We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We adore the ADI Doria Milan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added ADI Doria Grand Hotel to your Saves list
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We adore the ADI Doria Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed just one night at this lovely hotel before we flew back to Australia and chose the location due to proximity to station & airport buses. Having previously flown into Milan and stayed in another hotel in this area we were very familiar with the area and the fabulous metro trains that can be caught to the cathedral etc. We love this area near Via Buenos Aries.
By city standards the hotel is in a quiet leafy street and our room did not face the street. We loved this older style art deco hotel and the quality of the furnishings. Personally I feel that calling this hotel “dated” is unfair given the quality, style and attention to detail. And yes Australians are used to tea and coffee in the room – but I would much rather go to a café with a giant chandelier! (ie Café Duomo!) for coffee in Italy!
Two lifts service the hotel and luggage can easily be wheeled in with no lifting at all. Front Desk staff were gorgeous! Great English was appreciated as we don’t speak Italian. Initially we were given a room with 2 single beds which was changed immediately to a double when we let them know. Helped us with maps even when I lost it 5 minutes later! Staff clarified directions just off the map to a restaurant for us and happily stored our luggage after check out until we left for the airport. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and again the staff were charming and efficient.
After encountering “no heating in apartments until November explanations” in other places during the month, it was fantastic to have thermostat controlled central heating in the room plus a window that could be opened.
The mosquito warnings in many trip advisor reports about many hotels (especially in Florence) are valid and most properties do not have fly wire screens on windows as Australians will be used to. We stayed in October (Autumn). If you are a mosquito target, then having a room with aircon/heating so windows can be closed while sleeping is essential in Italy in Summer/Autumn.
The other thing to note about accommodation in Milan is that it does appear to be expensive by comparison. We received a special price on our room but still payed close to $250 AUD. Even in Australia you can expect to be in a 5 Star hotel for this price. This however is the reality of staying in Milan.
If you stay here we recommend walking the few blocks to find L’Enoteca dei Transiti – for great Italian wine and aperitivi!

Room Tip: In Italy a room not facing the street is always a good idea. Noise will always be an issue in cities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear “kanivagirl”

we would like to thank you for taking the trouble to write your detailed description of your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel in Milano.

We are very glad to see that you have appreciated our property and its location and we are especially pleased to read that you have loved the Liberty Style and the quality of the furnishing of our Grand Hotel. Furthermore we are happy that you have noted the quality and attention to detail of our management. Naturally, some clients prefer the new modern style, but we are proud to offer an elegant and classic product combined with good old fashioned hospitality.

Thank you once again for your kind review, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    266
    82
    22
    16
See reviews for
64
204
37
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently as a stopover between the Cinqua Terra and Venice. Like others it was chosen for its convenient location to Milano Centrale station. The hotel is just fine. Room was spacious, bed very large and comfortable, staff very professional with excellent English language skills, wifi very fast and dependable, and breakfast of good quality.

The in house restaurant is expensive as is usual in the better hotels but there is no shortage of local alternatives. Hotel is located close to the major shopping strip that then leads into the city centre.

Overall, an enjoyable and professional experience as expected from a major hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear “Ruby G “,

thank you for choosing our Doria Grand Hotel and thank you for taking the time to write this review about your experience.

I pleased to read that you enjoyed Milano and that you appreciated every aspect of our property, located near Corso Buenos Aires, the main shopping street of the city and very closed to Milano Centrale.

I hope you had a nice Italian tour and a pleasant journey back.

I am looking forward to welcoming you here soon.

Best Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well positioned 500m to station, e trembly helpful staff, great Internet
Breakie was very good, rooms were clean and tidy, shop across the road had excellent wine, cheese and bits and pieces. I highly recommend this hotel and Milan for shopping. Ps check your baggage weight for domestic flights back in Australia only 23 kg plus 7 kg hand luggage

Room Tip: We change rooms due to no tv reception, both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear “JohnIyall1234 “,

I am really happy you had enjoyed your stay in our Grand Hotel in Milano and I would like to thank you on behalf of all the staff of Doria Grand Hotel for the kind feedback you have shared with us.


I take this occasion to send you my very Best Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the ADI Doria Grand Hotel for one night before moving onto Lake Como the following day. It is located only five minutes from the central train station so is very convenient for using as a place to connect to other parts of Italy but not close to the main sights in Milan. There are no complaints, the hotel is your typical three/four star affair.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear “The-Rapture”,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you appreciated the proximity from the Central Train Station and, actually, we also
have 3 metro lines, MM1, MM2 and MM3 in easy walking distance from the hotel, from which you quickly reach any other part of the city.

