We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel but not the staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels E.c.ho. to your Saves list
Starhotels E.c.ho.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Macau, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good hotel but not the staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good location, the hotel is very near by the train station which is 3 minutes on foot. Comfort with stylish room decoration but it is very difficult to find a front office staff with smile during my two days stay there in October 2012.

The respond from the front office staff was very rough and impolite when you asked them any question, ie. airport shuttle or local map and sightseeing recommendation!!!!

Breakfast was good and staff was friendly but sometime the coffee was served with a broken coffee pot without cap that it happened two times to us during our two breakfasts.

Room Tip: Requesting a room with balcony that you will have nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    275
    57
    22
    27
See reviews for
102
261
30
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

1. They have twin rooms, but the space between 2 beds was less than 2inchs.
2. The stuff asked to see our passports. One of us left his passport at work and needed go back to get it. They did not let him into his room without passport. They stated that it is ITALIAN law to have all guests passport information before they let all in. It happen to be a lie. The hotel we staid in Florence never asked everybody's passport.
3. The guy went back to get his passport and hand in to the front desk but he needed go another meeting right away. So he ask the staff to keep it in safe place till he comes back. When he came back, pass port was thrown to his desk in his room. They do not know the importance of the passport. Even a 2 stars hotel keep passport in safe place if we ask to do so.

Room Tip: Do not expect have regular twin, the space between 2 beds was less than 2inchs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice, contemporary hotel with stylish rooms and common spaces. Breakfast was very good!

Good location as it is beside the main train station but about a 20 minute walk to the Duomo. Its worth the walk to stay here though.

Great price and incredible value. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful Hotel and really nice room, I cannot say anything bad about the hotel, I had a superior room and it was excellent, the food and the service in the restaurant is very good, great selection for breakfast and really nice decoration. They even offer a selection of 4 orthopedic pillows, (for those that suffer from bad neck of back), the only bad point i have to say is that they do not offer slippers in the room, the floor is ceramic tiles and is very cold, so if you stayed there make sure you bring one pair. overall excellent choice if you are business traveller, very near the train station and in a nice area. I would definately come back here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Booked through hotel.com. We stayed in deluxe room since standard were pretty full and just 20 euro difference. First impression to this hotel is definitely business type and cozy decoration. Which I quite like modern after 2 weeks 'ancient' and 'antique' style in other cities. But they just failed me by saying only one device WiFi for 24hr. And u hv to ask again the password next day. The room definitely same as standard room picture on the web and we ask if they got us a wrong room. They say deluxe room only different by free WiFi! But 24hr WiFi only cause 5.5 euro! What's the point? Overall is ok with the price and location; just next to centrale station. But the minor points make the impression bad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the E.c.ho on the 7th October for 1 night as we were going to the Derby at San Siro. Very modern comfortable hotel. Staff cannot do enough for you. Just across the road from Central Station and the Metro. Only 5 minutes (4 stops) to the Duomo by metro (M3 yellow line to San Donato), and, of course the obligatory shopping you must do whilst in Milan! If your ever going to the San Siro for a match, then it would be metro to Duomo then connect to the red line (M1 to Molino) and get off at Lotto. It is a 10 minute walk or in our case, buses were laid on just outside the metro to take us to the San Siro. Would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our last night in Italy. We wanted to be close to the train station and found this to be a perfect choice. We were literally across the street from the station which made it very easy for our early morning flight out of Linate. We took a bus from outside the train station to Linate - easy! The hotel itself was extremely clean and very modern. We asked for a high floor based on some of the other reviews and didn't have any trouble with noise. The room has a nice large shower, luxury linens, a flat screen tv and a balcony. We didn't have time to make breakfast so the front desk made us a box breakfast to take on the bus ride to the airport. The only downside is no free internet in the rooms, only the lobby. I would definitely recommend this hotel for stays close to Milan Centrale. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and box breakfast for early flights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Milan
#21 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#30 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.c.ho. has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar, 5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels E.c.ho., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.