We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too much cleaning!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ADI Doria Grand Hotel to your Saves list
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow Region
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“too much cleaning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

I liked:
cozy rooms, good location:5 minutes on foot to Loreto station (both green and red lines, so very cool for RHO Fiera and centre like Duomo), a chance to listen to live jazz twice a week at least... breakfasts were also ok.
and a restaurant is wonderful! everything we tried was delicious! a note for russian speaking persons - there are ladies who speak Russian: in the restaurant and in the lobby.
and the shopping street Corso Buenos Aires is also close to the hotel!very nice!

I didnt like:
1)the ladies who clean the room DID ignore the switched-on red sign (do not disturb) and the paper-note "do not disturb prego!". they have cleaned my room inspite of all these signs.you need to warn the receptionist in the morning (DAILY!) not to clean your room.and then repeat and expain - neigther to clean your room, nor to enter it, nor to change linen and towels. otherwise it will be cleaned even if you put a banner 1*1m. size with the phrase Do Not Disturb. Im serious.
2)wi-fi. it costs you 5 euros for 4 hours of wi-fi using.you can spend this 4 hours during 2 days. I think that is ok - the price, the duration etc.. I did use this chance during my first 2-3 days of staying, it was ok - the speed was always high. but then I have lost the signal. and so did everybody in the hotel rooms. the connection was ok only in the lobby. but you understand that rooms are much more preferable.we had to go downstairs during our following days..

but in common, the place is really nice. if you are ok about everyday clean and you arent afraid of wi-fi problems - welcome! and you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    286
    94
    22
    18
See reviews for
67
214
39
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somersetppl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main train station and where the bus from the airport drops you. The foyer was welcoming and the staff were efficient. The room was lovely, we were given one with a kingsize bed. There was hardly any noise from the road below. The design was quite old fashioned looking but comfortable and clean. The bathroom was huge and had full length deep bath which you could lay down in. We were pleased with what we had got for our money. The hotel is not situated in the main area of Milan but walk about 2 minutes from the hotel and you are on the main road. As milans roads are on a grid system once on the main road you can walk to the main area where all the expensive shops and the Duomo catherdal is. It took us about 20-30 minutes to walk there. You can use the metro which is easy and cheap and Duomo plazza is only 5 stops away from the hotel. Visting Duomo catherdal and the glass covered shopping arcade is a must.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We chose this hotel after reading positive reviews about it and we were NOT disappointed. Lovely room with two single beds (that we pushed together), a table and two chairs, bed side tables, wardrobe, desk and chair with lovely ensuite with marble fixtures. Very posh appearance, clean and "up market". The sheets and towells were changed every day and room service didn't bother us as it has in the past. The room was warm and felt private, I think the walls are pretty sound proof as they were padded. Lovely bath with super strong shower, plus bidet - better than home which is what you go away for! The room was quiet without traffic noise from outside, a main road but not a busy one.

We chose this hotel partly as breakfast was highly recommended. Breakfast was fab! Croissants, pastries etc. fresh fruit & yoghurt, cereals and toast, sausages, bacon and egg with hot choc, etc. rolls and cheese and meats. Basically everything you could ask for with slight variances every day. So to sum it up - food was great. We didn't try the restaurant at other times as we were out during the day.

The hotel was only one tube ride away from the central station and we found it great for getting around easily. The public transport is much cheaper than in England and with one ticket you can use the tubes, buses and trams. It probably took just 5-10 minutes to get into central Milan.

The only negative aspect is that we would have liked a bit more guidance from the staff of the hotel as to where to visit, where to pick up trains/buses etc. but they did speak English and were friendly.

Wi fi could be accessed from the room by purchasing a card from reception for 5 euros which lasted for 4 hours.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite at this hotel, so that made is seem amazing value to us! The hotel is very nicely located within a short walk to shops and cafes. It is very close to a couple of train stations and we walked there from Milano Centrale. Our rooms were a bit out of date but very comfortable and luxurious. The bathroom was huge! Breakfast was good and the reception staff were excellent. After a long day of sightseeing, this was a lovely place to come home to. We would certainly stay here again if we returned to Milan.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Hi we are just back from our 1st trip to Milan, stayed here for 5 nights 13-18th August.

We stayed in this hotal as it was quite close to Central Station (300 mtrs) 5/6 minute walk even with cases. Really easy to find we got the bus from the airport which leaves you at the side of central station. Go directly across the road and, look for the hotels Star Hotel Anderson and Star Hotel splendido, they are on either side of the street Viale Andrea Doria. Doria Grand is just 300 mtrs walk up that street. £270 for 5 nights inlcuding breakfast for the 2 of us.

