We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“three night stay booked with secret escapes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Scandinavia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Scandinavia to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Scandinavia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fauche, 15, 20154 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 432 Hotels in Milan
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“three night stay booked with secret escapes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just got back from a three night stay at this hotel. After reading trip advisor I was a bit apprehensive. but we had a lovely stay. The rooms were spotless, and beautifully clean. The hotel receptionists were amazingly helpful with directions, booking taxi s etc. I was with my 78 year old mother, and they were so so helpful. As for position, literally 5 mins walk to station which takes you straight to lake como for 9 euro return, the train leaves hourly. And it took us 50 min, lovely walk to the Duomo. Sipermarket accross the road which is very handy. a small tip, dont wait to get to the airport to buy your cheeses, supermarket was half the price. We never used the spa, so cannot comment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    141
    102
    21
    11
See reviews for
48
82
20
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Me and my partner spent lovely 3 nights in this hotel. We have booked Superior room with free Wi-Fi and minibar (very good deal as Wi-fi is so expensive). The price was very good and we could not find better hotel. Our room was based on 6th floor however I would not call it a Superior. It was standard room, quite small but we only spend nights in a room so it was enough. The bathroom needs refresh - mouldy silicone around bath should not be expectable in 4 star hotel... Shower head was broken and I believe that cleaning staff should pick this up... Dated bath and bathroom sink. Apart of that everything was perfect - clean and comfortable bed. Buffet breakfast was good, not big selection but everything you need, even egg and bacon plus really good coffee. Hotel staff helpful, on arrival they gave us a map and told us how to get around the city. There is a big food shop opposite hotel, tram stop is just 5 min walking away. If you like walking you can easily walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNASPA, Direttore at UNA Hotel Scandinavia, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for having taken part of your time in order to leave a comment regarding your recent stay at UNA Hotel Scandinavia.

We are really glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, thanks to to our brand new beds, the quality of the breakfast, our quiet location and the support of our front office staff.

We do really apologize for what did not meet your expectations in the bathrooms; thanks to your suggestions as well, we will prompt the renovation works of that area of our rooms and strenghten our commitment on maintenance.

Hoping to be at your service in the future, we remain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Not top quality, but very good price-quality! No surprices and always a good service. I stay for the 5th time in this hotel just because of the nice area: the best gelateria from Milan behind the corner and some very good restaurants and pubs nearby!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel overall was not bad, breakfast was nice, and the staff were generally nice. But the carpet in the room was badly stained and gave a dirty aspect to the room, the conditions were definitely not 4* as advertised. We have paid for a room for 3 people, it was actually a double room with a bunk bed, and it made it very crowded! You have to ask for conditioner separately from reception (free of charge), only shampoo is already in the room. Before leaving we were told about the tourist tax (it is written somewhere at the reception, but not that obvious; i would have expected this is something you mention at the check in). Then the most un-attractive part happen to a guest speaking in english to the receptionist: the receptionist checked for a morning taxi to the airport in italian over the phone and he said something like " 90 euros as usual", but then when he talked to the lady told her in english 100 Euros, and then mentioned another 10% fee for card payment. The flee market actually makes the place very noisy and crowded for the day, and the location is not that close to town centre, but public transport is easily reachable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNASPA, Direttore at UNA Hotel Scandinavia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for having taken some time to leave a comment regarding your recent stay at UNA Hotel Scandinavia.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast!
The commitment of our Company on the cleaniness of the rooms is testify by the recent refurbishment done in the Hotel, by changing beds, carpets and most of the furniture; we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences occurred but be sure that we have taken all the necessary actions to fix the situation.
The City Touristic Tax has been introduced in Milan since September 2012, as in the world's main touristic cities; this information is properly exposed at the Front Desk but we will be glad to strenghten the advice to all our guests upon arrival, as you suggested.
Our Staff is always committed in order to give as much attention and service as possible to our Guests in all of ours departments and in particular at the Front Desk; the offer for a private limousine service to the mentioned English speaking guest counts some different charges related to the kind of car requested and the distance of the journey and the Staff always gives as much information as possible in order to let the guest to decide to use such service or not.
The street Market which takes place in front of the Hotel on Tuesdays and Saturdays is one of the best known in Milano; it is really characteristic and it is one of our Structure's deals, Guests can bargain and buy clothes and Italian valuable shoes among others.

Hoping to be at your service in the future, we remain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Milan is a town of neighbourhoods. UNA Scandinavia lies in one of the nicer ones, Sempione, even if a bit further away from the centre (for example the bikes scheme does not arrive that far down Sempione), but trams stop close by. Do take a stroll in the neighbourhood, for example grab an icecream at Massimo del Gelato around the corner, and visit the many bars and even more restaurants close by.

I was received very pleasantly at the reception, fast and efficient. Room was a bit dated, but a good bed. Bathroom, smallish, but sufficiently well organised that this is not a problem.
Breakfast was pretty good for Milan, decent spread of savoury in addition to the usual sweets.
Checkout efficient as well.

Room Tip: hotel still has smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had booked another hotel in Milan but when we saw the room it was totally unacceptable. Around the corner was a UNA hotel which was fully booked, but had a sister hotel with rooms - the UNA Hotel Scandinavia. This hotel is a little out of the way from the center of Milan, but near public transportation and a Hop On/Hop Off bus stop, which we used for 2 days. The hotel room itself was a little small, like most city hotels, but very comfortable. We were delighted to have a new supermarket right across the street and picked up several items there. Additionally there is a street market outside on Tuesdays and Saturdays, but they were so quiet setting up we didn't know they were there until we peeked over the balcony. Hotel staff was superb - Enrica was especially helpful - and full breakfast buffet was included with the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel building is not new with some of the facilities needing repairs. However, I actually like the old feel of this hotel. It kinda gives you that authentic Italian feeling. Similarly, the neighboring apartments and houses are equally old which actually helps with that old-feel Italian experience within the neighborhood. The staffs were very helpful whenever I needed help. The hotel is quite far from the city center (a trade-off if you want the old-feel Italian that I was talking about) but using Tram 1 easily brings you to close proximity for shopping and siteseeing.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 6th floor which allowed me to appreciate the old Italian architecture in the surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Scandinavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Scandinavia

Address: Via Fauche, 15, 20154 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Scandinavia 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its favourable location and the precious details of its furnishings make UNA Hotel Scandinavia a place to satisfy the expectations of the most demanding business customers. It offers 153 rooms, fitness center with sauna, and 6 meeting rooms accommodating up to 170 people. The restaurant provides an excellent cuisine and its lush garden is ideal for business lunches, dinners and outdoor events. A large garage is available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your UNA Hotel Scandinavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Scandinavia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.