We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location & great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Anderson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels Anderson to your Saves list
Starhotels Anderson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Luigi di Savoia 20, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Location, location, location & great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is located across the Central Train Station and is a fantastic base for visiting Milan. This was our second stay in Milan and we were delighted with our hotel choice.
We arrived at the hotel at lunchtime and although we were early for check in, our room was ready! We had a room on the 6th floor with partial views of the station. It is a busy area and as mentioned in other reviews, the subway runs below the hotel. I, however, did not see it as a problem. The hotel is modern and very comfortable. The room and bathroom are well equipped.

We were there for 3 nights and unfortunately, our stay did not go according to plans as I became quite ill on our first morning there. A lovely gentleman at reception arranged for a doctor to come and see me. I was seen within an hour. When the Dr left, reception rang us and offered to send a staff member to get the medicine I needed. This was such a nice gesture. We, however declined and my husband went to get what I needed.
The staff was very attentive and very very helpful so a big thank you to them for all their help!!!

I would definitely stay there again as it is such a conveniently located hotel and it was great value for money as hotels in Milan can be quite expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    486
    82
    23
    13
See reviews for
97
429
67
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, WV
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel was full of high style. We LOVED it and could have stayed here much longer! The hotel is so convenient to the metro and to the train station. We also walked to a great dinner from the hotel. The rooms were so nice. They felt brand new and modern. The finishes were gorgeous and the bathroom full of style too. I would highly recommend this hotel. The value for the price paid was WONDERFUL also. The breakfast was fabulous also. Great variety and one of the nicest atmospheres for a hotel breakfast we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Personnel eager to help.
Location next to station and several restaurants.
Facilities good e.g TV in bathroom, robes etc
Breakfast included and was decent with hot and cold options as well as great Italian coffee!

A good four star hotel.

****low rooms have some underground tube noises so ask for high room if needed but not a big issue as they don't run during night ***

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is great for traversing the city as it is by train and metro and airport coach shuttle stops. It does mean it's a trek by foot to duomo, but still walkable. Hotel is boutique in style with some lovely decor. Staff were very efficient but perhaps front desk staff were not especially 'warm' with their manner which some reviewers I noted found a problem, we didn't and all was good. The hotel does rumble due to the metro underneath but I am a light sleeper, we were on 1st floor and the noise didn't disturb us, though we could hear it. All in all, worth the money and had a lovely time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Arrived in the afternoon, Hotel seemed clean and nicely decorated, our end room on the top floor near the exit stairwell was a good size. Left the Hotel for approx 1 1/2 hrs only to find when we came back our Room Safe had been broken into and everything was taken! Staff were not helpful & didn't seem to care. Train station across the road was probably not the best idea. Would never recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is located across from the main train station. There are numerous other hotel options nearby. This is costs a little more than others so I expect it to the superior than others. It partially met my expectations.

Pros
-Excellent location. It's across the street from the main train station, subway, airport shuttle (10 euros to the airport). It's the best location in town.
-Newly renovated inside. Very modern.
-Very good breakfast with lots of variety. There was a female waiter there who really made an impression of being friendly, delightful and efficient.
-Some food options nearby.

Cons
-I was given an small corner room. It's about half the size of a normal hotel room. I almost felt claustrophobic. I felt like I was in Japan.
-The subway is directly underneath the hotel. When the subway passes you can hear. During non-peak hour it's every 8 minutes or so, but much more frequent during peak hours. When the train passes the building rumbles a little. Not good for light sleeper. Otherwise there is no street noise from the outside.
-8 euros per day of internet. And the WIFI reception is poor and drops out often.
-Unlike the friendly female waiter in the breakfast room, the front desk staff wasn't too friendly.
-The bed is a bit hard.

The highlight of the hotel is the location. I think it can improve on its front desk service. Overall it's a good hotel because it's newly renovated and well located.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found the location of the Hotel convenient with the Station across the road and access to underground and national trains within mins walk.The hotel was very well presented and the rooms were of a decent size for Europe standard with good amenities and the bonus of Tea and coffee and an excellent complimentary breakfast in a very pleasant breakfast room.
Staff were very helpful .

Room Tip: The corner rooms seemed larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Anderson

Address: Piazza Luigi di Savoia 20, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Milan
#39 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#55 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Anderson 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starhotels Anderson Hotel in Milan is located near the city centre, directly opposite the Centrale Train Station. True to its location, our 4 star hotel in Milan has a metropolitan lounge atmosphere and is a landmark hotel for the Italian fashion industry.Staying here means it's easy for you to reach the historical centre and explore the most exclusive shops and Galleria, fashionable spots and the Navigli. The Starhotels Anderson in Milan features 106 contemporary rooms and suites, 4 conference rooms for up to a total of 70 people. Our Fitness Room is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Splendia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Starhotels Anderson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Anderson Milan
Starhotels Anderson Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Anderson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.