We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel but REALLY Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Baglioni

Save Saved
You added Carlton Hotel Baglioni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Via Senato, 20121 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Baglioni Smart
Ranked #16 of 431 hotels in Milan
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel but REALLY Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel was beautiful and the people were nice but the hotel itself is extremely expensive. Parking one night was 60 Euro. It is in a really great location to the Duomo (right down the street) and there is a lot of great restaurants near this hotel. It was kind of hard to drive to and find since the side it is on is only for Taxi's and buses so you have to use valet if you drive there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear MsTravel101,
Thank you very much taking the time to leave your comment.
We are really glad you could appreciate our indeed fantastic location and enjoy the infinite cultural, gastronomic and entertainment options of our area.
Although the parking located inside the hotel is managed by a third part company and the pricing is not defined by us, please advise us about your necessity of a car parking when you book your next stay so we'll deal on your behalf a better price for the garage.
Regarding the valet, it's not mandatory since the hotel is accessible by the other lane, right beside the taxi and buses one.
Awaiting to see you at the Carlton again soon,
Best regards,
Carlton Hotel Baglionio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    52
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
21
59
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Location is perfect. Nothing more to .
All furniture, carpets etc needs to be renovated years ago. Even in Suite. Breakfast is awfully poor and unimaginably expensive. Room prices are unreasonably high. Hotell bill included charges for services were not undertaken (ex: internet and extra day of stay). Reception staff admitted their mistake but amount of money had been already charged to bank card any way...
So - never more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Ms. Natalia O,
We are glad that you appreciated our super central location.
Regarding renovation works, most of our structure have been recently renovated as, for example, our lobby that has been totally restructured last August and we keep renovating both guestrooms and common areas.
Your stay at the Carlton Hotel Baglioni was during Furniture Fair which is the highest season in Milan and when rates are definitelly higher compared to the rest of the year although still allined with the market.
The extra day you were charged for, regarded a cancellation of 1 night that was made already under cancellation penalty period.
We really hope you can visit us again soon to show you the rennovation works made after your stay. I'm sure you would appreciate it!
Best regards,
Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The best place to enjoy the real Milano fashion experience! The hotel has just been renovated and the rooms are very nice and cozy. The location cannot be better near all the best stores in Milano. Breakfast buffet is very good and full of different choices.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Amilanese79, thank you very much for your review. It's very important to us to know that you had a good time at the Carlton. We are indeed known for our top location and utmost service. And as you noticed, now also for our beautiful renovated rooms and lobby. Hoping to have you at the Carlton again soon, best regards, Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We enjoyed the great location of the hotel and the large suite with separate living room area. The room was impeccably clean and very comfortable. They served a wonderful and tasty buffet breakfast in a great room. As for the staff in general here, we found them to be unfriendly and not so pleasant or helpful which is for us a first experience of this nature in Italy. However, we lucked out with the most amazing housekeeper whose name is Roshelle. She was very helpful and kind. Upon check out it was very slow and the treatment by staff was very cold without a good bye or thank you for having stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonBaglioni, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Carlton Hotel Baglioni, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear LHW108, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are really glad you enjoyed the location of our structure and the suite we assigned to you. Both our Housekeeping and Food & Beverage teams are happy with your comments on the cleanliness of the room and the quality of the breakfast. However we feel sorry that you found our staff unfriendly since we are usually known for our helpful and kind staff. I'm positive you will think differently next time you come to the Carlton Baglioni. Please accept our "thank you for staying here" even if late. It means a lot to us. Hoping to host you again in a near future, Kind regards, Carlton Hotel Baglioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel was our first stop on a 2 week Italian vacation. I wished we would have booked the Baglioni in Venice as well! Impeccable service, comfortable rooms, great central location. We were able to walk everywhere, and the staff recommended local restaurants that were just a short cab ride away. The breakfast was substantial, and I am glad we included it in our package. The free wi fi was nice as we found that there was a substantial charge at all of the other hotels we stayed at. It is nice to stay in a hotel where the staff gets to know you, and greets you each day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

one of the best hotels, You really feel the luxury style in it especially if you like classic rooms, but try not to book a queen room they may be a bit small however the classy furniture compensates. Location is excellent directly behind the shopping district (via Montenapoleone) and is a 5-10 minutes from duomo square and the galeria.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived to be met by very nice people at the front desk who gave us good suggestions and always greeted us as we passed by. Our room was lovely and you had to say Wow! When you opened the door. The location is perfect, if you are interested in high fashion shopping or in our case window shopping, which is found right at the back door. It is a pleasant walk to the Cathedral and the galleria, which are not to be missed. The morning breakfast is very good with many choices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Hotel Baglioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Baglioni

Address: 5 Via Senato, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Milan
#10 Business Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#22 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel Baglioni 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated at the crossroads of culture, fashion and design, overlooking Via della Spiga, steps from Milan's prestigious boutiques, the Duomo, the Teatro alla Scala and the financial district. The interior blends classic luxury with a sense of contemporary chic, making it a downtown salon for travellers seeking a timeless atmosphere and a Spa in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Hotel Baglioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Baglioni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.