We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Duomo and the best shopping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brunelleschi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Brunelleschi Hotel to your Saves list
Brunelleschi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Baracchini 12, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Close to the Duomo and the best shopping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

An excellent 4 star hotel 10 minutes walking from the best and biggest gothic church in the world, the Duomo of Milano. Good value, lovely older big rooms (compared with Paris and Rome hotels ),good service, excellent breakfast downstairs and nice of lobby dining room with good pasta and wine list. Good value cost-wise. We walked everywhere ...to The Last Supper,the Golden Quad shopping block and most of the city attractions. Best test...would we come back when visiting Milan...a resounding yes.

Room Tip: Don't be too many floors up ....only 2 small lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    332
    119
    30
    11
See reviews for
128
247
42
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here half a dozen times on business trips. Rooms are a decent size, upper floor rooms slightly smaller, but have balconies. Staff friendly and it's a stone's throw from the centre. Immediate area is a bit dull, mainly nightclubs or more probably strip clubs, fine if you like that sort of thing, but much more interesting places a few minutes walk away. Breakfast is hearty, plenty of choices and lots of tables so not crowded

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Although this hotel is near the Duomo once you walk towards the hotel you realise there is only the odd nightclub and strip joint nearby, no nice bars to sit out at. The hotel itself probably hasn't been updated since it was built so it is very 60's/70's and unlikely to be changed much due to the excessive use of wood panelling everywhere. Our room was not great either. Although clean and tidy it had an odd bedroom meets office feel to it with a strange older style leather sofa in one corner and lots of wood (again) around the sides. This meant you couldn't use the one (not full length) mirror as there was too much table space in front of it. No storage at all in the bathroom for your wash bags which meant you had to leave them on the floor or take them out each time after you'd used them. There is an odd electric button system for calling housekeeping which, if pressed accidentally like we did, cannot be turned off and sounds all throughout the corridor. These 'call buttons' by the bedside also mean your room is bathed in a red or orange glow all night, not dark at all. We had chosen this hotel due to its location and the reviews but would not recommend it as the hotel we stayed in last year in Milan was a similar price but much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conegliano, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Milano is one of our favourite places to visit. We had to change our dates at the last minute and they were very helpful. It's conveniently located to everything. It's right off the Misori station on the yellow line and about 5 minute walk to the 16 tram, if you're heading to San Siro. So it's also 5 minutes from the duomo and all the excitement that is there. Our room was fabulous! The number of outlets in our room was great! I loved the size of the safe. My kids favourite part was the jacuzzi shower/tub but the bathroom in general was nice. They also felt it was like magic with the twinkle lights in the ceiling as you exit the elevator. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, breakfast was good & the wifi kept connection and was fast. I don't think we need to search for hotels in Milano anymore, this was fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

For us the main draw of staying at the Brunelleschi is its location which cannot be beaten. Literally around the corner is the fantastic Museo di Nove Cento and then just on from that the Duomo, Galleria et al.For its location in central Milan it offers good value for money. The rooms are spacious and well sound-proofed, if a little dated( including the steam-driven TV), but there again one does not come to Milan to sit in and watch TV. Breakfast service is efficient and a very workmanlike affair and the overall quality of breakfast is good. The hotel has a small bar just off the foyer with an excellent service and welcome after a day touring the sights. Clientele were a balance between business folks and tourists. Recommendations for a bar - try the Aperol Bar overlooking the Duomo and in the Galleria the Locanda del Gatto Rosso for good food with a quality wine list and reasonable Milan prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

It's very close to the Duomo, very short distance. There are restaurants across the hotel, a pharmacy and some small shops. I stayed at the 8th floor, room was bigger than I expected. I actually like it a lot. Some people in the concierge/front were also nice and ready to help out. They offered medicine when I needed it but instead ask them to write the translation and one even offered to go with me to the pharmacy.
Metro is also nearby but you wouldn't need it much unless your going out of the city. From the hotel it's really a short walk and all shopping is in the Duomo area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Brunelleschi Hotel in Milan in May 2014. The hotel is well located, just a short walk from the Duomo and Galleria. We were given a very nice room. It was large and included a sofa as well as several chairs. It was quiet and clean. We had a late lunch in the hotel restaurant and it was not very tasty - sliced white bread was not expected in Italy! The breakfast was worse; we couldn't even drink the coffee. There is a very nice wine and gourmet shop just steps from the hotel on the same side of the street that we can recommend, and a very nice sandwich shop facing a bus stop in the next block. The trip into the city from Malpensa Airport is quite long, but the Metro and trains are very convenient and easy to use.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#81 of 432 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#185 of 432 in Milan
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Galileo
Hotel Galileo
#168 of 432 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#146 of 432 in Milan
3.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
Hotel Straf
Hotel Straf
#101 of 432 in Milan
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunelleschi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunelleschi Hotel

Address: Via Baracchini 12, 20123 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brunelleschi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 9-story Hotel, refurbished in unique Post-Modern design, located in center of tourist & business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Brunelleschi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brunelleschi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.