We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antares Hotel Rubens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Antares Hotel Rubens to your Saves list
Antares Hotel Rubens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pietro Paolo Rubens, 21, 20148 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #62 of 434 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here overnight as our flight was leaving from Milan early the next morning. To get to the center of Milan, it was a very easy walk to the Gambara train station and about 6 stops to F. Sforza. The area is decent. We took the train back to the hotel around 9pm at night and were unsure if it was safe walking from the train to the hotel, but we were ok. The rooms are a good size for European hotel. The shower and bathrooms were fine. The breakfast was excellent up on the 5th floor. The service was good, the front desk helpful. Our air conditioner was very loud. There was a lot of noise from the street. The hotel itself is nice, nothing extraordinary, but for the price we paid it was a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    241
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
89
134
18
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MADEIRA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Back at this hotel on business after 2 years. Competent staff - very friendly. Very comfortable and well equiped room.
Restaurant with good food and cocktails.
Breakfast room on the roof with great views.
Would come here on holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as the tram passes in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during the 1st of May brake this year for 3 nights and it was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is located only 5 minutes away from Gambara Metro station and there's a direct line to the city center and also to Cadorna station (with trains that take you straight to Como Lake or the Malpensa Airport). The room we stayed in was very spacious with a dressing room and a two sinks bathroom. We had breakfast at the fifth floor with a great view; the food choices were very diverse with food for all tastes. The staff was very nice and they were helpful and accommodated us in our room although we arrived early in the morning. All in all we recommend this hotel if you are ever in Milan :).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My partner and I were lucky enough to be invited to a wedding in Milan and so needed a hotel to stay in for 2 nights. I usually choose hotels based on TripAdvisor reviews, but this hotel was recommended by the groom as it was fairly close to where the wedding was being held.

The TripAdvisor reviews were a bit mixed, and I wasn't expecting that much - but Antares Hotel Rubens certainly surpassed my expectations. We booked a superior room (after reading that some of the basic rooms are quite small) and it was huge! We had a living area and a walk-in wardrobe (wonderful!) as well as a bedroom and bathroom (including a great whirlpool bath). I wonder if we might have been upgraded to a suite, though we weren't told that we had been.

Two slight drawbacks: one was the room temperature. The bedroom area of our room was very hot, and although there were dials which you could adjust to make the room hotter or colder, they didn't appear to work, at least in our room. There was also a glass sliding door to the bathroom, which didn't afford very much privacy. (This kind of thing seems to be getting more common in hotels - do people really want to overhear/see what their partner is doing in the bathroom?!)

The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. The buffet breakfast was good, especially the cold food, and was served in the top floor restaurant, which was lovely as you could look out on views of the local area of Milan. It was served until 11am, which was a bonus (one of my pet hates is hotels where you have to get up really early for breakfast) but be warned, if you come towards the end of breakfast time, there may not be much left (eg no croissants at all by the time we were halfway through breakfast on Sunday).

As others have said, the hotel isn't in the centre of Milan, so it's not ideal if you want to be in the hub of things and walk to the main areas of interest. However, the metro is only about 5 minutes' walk, so getting in and out of the centre was easy. We also found a good restaurant about 10 minutes' walk away, though unfortunately I can't remember what it was called.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I'd advise booking a superior room, as ours was huge (although I think we may have been upgraded...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Although the hotel is not located in the city center, there's an underground station in 10 minutes walk from the hotel. It is also in 30 minutes walk from the San Siro stadium which is important if you are visiting Milan to watch a football game.

The staff were very helpful and had no problem communicating in English. The breakfast was great and had a good variety.

The only thing I was slightly disappointed with was the WiFi access. The signal strength was very low. Sometimes I was disconnected from the internet although most of the times the WiFi worked fine,
I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel is a bit of a way out of town but it is right on the metro line so its just a quick train ride to central Milan. We stayed for 2 nights in November 2013

We caught a taxi from the station when we arrived in Milan but that was the only time. The metro proved to be all we needed.

The hotel was clean and comfortable and proved to be an excellent base for our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Rubens Hotel is situated about two miles to the west of Milan city centre on one of the main avenues. The building is fairly modern, but is probably in need of a makeover.

Reception staff were very friendly, and all spoke good English. We were made to feel welcome from the outset. Our room was on the front of the building, but was remarkably quiet; we were unaware of traffic noise from the busy street. The room was quite comfortable, although we did have to request extra pillows. The bathroom was ultra modern including a spa bath which was an unexpected treat.

Breakfast in the fifth floor restaurant was very good. Unfortunately, the restaurant is no longer open in the evenings, although food is available in the ground floor bar, which was inexplicably deserted throughout our stay.

We strolled into the centre to see the Duomo and enjoy the people watching; a journey of slightly over an hour. The route passes Santa Maria Della Grazie, home of Leonardo's Last Supper.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
1.7 mi away
Antares Hotel Accademia
Antares Hotel Accademia
#70 of 434 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Hotel Astoria
0.2 mi away
ATAHOTEL De Angeli Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Enterprise Hotel
Enterprise Hotel
#32 of 434 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#81 of 434 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lido Hotel
Lido Hotel
#42 of 434 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Hotel Rubens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Hotel Rubens

Address: Via Pietro Paolo Rubens, 21, 20148 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#36 Family Hotel in Milan
#43 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#57 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#58 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antares Hotel Rubens 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has been entirely renewed in 2011. Completely sound proofed the 87 air conditioned rooms have a private bathroom with either bathtub and/or emotional shower. The warm and welcoming hospitality combined with the ornate interiors ensure a relaxing and cultured environment. Enjoy unique works of art including "Moon" by Teresa Pomodoro or enjoy the rich buffet breakfast in the Sala delle Nuvole" located on the hotel’s top floor and overlooking Milan... the relaxing atmosphere and the professionalism of our staff will make sure that your stay in Milan will be unforgettable... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Antares Hotel Rubens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antares Hotel Rubens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.