We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the winner....but just not memorable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Rosa Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels Rosa Grand to your Saves list
Starhotels Rosa Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Location is the winner....but just not memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Located directly behind the Duomo and close to the Ferrari shop, Galleria and pretty much anything you may want or need to see in Milan, this hotel checks all the boxes. I was part of a group on a whistle stop tour of Europe and the US on business and I must admit nothing really stands out about this hotel neither negatively or positively. I always take a picture of my room and had to refer to this to try and remember what my stay was like.....There is nothing wrong with this hotel and that is good, but it just wasn't memorable..and that isn't good. I would stay here again only because I cant think of anything to stop me.

I think there's something to learn from my review, this hotel needs a wow factor?

Room Tip: No better location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    369
    125
    52
    22
See reviews for
164
237
29
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had initially booked for a Superior Room. Upon seeing our room, we decided to upgrade to the Deluxe Room for an additional EUR 50.00. Not that the Superior Rooms were bad, but they were definitely small with an outdated room design.

The Deluxe Rooms was a world of difference. Modern design and definitely larger. I suggest immediately booking this room type. My only complaint about this room was its rustic design on the wallpaper which crossed over to the main mirror of the room. It seemed as if the mirrors were old and stained. Of course, it was just all part of the design.

This is a full service hotel with a location that is probably compared to none in Milan. You're right next to the Duomo and all of the city's best shopping. You can't go wrong with Rosa Grand in terms of location.

This is a very basic hotel, fairly new and well designed Deluxe Rooms right in the heart of the city, with disappointing buffet breakfast. Yes, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Big difference between he Superior Room and Deluxe Room. I suggest booking the Deluxe Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Piemonte, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I spent 1 night in star hotel rosa grand in october 2013.
Rosa grand is a modern hotel, well furnished, modern, spacious and, of course, in a perfect location in Milan: just behind the dome! From the highest floors you can see a beautiful view of Milan and dome's skyline! Staff is very professional, always ready and kind. My room at 4th floor was very large and confortable, with a lot of space, a beautiful bed, tv, a/c, courtesy set, kettle with tea and coffee, unfortunately without a view of Milan. My bathroom was large, with a phon, with a beautiful bathtub, bathrobe and slippers. Breakfast was Also generous and good quality.
The only partial negative thing was the wi fi. So slow and in my mobile it wasn't working at all.
I spent a very pleasant night here and I highly recommend this hotel, in this dreamly location!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have to apologize in advance, my review consists of 2 part, for tourists and for the hotels management.
Tourists:
The spot is perfect. The hotel is right behind the Duomo and 2 min away from Duomo subway station. And thats pretty much it.
The room vary by the size and cleanness so hope you get lucky but one thing is for sure - the higher floor you get the better. Also try to get something closer to the elevator because the building is old and unless you want to waste some time wandering around the corridor curves you are better of closer to the elevators or as of that matter the stares.
Dont expect any great views, in this area buildings are all very close to each other.
The gym is actually not bad, small but maintained. Gets a bit crowded around 6-7 pm so try to manage your time. Towels and everything else you need including lockers you can find there. If you go and cant open the door just ring the bell, usually it works. Otherwise try to knock maybe if there is already somebody else inside, they will help you too.
Also the hotel offers a pretty wide vary of bathroom amenities. They are not all displayed in your room though. If you shall need anything else, just ring the reception and ask for it specifically.

To the management:
I work in hospitality and consider myself eligible to give you following advices, apologize if i come out a bit harsh but your hotel is my bleeding wound already.
1. Hire an effective shift leader to manage the breakfast. You cant have your waiters walking around with these frustrated faces and mumble complaints as they walk around. They lose a lot of time trying to pass guests order to each other, i get everything myself but i watch people and they wait and suffer. You cant have a waiter taking a tea order from a guest, turn their back and start loudly instruct another person what to do. You get a bad impression, you waste your time, the time of your colleague and the time of the guest. Especially when your colleague doesnt understand you and keep on doing something else.
Please add something new to the buffet. Impossible eating the same limited variety of food every single day for 6 months! Also you might want to pay attention to the person at the restaurant entrance. You lose lots of profit having a person sleepwalking through the day while your guests walk in and out unregistered.
Would be also great if someone took more care about the glasses at the fresh juice table. You run out of them very often and even more often they are bluer if not to say slightly not washed properly.

