We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Baglioni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel Baglioni to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Via Senato, 20121 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is elegant, very conveniently located, traditional and classy. The staff are incredibly polite and always trying to do their very best to answer any questions you may have, I.e. suggesting restaurants, introducing milan, shopping etc. I can say that the service at this hotel was impeccable. I had left a pair of shoes in the room and the hotel was kind enough to pos those to me. Overall, very impressed and would definitely recommend staying here if what you are looking for is italian luxury and service at its finest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your comment makes us extremely proud and gives us the certainty we are going to the right direction.
Our aim is always to improve and, most of all, maintain our high quality standards, both in professionalism and courtesy, so guest like you, who appreciate luxury in its best, will always come back to your Milanese home when in Italy.
We look forward to welcome you again soon,
Best regards,
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    70
    21
    11
    8
See reviews for
31
88
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is an excellent standard and for that reason I cannot give it anything but 5 stars. The gentleman at reception was very nice and accepted there had been a mistake over the booking of breakfast without a question, which was good as it was 36euro each !! The hotel room was pristine as was the serivce and if you want 5 star luxury you will not be disappointed. The 2 observations I have are firstly Milan basically closes down for August due to the heat and several shops in the area were closed for this period. Secondly the hotel is in a very quiet part of Milan and although we went out trying to find some life at 10.15pm which I don't consider late, none of the few bars and restaurants were still taking customers, so great hotel but for me not a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Carlton Hotel Baglioni on TripAdvisor.
It's reason of great satisfaction for us to aknowledge you enjoyed our service, structure and courtesy and professionalism of our staff.
Regarding the location, actually our hotel is extremely central located, in Milan's historic city centre and in the heart of the shopping area. If you had the impression the city and the surroundings were not too lively, it's definitely because your visit was during the central weeks of August when some boutiques and restaurants close. This trend has been changing a lot in the last years though, and every year more and more shops, bars and restaurants are keeping open also during August.
Awaiting for your next visit to Milan and to the Carlton Baglioni,
Best regards,
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Undoubtedly a good hotel in the grand tradition. The room we stayed in had its own 'mini-courtyard' surrounded by jasmine, which gave a great ambience. The room and bathroom were large and spacious and very comfortable. The restaurant was frankly disappointing. The tables are quite close together and, as it was busy, this meant that the intimacy of such a dining experience was lost. Breakfast made up, somewhat for the dining experience, as it was really excellently prepared with a wide choice. Overall, good but not great!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a private space outside are really special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your room and its courtyard as well as the comfort of its bathroom.
We took good note of your comment regarding the restaurant dinner and will definetely work on it.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in Milan again soon,
Best regards,
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in early July as part of a holiday in Milan and then Lake Como. The hotel was first class with lovely luxurious touches, an excellent bedroom and delightful breakfasts with great choice. A fantastic location too, right beside the shops and looking on to probably the most exclusive shopping street in the city. Milan itself is also well worth a short visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Carlton Hotel Baglioni on TripAdvisor.
We are more than glad to know you enjoyed your stay in Milan and could appreciate, besides our location, bedrooms and breakfast, also the small touches and details that makes the difference in a luxuorius hotel.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Kind regards,
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had only a short stay here on our way back to the states after a 2 week trip around Italy. The staff was unparalleled as compared to other 5 star hotels we stayed at in Venice and lake como. Very professional, helpful and friendly. The conceirge Leon went out of his way to help me confirm our flight home and made the perfect recommendation for dinner when I asked for something more casual with nice ambiance and not touristy. Rooms are funky and modern. Bathroom is fabulous. My only criticism is that our room was located on
the front of the hotel 4th floor and there was quite a bit of loud street traffic noise. If I were to stay again I would request a room at the quieter backside of the hotel. Location is fabulous in shopping district. Worth the price tag but as always with high end hotels I resent paying 5€ per hour for wifi access. This really should be included in the cost of the room as it is at many other less prestigious hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving the feedback of your stay at the Carlton Hotel Baglioni on TripAdvisor.
We are really glad that you found our staff helpful and friendly and also enjoyed the decoration of your room.
On your next visit, please advise you want an internal room and a rate that includes Wi-Fi. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back during your next trip to Italy.
Our very best regards,
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

If its a first time visit to Milan and you really want the shopping strolling nearby touristy feel i will say this hotel is very best in its location, i loved the fact that you get down and there a whole line of best brands and even brands you havent heard of, the hotel staff are very friendly and if also the Spiga Spa is just amazing, also the in room dining was really too yummy, if ever i go back il defo wana stay in the same hotel :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate the fact you took the time to share your experience at the Carlton Hotel Baglioni on TripAdvisor.
Our location in the heart of the shopping area and our entrance from Via della Spiga definitely distinguishes us.
We are glad you could try also our in room dining.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was right in the middle of an incredible shopping district. Since I'm from Chicago there weren't many stores we don't already have, but it was nice to have it all so close. It was also close to other shopping, the cathedral, and restaurants. The restaurant at this hotel was excellent. Check in was very easy and personable. The bathroom and bedroom were very modern, very cool. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Join LHW before going there. I received a welcome gift and an upgraded room because of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton Hotel Baglioni and that you could appreciate not only our location but also our restaurant and the courtesy of our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you in Milan again soon,
Kind regards,
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel Baglioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Baglioni

Address: 5 Via Senato, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Milan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#16 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#21 Family Hotel in Milan
#32 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel Baglioni 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated at the crossroads of culture, fashion and design, overlooking Via della Spiga, steps from Milan's prestigious boutiques, the Duomo, the Teatro alla Scala and the financial district. The interior blends classic luxury with a sense of contemporary chic, making it a downtown salon for travellers seeking a timeless atmosphere and a Spa in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Carlton Hotel Baglioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Baglioni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.