We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and confortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Major

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Major to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Major
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Isonzo 2, 20135 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #192 of 432 hotels in Milan
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Clean and confortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This Best Western is very closed to the subway station of Piazzale Lodi that grants an easy access to dowtown. The hotel is clean and quiet, the rooms are well fitted, a little too hot. Breakfast is correct, with some things for people on diet (very rare!). The personnel is gentle, even not so warm... the hotel has no restaurant, but there are some places to eat in the vicinity.
Special fare for some events.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    94
    53
    12
    2
See reviews for
29
43
17
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Hotel Major is situated next to big round about where in evening and morning is traffice Jam.
So when I got the key from a room on street side, on the 2nd floor I was not that amused.

at 17:00 traffice jam, and Italian car drivers showing their frustrations........

In the room it was silence!!!

Perfect!

Rooms are small, but nicely decorated, FlatTV, Minibar, little desk to work on, what do you need more!

Next time Milan, I will go to Hotel Major again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The hotel is very nice and clean, and comfortable to sleep in. It was quiet also.
The breakfast is quite ok as well.
The hotel cost some 100-150 EUR per night through booking.com.
The hotel is around 30 minutes walk from Duomo, or 5-minute metro trip (4 stations). The metro station at hotel end is very close.
Service is kind.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Came to Milan on business Sun to Fri. The hotel layout is odd: only 7 or 8 rooms per floor, but with 8 floors, has 60 rooms in total!

Hotel location is good: several places to eat within minutes walk, and access to buses / underground train within 50 metres... you can be in the city centre in 10 or 15 minutes at a cost of only 1.50 euros.

The room was pretty quiet (apart from the noise from a droning fan or similar outside, plus noise from the waste water system), clean, and furnished to a good quality. The room wasn't small, but not big either. The bathroom, however was TINY: at less than 6ft x 6ft (yes, I could easily touch both walls at once!) it contians a loo, a bidet, a sink, and a shower... and there's less than 6 inches between the loo and the shower! Although tiny, it was done nicely, and the shower (think small shower base, with a shower curtain around it!) worked well with plenty of hot water, although it was far too easy to hit the shower tap & turn it off!

There's a flatscreen TV (not that I used it!) and free Internet, which worked very well at all times.

Breakfast is included, and is a very good quality continental breakfast (which means the only hot food is boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, and sausages or bacon).

The reception staff were all very helpful and polite.

So, apart from the size of the bathroom, I was very happy with the Hotel Major!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed in the Hotel Major for 9 nights with my girlfriend in the month of august 2011.
The listed price for each night was 99 euros, which is not too bad, but I had found a special summer offer online, so I paid 79 euros per night. Check in was fine, I got a standard double room on the first floor (which actually is the second floor) which left me a little worried because it was facing the street, but this was not a problem, you could not hear the traffic at all. After two nights we were upgraded to a junior suite on the fifth floor, which I thought was excellent service from the hotel and very good value for the money being paid, thus leaving me to extend my stay with 4 nights. This was a spacious room with jacuzzi and a small balcony.
Rooms and hotel in general seemed newly refurbished, the staff in the reception speak english and are friendly and helpful. All rooms have a flatscreen tv with a wide selection of channels (over 150), I found 3 english speaking channels + channels from france, germany and spain. Aircondition in the room was very good, the beds and pillows are a little on the hard side, but I know this i typical in Italy. The breakfast room is in the basement, seems more like a basket court than a hotel breakfast room, but the food was ok, though they only had bacon with the eggs on one of the 9 days I was there. Maybe someone went there early and ate it all! :)
The hotel is located right next to the subway entrance, so it is very easy to get into the Doumo, only 4 stops, and the area of Lodi is very nice. A very good supermarket within a shopping centre is located just up the street. Right next to the hotel entrance is a very nice little bar, with a maritime theme.
I was very happy with my stay in the Hotel Major, and I have no problem with recommending this hotel, or returning here on my next trip to Milan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and booked directly via hotel's website (promotion, 95 EUR, incl.breakfast, free WIFI (quite fast speed) in room, and daily tickets for subway), I think it's really worth.

Room size's big enough for Milan at the same price range and location (I've searched a lot but didn't find good one at acceptable price). Hotel's not next door to Duomo but it's very convenient to travel there and anywhere else in short time since it's just next to subway (less than 5 mins walking from hotel to the platform, and the train takes about 2-3 mins to Duomo station, train comes about every 4 mins). Room was clean, cool and quiet (6th floor on the side that not facing the road) with good curtain so it's dark enough for sleeping. Staffs at reception were nice and friendly at the right level, not too less or too much, and very helpful. Breakfast was very good (or probably because we just travelled in Switzerland previously :), other than typical cold food and beverages, they also had ham, good small sausages and eggs. Parking at the hotel costs 20 EUR/day, but it costs 10 EUR/day to park at 1 parking nearby (the same building as Coop, about 400 m.away) but be careful to park at the right floor ( -3 or something should check when you park, not the ground or 1st floor), otherwise you'll be charged with very high hour rate (instruction about this is in Italian only, but you can ask from staff at the office on the way you drive out)

I will stay at this hotel again if I come to Milan with similar budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We -2 couples at 50's- stayed here for 2 nights at a weekend. We knew that Milano was quite small compared to where we live, and we should not expect much on our Monday. Though the hotel seemed a bit far from the city, we found out that there was no need to worry. We bought daily ATM cards from the reception and started our adventure. We could do everything in our schedule, visited 4 street markets, saw every important building / monument and even attended the international celebration of Italy's union. We walked through the famous golden quartier, saw designer stores, etc. The hotel was only 4 stops, 7 minutes away from the Duomo, center of the city. The entrance of the yellow line was 20 steps from the hotel's entrance, lines 90, 91, 92 were available right across the street, and S lines were 10 minutes away, if you need. Although the rooms were not large, they were comfortable and well equipped. Not trendy maybe, but clean and tidy. The staff were helpful, although some were not very comfortable with English or German. Breakfast was not exagerated as in some hotels, but more than adequate, in a small room at the basement. Hotel's parking place was very secure, but not accessible from inside. So, if you wish to go about with a car, be aware that it takes 10 minutes or so to get your car and bring it to the front of the hotel, because you have to drive around the block to come back. And the closed garage is so narrow that you will probably need assistance to get in.

Room Tip: Front rooms are not very noisy but hot in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Major

Address: Viale Isonzo 2, 20135 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Major 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Major is located close to the historical center of Milan (outside the Ztl Area C),in Porta Romana, near the Centro Leoni Business Building in Via Spadolini ( special shuttle service nearby ) and Bocconi University. The Underground is just beside the Hotel Entrance ( subway stop "Lodi TIBB" Line 3 yellow ) The Hotel (4 stars) has been renovated to meet excellent quality standards and to offer a pleasant experience, in a beautiful design setting, easy reachable from the motorways, the airports , the Central Railway Station ( Linate and Orio al Serio shuttle ), Milano Cadorna (Malpensa Express Train) and Milano Rogoredo (Freccia Rossa - Italo). Book your parking directly and use the underground, you can reach easy and fast the city center ( Duomo, Teatro la Scala, Palazzo Reale,Museo del Novecento, Gallerie d'Italia ), la Triennale, the shopping area ( via Montenapoleone and Corso Como ) . The "metro" is also the best way to reach the Milan Trade Fair (Fiera Milano) and MICO Europe 's largest Congress Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Major reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Milan
Best Western Major
Milan Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Major, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.