The hotel for us was very good, lovely rooms, great breakfast, which was included in the deal very cheap we thought for a 4 star hotel. For us anyway we thought it was a good location. Very close to 2 metro lines (1 and 2) and very close to Central Station. Line 1 will take you to the Duomo in a few minutes, line 2 is good for visiting the Castle and also the canal area, ie,, 2 long canals (Navigli) district, good bars and resturants with cheaper prices than in the Duomo. You can try happy hour here for about 7 Euro for a drink and all you can eat buffet, some better than others, we had a very good one, also great pizzas for about 6 Euro. It was really buzzing with locals each night.

It was also great location for touring round, 300 meters to central station. The trains are quite reasonably priced and we found them to be quite efficient. Places we visted were

Lake Como, got the train to Varenna which is a pretty little town on the east shore of the lake. From there you can catch a ferry across to Bellagio, which is stunning maybe the most attractive town on Lake Como.


Lake Garda, we went to desenzano, lovely town on the lake, good food and shops. Get the bus from the train station to the seafront.

Milan to Bergamo approx an hour by train, walk straight ahead along the main street (or take bus 1 ) to the funicular (actually 2 you can go higher again) that takes you to the upper town (Citta Alta). Catch the train from Milano Centrale to Bergamo. The walled hilltop city is called Bergamo Alta (High Bergamo). Abus ticket last 75 minutes and will take you to the funicular and you can then use it to go up in the funicular you don't need to buy a sparate ticket.

Even Zurich and Venice is within easy reach using the fast trains

To be honest we only spent the first day in central Milan, we were able to cover the Duomo, last supper and castle/park in our 1st day. The only thing we missed out on that we were interested in was the Opera House but there were no performances when we were there.

Round the Duomo you will pay 7 euro for a bottle of beer, 9 for a pint, 5 for a coffee, pizzas 12-13 Euro.

For us a good hotel and excellent location for siteseeing

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

The hotel is nice enough but beware, it is not in the main area of Milan, which is the Piazza near the Milan Cathedral; Duomo di Milan. We took a taxi to get there daily, which cost about 10-12 Euro each way. There are some places within walking distance but no restaurants that were worth going to twice. The staff was friendly but the breakfast was nothing to write home about. Overall, Milan is like any other metropolitan area, huge and busy. I prefer Florence hands down.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We spent 4 nights at this hotel, we had a slight problem finding the hotel, as we were given wrong directions by a couple of people from outside of the metro station, they sent us in the wrong direction when we were 2 minutes away from it! If the hotel sign had been lit up at the top of the building, I'm sure we would have seen it. We have stayed in the area a few times, I thought this was going to be closer to the station, I wasn't particularly keen on the area, if I had been travelling with another female, I certainly would have felt a bit uncomfortable. The check in was smooth, the room was nice and cool and recently done. I certainly never heard any noise from the other rooms, and I'm a light sleeper which was great. The only complaint would be that I found the bed a bit hard. Going down for breakfast on the first morning was a bit of a bun fight. I think a lot of people must have had their breakfast at the same time, we got there at 9.20am, (breakfast was untl 10am) and it looked as if nothing was left. We sat for about 10 minutes, and all the food was restocked. The other mornings there was ample food. The only problem we had was with the safe. It is free of charge, and you press your own code into it. I closed the safe one night, and couldn't open it the next morning. I went down to reception, and the guy was very nice, but said that there were no technicians in that day to open the safe! Surely someone else could be given the code! I said I had no money at all, and had planned to go out for the day (as I was on holiday!), so insisted that he contact the technician. He did ring him and was given the code to open the safe. He came to our room and we managed to open the safe. We took all our stuff out, and tried the code again, and it wouldn't open, so there was obviously a problem with the safe. Just as well we weren't on an early flight that morning!

Had a late meal in Fashion near the station, been there quite a few times, the pizzas are better than the pasta.

Went to Lake Como for the day by train, again another mishap, as no-one in the station were able to given us the correct platform, so we had to run up and down the full length of the station (21 platforms) in 30 degree heat to find the correct one. Not helpful at all. We went on the boat to Villa Carletto ( 2 hours), which was really nice, make sure you have a drink in the cafe in the garden overlooking the lake, which was very reasonable and the food looked nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ADI Doria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#91 Family Hotel in Milan
#91 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#107 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ADI Doria Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Milan's business and shopping district, close to Corso Buenos Aires and Central Station. Nearby the new Porta Nuova district, easily accessible with the three underground lines.Art and cultural events are hosted in the hotel. We are the ideal choice for business travellers and for tourists wishing to enjoy a nice vacation.124 bright and soundproofed rooms, white Carrara Marble bathrooms. Delicious buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your ADI Doria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Grand Milan
Hotel Doria Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ADI Doria Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.