We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mokinba Hotel Baviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mokinba Hotel Baviera to your Saves list
Mokinba Hotel Baviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Panfilo Castaldi 7, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I hate writing bad reviews, especially when others seemed to have a better experience...I'll try to be fair though. The employees I met were smiling and obviously doing their bests. But for 90 euros for a single room, this was the most expensive hotel I've ever been in in Italy, and nothing was included: no parking, no wifi, no breakfast, zit.
Besides, it wasn't my first choice. I booked the Mokinba king online, but due to "computer problems" a receptionist who could not possibly speak English without sounding raving mad offered to transfer my booking to this hotel. It was supposed to be the same quality and same distance to the duomo. Turned out to be twice the distance...
I hope they'll try to improve their level of service or set their prices in consequence (by the way, they don't have a parking, only a parking nearby and that's 15euros for a night, extra) in the future. In the meantime, I can only recommend this hotel in case nothing else is available...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    86
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
12
66
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel two nights waiting for a flight out of the Milan airport. The hotel is a good value in a convenient location to the train station, city center, shops and restaurants. The room was rather simple but clean and everything functioned OK. The staff was extremely helpful. They arranged a 2-hour tour of Milan in a hotel vehicle for 40 euros and transportation to the airport for 60 euros. Their continental breakfast was excellent. They have a limited bar set up and no restaurant, but they do serve a very good continental breakfast. There are excellent restaurants nearby, including the Republica, just down the block (excellent food but very pricey).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was just perfect for getting over jet lag when we first arrived in Milan. The bed was large and comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was excellent, with everything you could wish for being available.Paolo, on the front desk, spoke English well and was always helpful. There was a little hire car parked outside the front of the hotel, although we just used the Metro which was only 300 meters away.

The only drawback was the tiny shower recess, but I gather this is common in Italy.

Thank you, Baviera Hotel and Paolo for an excellent start to our Italian holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is located ok, close to the train station and to the city centre (within 10-15 mins walking distance). The price was fine, considering the offer found on booking.com.
It was unusual for a 4* hotel (that they claim to be) to pay for the Internet ( it wasn't free).
The room was very small, but clean. Everything was small in the hotel (the elevator, the stairs, the corridors).
The breakfast was fine, but it was unbelievable that at the end of our stay we were charged for the orange juice (we weren't told that it costs). Also, they tried to charge us for everything: 1 Euro if you leave your luggage with them. They charged us even though we didn't ask for this service (they just took the luggage whilst we were having breakfast to store it away even though we didn't ask).
The overall experience was ok, but next time I'll choose another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked a room at Hotel King where we stayed a few years ago. They had a problem with water at the moment so they asked if we wouldn't mind to go to Baviera. We had a car (and a navigator) so it was no problem. Baviera was similar to King. Great staff, a good location, a car park 200 m away and a good reakfast. Small clean rooms. Good for a one night stand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Superb location. 10 minutes away from the Milan Central train station and 3 minutes from the Repubblica metro (M3 Yellow line). 3 stops from the Duomo cathedral. The hotel is right behind Westin hotel and is also close to Puerta Venezia which is a good branded shopping alternative to the Galleria. A nice, quiet place to stay with basic facilities. The cons: room was quite small, not cleaned so well, the walls are thin and you can hear the doors of other rooms banging all the time (I'm sure the guests did not do that on purpose) and WiFi is 5euros per 24 hours. Still, not bad for its price.

Room Tip: There are hotels closer to the Central Train station if you're not up for the 10-minute walk. In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel and arrived early as we had to escape our previous one. As it was 930 our room was not ready but we left our bags and explored the city after advice from the lovely desk clerk. On return that afternoon our bags were in the room. The room was spotless with good soundprrofing and air con.
The €9 breakfast was fruit, pastries, tea coffee, cereal. Comparable with elsewhere. As our train dis not leave untill 2pm we lleft our bags in our rooms on checking out and picked them up after sightseeing. No charge. All up €55 for the room and €18 for brekky. Top marks for a good value quality hotel close to the sights and very helpfull staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mokinba Hotel Baviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokinba Hotel Baviera

Address: Via Panfilo Castaldi 7, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mokinba Hotel Baviera 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last acquired hotel of the group Mokinba Hotels. It has been completely renovated in the common parts. It gives you an elegant welcoming environmemnt with confortable and familiar atmosphere, though an international touch is there too.Every room offers air conditioning, private bathroom, hairdryer, direct dialling phone, color TV satellite, Wi-Fi connection, minibar and radio. What’s better than a huge breackfast to start your day? You will be surprised with a variety of items on the buffet table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mokinba Hotel Baviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baviera Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokinba Hotel Baviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.