thank you for staying at the Starhotels Anderson and sharing your feedback.
This is for us a very important opportunity to constantly improve our level of service.
We are extremely happy to read your beautiful words about our hotel and we thank you a lot. On the other hand, we have also taken into consideration your comment about the Staff that at your arrival weren’t overwhelmingly.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience occurred.
We hope to welcome you back in the future during your next stay in Milan.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July 2014 and found it to be roomy, clean and the service very good. Breakfasts were adequate and the hotel is well situated to Milano centrale station, making it an easy commute if you are coming to Milan by train. The airport bus is also just across the road.

Downsides are the resturant is a little pricey for what you get ( which isn't much) and the hotel is four or so stops on the subway to the sites if il duomo, la scala etc. The hotel decor is fresh and interesting however the lobby is down a flight if stairs which make for a challenge if travelling with large luggage or if you are elderly.

The outside of the hotel is rather drab however the inside makes up for it. Apparently from other reviewers good restaurants are within walking distance. We stated only one night in transit to Singapore with family so used the hotel resturant.


Overall, well priced and good hotel. I would reuse again as a stopover however if I was in Milan for a few more days I would probably want something more central.

We had adjoining rooms for our family, two small children aged 9 and 5, and 2 adults. These rooms met our needs well.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson18_11, Responsabile reception at Starhotels Anderson, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear MC12345,

Thank you for staying at the Starhotels Anderson and sharing your feedback.
This is for us a very important opportunity to constantly improve our level of service.
We are extremely happy to read that you appreciate your stay in our hotel On the other hand, we have also seriously taken into consideration your comment about our restaurant.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience occurred.
We hope to welcome you back in the future during your next stay in Milan.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

excellent location, right across from Milan Central Train station. ( If you take express bus from MXP airport, you can see the hotel when the bus arrives at the destination)
The hotel looks quite old from the street view but once you enter the hotel it's so nice and cozy.
Hotel facilities is excellent. Bed is comfortable , toiletries , towel ,shampoo and etc. Lot of space for luggage and storage. Bathroom is nice and water pressure is strong.
Breakfast is okay but a lady who works there is wonderful.
A receptionist , Anatasia is very nice and very helpful.
We really had a nice stay at this hotel. If you are from The United states, do not worry about bringing your own adaptor because the hotel has 110 volt from the wall. Super convenience for PC and phone.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 201 and our view is just a neighbor building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson18_11, Responsabile reception at Starhotels Anderson, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Love49ers,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment about your stay and for choosing our hotel in Milan. I will make sure all the staff will be aware of the good job done, I am sure everybody will be happy to read your nice review.
Thank you for your kind review and I really hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Anderson Hotel is a perfectly suitable business hotel. If you're not there for business, the location is amazing. Your train stop is at Central station, so you are in a perfect location... the rooms are comfortable and and clean... no frills, no fuss. The beds are cozy and the windows open up wide to allow a fresh breeze to come in... The hotel itself is quite trendy and the customer service was great. If breakfast is an option, go for it... I stayed for 6 days and the service was lovely each and every morning. I would certainly use Anderson again, it was a lovely stay. (And I just love Milano...)

Room Tip: High floor is a better breeze and possibly a better view. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson18_11, Responsabile reception at Starhotels Anderson, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Islandlux,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment about your stay and for choosing our hotel in Milan. I will make sure all the staff will be aware of the good job done, I am sure everybody will be happy to read your nice review.
Thank you for your kind review and I really hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice clean and comfortable hotel near the central station. Everyone was very nice and helpful with directions and advice. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean and the a/c worked like a charm. The breakfast was simple, but good enough to get you going and hold you over till lunch.

I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced hotel near the station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson18_11, Responsabile reception at Starhotels Anderson, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Wall232,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment about your stay and for choosing our hotel in Milan. I will make sure all the staff will be aware of the good job done, I am sure everybody will be happy to read your nice review.
Thank you for your kind review and I really hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The only complaint I have is that we had to carry a stroller down a flight of steps to get in the place and that there was no elevator. Otherwise it was affordably priced and close to the Centrale Station (Which can be good or bad depending on what your goals are).

Breakfast was great. Rooms were clean and nicely designed. Some are larger than others, but that's the luck of the draw I suppose (We had two rooms).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anderson18_11, Responsabile reception at Starhotels Anderson, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Petesperl,
Thank you for staying at the Starhotels Anderson and sharing your feedback.
This is for us a very important opportunity to constantly improve our level of service.
We are extremely happy to read that you spent a nice with us. On the other hand, we have also seriously taken into consideration your comment about the steps that you have done to carry your bags without any help from our bellman
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience occurred.
We hope to welcome you back in the future during your next stay in Milan.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Anderson

Address: Piazza Luigi di Savoia 20, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#30 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#40 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#61 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Anderson 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starhotels Anderson Hotel in Milan is located near the city centre, directly opposite the Centrale Train Station. True to its location, our 4 star hotel in Milan has a metropolitan lounge atmosphere and is a landmark hotel for the Italian fashion industry.Staying here means it's easy for you to reach the historical centre and explore the most exclusive shops and Galleria, fashionable spots and the Navigli. The Starhotels Anderson in Milan features 106 contemporary rooms and suites, 4 conference rooms for up to a total of 70 people. Our Fitness Room is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Starhotels Anderson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Anderson Milan
Starhotels Anderson Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Anderson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;