2. HK. I guess thats the aching spot in all hotels but please... At least teach them to say: Housekeeping!!! When they knock the door and if a sick person asks to make up the room it means that they dont open the window wide open and dont stumble on that person as they storm around. Also you would probably agree with me that when a guest calls a maid after she just replaced the towels and asks her to replace one of them, showing that its dirty, the appropriate response would be apologizing and changing the towel without making it a big deal or a personal insult. In my case i had an entire show or the maid gesticulations, mimics, scrubbing the spot and emotions and it all came down to this: apparently she could never do this, i ruined the towel myself. I was left speechless.
As to the sick people. Guys, i know that its high maintenance, requires a lot of thought and personal involvement but when 3 department of your hotel find out one by one that there is a sick suffering person at the hotel, someone at least gives the guest a call to find out if he/she needs something. Wont lecture you about everything else that could be done to show some care and hospitality.
By the way you have your service door on the 1st floor open for a week. Since monday and today is friday. You provide your guests with a stunning view of your service zones and also a full access to them.

3. Reception. I understand that they are busy but thats your job to create a comfortable working environment for them. Its not normal that you call the desk and no one picks up the phone. International standard is 3 rings and its never like this. The only two efficient people at your desk are Rosanna and a tall middle age gentleman, unfortunately didnt remember his name. And i mean from all shift. Except for concierge, i've never spoken to them.
Yesterday i was asking to send someone to clean my room for 2 hours! Only to send, not for hk to arrive. The young mister couldnt take such an important decision without passing it to another colleague who also preferred to have a team leader calling me. Needless to say that if they promise to return the call, they should do it, not wait for the guest to run out of patience and call some other colleague of theirs. And i have a lot of patience!
4. Great reviews to the technicians. Fast, efficient, many thanks.

Now of course you might consider my reviews and advices or ignore them but if you have any international ambitions i suggest you do because i am not an always complaining guest trying to get his moneys worth, but as a colleague to colleague i highly suggest you review your customer care skills as current system is a slap in the face of any professional who is staying here.

I welcome all the questions and will be happy to help as i can.

Kind regards

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaGrand, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mrs. Aliya212,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Milan and for sharing your detailed comment about your experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated our location, right behind the Duomo, our fitness facilities and the bathrooms amenities provided in-room or additionally upon request.
With reference to our rooms, we would like to clarify that they are divided into 5 typologies including Superior, Deluxe, Executive, Junior Suite and Suite which differ for size, furnitures, style, view and services provided. An appropriate cleanness is guaranteed in all our rooms as well as in our public areas.

Thank you very much for your management advices, which are taken in very high consideration, giving us the possibility to implement the corrective actions where needed.

With the hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you back, we would be more than glad to meet you in person to discuss about the hospitality that we strive to provide to our kind Guests.

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Service is good the Concierge
Was amizing (fabio) he give me a nice reccomndation and all it was good .. Rest. And cafe and things to do . Ispend beautiful days in milan .. Location is great also 2 mins you will be in heart of milan

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaGrand, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Abdullah A,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very glad that you appreciated our hotel and our service.
Especially, your comments on our Concierge Fabio are very rewarding and motivating to continue on this way.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Either you are travelling for business or for pleasure , this is one of your best choice in Milano.
Design hotel in the very heart of Milano , walking distance from the Duomo , Via Durini and the ultimate shopping streets , it has very spacious rooms and vast and enjoyable common spaces.
A little pricy but , you are in Milano and that's a given.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed in room 408 (superior room) and room 507 (deluxe room) for 4 nights altogether. The deluxe room has a designer touch to it, with subdued colours and clean lines, and a marble-clad bathroom. But we loved the superior room more because of its spaciousness. The washroom (with only corian counter and tiles on walls) in 408 was almost twice as big as the one in 507. There was a big three-sitter couch in 408 that we loved. Both rooms are spotlessly cleaned and both rooms don't offer much of a view (you can see the tips of Duomo's spires over the opposite building from room 507, whereas room 408 opens to a light well).

As others have said, the hotel is centrally located and is a stone's throw away from Duomo, 5 mins walk from Via Monte Napoleon. The breakfast is also great by European standard.

I would've given 5 stars if the room rate isn't so steep...

Room Tip: Most rooms don't have a view. But we prefer superior (esp room 408) to deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosaGrand, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Jaylowe,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very glad that you appreciated our hotel and really hope to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Rosa Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Rosa Grand

Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#48 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#49 Business Hotel in Milan
#54 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Rosa Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rosa Grand… a stunning luxury hotel surrounded by Milan's iconic sights and attractions. We're just a few steps from the gothic Duomo Cathedral, Milan's exclusive fashion street Via Montenapoleone and the world renowned La Scala Opera Theatre.A splendid example of sophisticated design which is simply a joy to be in. This hotel of quiet luxury surprises with its original structure large spaces and innovative, precious materials. Particularly striking is the striking is the glass roof of the lobby.In all, there are 327 rooms and suites, 3 exquisite restaurants and bars, and 8 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Starhotels Rosa Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Rosa Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.