Thank you once again, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel, accompanied husband on business trip. Hotel was recommended by coworkers who said this hotel was close to Milan office. It was a short walk to his office from hotel. Also, very close to the central train station. The Loreto underground is just around the corner. Hotel was nice, quiet, but sort of dated. Its like the 1950's stopped by and never left. You get an actual key for your room, which is attached to a huge brass knob with a tassel. Weird. Room was okay, large bathroom with bidet and toilet, tub/shower combo. Limited toiletries, just soap, shampoo, no lotion, no shower gel. Hair dryer in the bathroom at least which is a plus for Europe but the old kind that you have to hold the button in while your drying your hair. Yuck.
Bed way to firm for me and flat, uncomfortable pillows. There was wardrobe space and a little fridge/mini bar. We were on the 10th floor. When locking our door one day when leaving, the key broke off in the lock! Had to wait around then while they contacted a technician to come in to fix. Then later in the day when we returned, they couldn't find the key to our room! There is a restaurant and bar. Breakfast was included, but was meh. Good cappuccino. The fruit offered was liked canned peaches, canned pears, prunes...yuck. No berries, cantaloupe, the pineapple looked canned too. There were scrambled eggs, and the typical European looking lunch meats, some rolls, cereal, yogurt. There is a nice bakery/cafe around the corner called Sgroi, just past a church. That was good.

Room Tip: We were on 10th floor. It was quiet, not much hallway noise came through. Not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear “fern60514 “,

we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Doria Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write about us on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to read the comments about the style of the hotel and especially we are very regret to read that you described our Grand Hotel Doria “dated”. Naturally some clients prefer the new ultra- modern style of so many new hotels, however the Liberty style of our hotel, combined with good old fashioned hospitality and service, which may be somewhat lacking in other hotels, makes us proud to be one of the leading four star superior hotel in Milano. For this reason, in the line with the style of the hotel, we have preferred maintain the classic keys and do not introduce the modern key cards.

Said this, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the broken keys and please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay.


Best Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a hotel of contradictions, and obviously experiencing a shortage of tea bags!

The pros: We were checked in easily and quickly enough by a pleasant fellow on Reception. The room presented well and not too small. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom a good size with good hot water pressure. Clean sheets and towels each day was a nice touch. TV is available but as long as you are happy to watch the screen and listen to Italian, then it's fine. Otherwise you will need someone to show you how to keep the language selection on English.

It is in walking distance from the train station, and close to the shopping strip, the Metro and some good restaurants.

The cons: Having travelled up from Venice we were keen for a cup of tea and coffee but discovered we had no coffee, one tea bag that was acceptable and no milk. We checked the website for what the room provided and it was a classic room with tea and coffee making facilities. I rang down to reception to request tea bags and what came up was herbal tea even though I had requested breakfast tea. When I went down to reception I was told I could get some tea from the bar but the bar man said I had to pay for it. Reception then advised we hadn't paid for a room that provided tea and coffee. We quickly corrected them and they said while it was a classic room, we weren't entitled to that type of classic room!! Our voucher clearly stated Classic. We asked them to compromise and give us tea bags, to which they begrudgingly gave us 2 breakfast tea bags and milk. Needless to say we didn't see any more in our room for the next few days. Remember this is a 4 star hotel and one expects tea, coffee and at least water.

We rang for an iron only to be told it wasn't available over the weekend but would be on Monday. Reception then said no irons were allowed in rooms. The room was meant to have a trouser press but again it wasn't the right type of classic room!

We decided to eat in one night - big mistake! The signs might say "the chef recommends" but in fact these meals appear to be pre-made and there was the unmistakable bing of the microwave from the kitchen and prepared by the barman. It appeared there were no kitchen staff on duty. My meal was inedible and my friends was passable but the vegetables looked nothing like they should have.

The service was lacking and we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay when we settled the account. They seek feedback on Trip Advisor and Facebook of any comments, good bad or otherwise so hopefully they will take note of these.

It is advertised as a 4 star hotel but lacks both soul and staff who wish to be helpful.

Room Tip: Take your own tea bags! Seriously, check what type of room you have paid for so you know your entit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Doria Grand was only a one-night stop over for us before we flew out. I was looking for something with a good location but where I wouldn't have to pay ridiculous prices. This seemed to fit the bill!
Upon arrival I was impressed with the lovely reception area and the front desk clerks. They were extremely welcoming and helpful. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. It wasn't the biggest room I've ever had, but it was large enough and very well maintained. The air conditioner worked wonderfully!!!

Breakfast was very good and opened promptly at 7. The restaurant wasn't open on weekends, so they recommended a very good restaurant nearby.

The location is very good, close to the Central Station, metro and shopping.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear “SraCCA“,

I would like to thank you for the nice feedback you have shared and I am sure readers of Tripadvisor will find your comments as useful as we have.

I am pleased to read that you have appreciated your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel and every details of our Hospitality.

Thank you for recommend our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ADI Doria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#82 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#96 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ADI Doria Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Milan's business and shopping district, close to Corso Buenos Aires and Central Station. Nearby the new Porta Nuova district, easily accessible with the three underground lines.Art and cultural events are hosted in the hotel. We are the ideal choice for business travellers and for tourists wishing to enjoy a nice vacation.124 bright and soundproofed rooms, white Carrara Marble bathrooms. Delicious buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ADI Doria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Grand Milan
Hotel Doria Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ADI Doria Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.